We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous and very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed at the Metropole for two nights with my friend on Saturday 5th October. From the moment we were greeted at the door we were treated like superstars! The hotel lobby is beautiful and have a different theme each month and the most amazing aroma. Check in was very easy and the staff on the check in desk were most helpful and welcoming. our room (a junior suite) was located on the 6th floor and had a nice seating area, a huge bed and a bathroom with bath, shower, two sinks, toilet and hairdryer. There are ample amount of towels so you do not need to take any. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in.

Our room overlooked a road, but it wasn't noisy at all the we eve waved to the apartments across the street. The breakfast served in the Joel Rubouchon restaurant is out of this world!! There is so much choice and the chefs are happy to make something at your request. The home made bread is delicious as are the pastries (both made on site).

We drank in the bar both nights (cocktails from 16 euros each and glasses of wine from 10 euros each) and again the staff were fabulous. We were treated to complimentary nuts, olives and a selection of nibbles from the chef (different each night).

The pool area (shut from October - May) was very relaxing. The pool is heated and again their are loads of towels at the pool so no need to bring any. The Odyssey restaurant along with the pool have been redesigned by Karl Largerfeld and are stunning.

The spa has a sauna, steam room and ice experience. We used all of these are they were very enjoyable. There are dressing gowns in the room can be used to wear down to the spa. The hotel is located about 200 meters from the entrance to the Casino and you get complimentary entrance when staying at the Metropole.

I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenchimes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (971)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 971 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

The hotel will need to be updated , the juice is a bit old ...
They don't have the LHW level and standard ...
The welcome is very so so and poor : no welcome drink ! no fruit in the room , no bottle ...
The turn down was perfect .
Room was confortable .
Concierges are efficient but not very friendly just mecanic staff ...
Food at Robuchon was delicious but Chef Cussac was not there on monday , service was excellent .
Breakfast was very poor and not at the standards , staff is very busy with just some tables ... I have to wait my tea during 20 mn .. The buffet was poor , you pay a lot when I ordered benedictin eggs they told me there was an extra for that and same also extra for hash brown !! totally disagracefull for a such place !! they have to improve a lot for breakfast ...
There is not management on duty on the earth like house keeper to see if everything is ok , I suppose they are just coming just for some VIP , other people are not important for them ...
Good thing is the pool with good service .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fabriciodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I'm honestly surprised to see so many positive reviews about this place because someone who really knows about luxury hotels would never be satisfied with this hotel.

Old small room that needs urgent refurbishment (i should have taken pictures). Everything in our room was old except TV. The AC looked like a radio box from the 50's. We had to call to ask for amenities as we had nothing except shower gel in the room.

The only positive experience was the restaurant Joel Rebouchon - perfect place for dinner, delicious food and the Japanese restaurant was also lovely. Both have fairly earned Michelin stars.

Now we do not mind to pay for an exquisite dinner but 6 euros for a small plastic bottle of water from the minibar isn't a little too much? Shouldn't it be complimentary at 500 euros/night? It's like saying "Since you can pay 500 euros/night you should as well pay all the extras at any price"

We stayed at Hermitage a few days before and we thought it was better than Metropole even though it was very similar but did look like they invested in some improvements. So if you are choosing between these 2 - definitely Hermitage. (see review about Hermitage).

Otherwise, we loved Monaco, very pretty and lovely atmosphere!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel about 2 weeks ago before commencing a cruise from Monte Carlo to Athens. Our stay at the Metropole was absolutely delightful. The hotel is top class with great amenities, comfortable rooms and a very attentive staff..it is not cheap, but you pay for what you get!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I arrived to be greeted by name and welcomed back. My room wasn't ready, so I was offered a couple of other options, but chose to wait for the room I'd been assigned and had lunch in the lobby. (Salade nicoise, delicious). The general manager came to collect me and take me up to the room. On being shown it, unprompted, the manager suggested that I might want a different room as the original smelled of tobacco. I was eventually installed in room 606, which was lovely - smaller than some, but a nice view and, as I was on my own, more than adequate. A very comfortable bed - importantly, not split in the middle to form a twin option. One of the highlights of my stay was dinner at Yoshi, where, because I made a late booking, I was given a seat at the bar - completely fascinating to watch the chefs at work and delicious food. Nothing was too much trouble for the concierge - we managed to locate my favourite tea, sort out bookings for restaurants and park colleagues cars. I look forward to my return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tixall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Upon your arrival, tired and seeking for a welcoming staff, you find a very talkative trainee that tries to impress you with the features of the "douche à l´italienne" on the bathroom, and tells you to wait untill the room is being prepared.

One hour later (nobody offers you a single glass of water meanwhile you wait), you finally go upstairs, and you get to see the small room (nothing really special).

The fantastic douche à lítalienne reveals to be a disaster, as the glass doors from the bathroom are not properly isolated, so the whole situation provokes a flooding. You try to call the room service for extra towels (you´ve used it all to block the water, to avoid it to run to the bedroom), room service do not pick up the phone.

Then, after too many unsuccesfull attempts to the room service, you call the front desk to ask for the towels, and then another trainee screams at you: "monsieur, I´m not in charge for towels, you call the room service!" But as soon as he answered the phone, you told him the room service was not answering, but perhaps he does not understand english very well or he´s just having a bad day?

You go have dinner at Roel Roubuchon, and it reveals to be another disaster; if you are interested to know the experience there, see comments on the specific post.

On the same evening, you go innocently upstairs to see the area from the swimming pool and a short security guard hassles you in a very unsure english to be understood, telling you: "Get out of here, the area is closed".

The morning after, you go for breakfast and the trainee brings you oeufs pochés that are totally raw. Oh, the trainee didn´t bother to ask you how cooked you wanted your eggs.

The check out is made by another trainee that worries more to seduce your husband by making silly jokes, than to provide you the correct bill.

You find out that the service is amateur, compared to the top Euro prices you are paying.

But.... who cares.... the establishment certainly doesn´t.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank MaryJessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

From the beautiful reception area to our fabulous suite all is perfection! Lunch by the pool was delicious and served perfectly. Quiet hum of other guests is a lovely background to this perfect scene. Breakfast included the best scrambled eggs I've ever had. Our suite, 504 is set back far enough that there is no ambient noise. The bed is super comfy with very high quality linens. The bar, to the left of entrance is great! Just make sure you bring a large bag of Euros!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reesesmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel De Paris
Hotel De Paris
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
880 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo

Address: 4 Avenue de La Madone | Bp 19, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Phone Number:
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Price Range: £273 - £713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Monte-Carlo, this hotel offers elegant accommodation just steps away from the Casino. It features 126 refined rooms and suites, a heated swimming pool and two Michelin-starred restaurants. Guests can enjoy inventive Mediterranean cuisine at Joel Robuchon restaurant, or go to Yoshi for modern Japanese cuisine. The exterior space of the hotel was redesigned by Karl Lagerfeld and includes the hotel's third restaurant, Odyssey, an outstanding swimming pool open year-round as well as landscaped gardens, all of which are only accessible to guests of the hotel and spa. To further enhance this relaxing experience, the Metropole ESPA Monte-Carlo offers an extensive range of well-being and beauty ESPA treatments and a new collection of "a la carte" holistic and therapeutic treatments. With private parking on site, the hotel is 2 km from Monte-Carlo Golf Course. Nice Cote-d'Azur Airport is 19 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing