We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel , lovely staff - arrogant guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
South coast uk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great hotel , lovely staff - arrogant guests”
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Superb hotel with fantastic facilities but the guests were foul, apart from Lionel Ritchie who was lovely.
Full of extremely rich (often new money) who haven't quite grasped the concept of 'please and thank you'. I don't know how the staff put up with it! One arrogant woman would have quite happily had a member of the pool staff move the sun so that it shone down on her alone!! Consequently they struggle with people being 'nice' to them.
Drinks in the Casino cheaper then anywhere else.
Food at the Cafe de Paris expensive but fantastic and well worth the price - nice waiters too - We were on our honeymoon

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    146
    41
    19
    16
See reviews for
113
432
31
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

My stay at the Hotel Metropole in Monte-Carlo was simply wonderful. My junior suite was rather large and provided city views from two terraces. It had all the modern conveniences (flat screen plasma tv, iPod sound system, Internet, etc), but still maintained a classic feel. The bottle of champagne and macaroons delivered to my room were a fun surprise! I also can't say enough about their spa, Espa. Seriously, one of the best massages that I have ever had!! Dinner at Yoshi (Joel Robuchon restaurant) was very trendy and fabulous (the black cod is a must). Overall wonderful time at the Hotel Metropole! The service and staff were exceptional at all touch points. The only disappointment was that my stay was too short. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lulu024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Incredibly helpful and tolerant staff. Wonderful food. Extravegantly decorated. Perfectly located. Simply the best way to pretend you are James Bond with his beautiful Eastern European lover, stealing a few precious days between assignments.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SocietyMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

The Metropole has been partly renovatedin an ok nice contemporary design. But really in Monte Carlo you do not get the value you get in other european destinations. So at least i would expect to get some stylish stay and nice atmosphere. It does have a nice atmoshere and the rooms where very nicely done up and are more spacious than many other luxury hotels in Monte Carlo.It is still at a great location and if you get lucky your room may even have a good view although never the view one gets at the seafront hotels. Easy to walk everywhere and watch people go by.

The food overpriced but less so than other luxury hotels in Monte Carlo. The lobby lucks any point worth sitting at and it falls short in creating a people watching a-la-monte-carlo area or cafe.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

We went to the Metropole for my husbands 50th from 11/6 - 15/6 and had the most wonderful time. It was our second stay at the Metropole but the first since it had been refurbished. The Metropole has always been a fantastic hotel with first class service. We flew from Gatwick to Nice and helicoptered into Monaco (the only way to do it and well worth the money). On arrival at the hotel we were upgraded to a junior suite which had a bottle of champagne and some Monaco macroons waiting for us. That night we ate at the Joel Roubouchon Restaurant in the hotel which was expensive and fabulous. The weather was wonderful all of our stay. The next morning at breakfast, which you can take on the terrace, a small cake arrived for my husband's birthday. Another cake also appeared in our room the next day for my husband's birthday. The staff could not do enough for us and remember every guest by name, even if you are returning late at night. Our bed was always turned down and a lovely little gemstone with healing properties left each night. On the Saturday night we went to Eze, a medieval village in the mountains, a short taxi ride from Monte Carlo and ate at Chateau Eza on a private balcony overlooking Monaco and the French Riveria, which again is a wonderous experience. Monaco is expensive and the cheapest bottle of wine anywhere was approx. £49 - £60 also expect to pay £25.00 - £30.00 per main course at normal restaurants and at the very best restaurants a lot more. If you go to Monte Carlo you must have a drink in Casino Square at the Cafe De Paris and people watch and also view the most fabulous cars you could wish for. The same at the marina. You must also try your hand at the Casino which if you stay at the Metropole you get free entrance. The Prince Ranier Motor Museum is also worth a visit. There is lots to see and do. All in all a delightful break where we were treated exceptionally well and felt like stars for a while. We do intend to go back as it is absolutely fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caterhamians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

We had a really fabulous time. The hotel arranged a helicopter to collect us from Nice airport and from the minute we arrived we were completely looked after. We enjoyed lunch at the Japanese restaurant which is very trendy and gorgeous, the food was fab and the service attentive without being intrusive. The highlight for us was the pool, it is a real sun trap, with staff on hand for cocktails and nibbles, the perfect way to relax in the afternoon. Joel Robuchon's for dinner was amazing and our junior suite was perfect. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHarrisLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

This was my second stay at the Metropole, perfect central location off Casino square, very luxurious. Standard rooms are small with no view, balcony doors open for fresh air but no space to stand outside but overall highly recomended. Excellent service and good food.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
805 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo

Property: Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Address: 4 Avenue de La Madone | Bp 19, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Phone Number:
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Monte-Carlo, this hotel offers elegant accommodation just steps away from the Casino. It features 126 refined rooms and suites, a heated swimming pool and two Michelin-starred restaurants. Guests can enjoy inventive Mediterranean cuisine at Joel Robuchon restaurant, or go to Yoshi for modern Japanese cuisine. The exterior space of the hotel was redesigned by Karl Lagerfeld and includes the hotel's third restaurant, Odyssey, an outstanding swimming pool open year-round as well as landscaped gardens, all of which are only accessible to guests of the hotel and spa. To further enhance this relaxing experience, the Metropole ESPA Monte-Carlo offers an extensive range of well-being and beauty ESPA treatments and a new collection of "a la carte" holistic and therapeutic treatments. With private parking on site, the hotel is 2 km from Monte-Carlo Golf Course. Nice Cote-d'Azur Airport is 19 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing