We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel le Grand Scam, But I Love It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hotel le Grand Scam, But I Love It”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I love this legendary, iconic hotel and intend to return. However, everything in this gorgeous palace is sadly a constant battle with deceptive, scammy front desk people who don't deserve to work there.

On checkin, be prepared to fight for a room within the class that you paid for. We paid for an "ocean view" suite, and found barely a sliver of the sea visible. The suite was amazing, but we wanted to see the ocean. After tiresome argument with the front desk, they moved us.

The replacement suite was not actually a suite, just a larger room, but had the ocean view. So we never actually got an "ocean view suite", but accepted the beauty and view of the replacement room.

On checkin, they charged our card 10,000 Euros, including a daily fee for expected incidentals per person of approximately 160 Euros. That worked out to 3000 Euros extra on checkin. I am used to being charged the correct amount on checkout, and not have a payment to contend with on checkin, particularly one much higher than the charge we expected to pay. Perhaps this is because they are used to customers skipping bills, but we would not have done so, and it's unpleasant and uncustomary to contend with.

Normally these events would be disregarded given the luxury and beauty of the location, and interesting people who patronize the principality, but the SBM hotels seem to be systematically aggressive, pervasively abusive, and it's just part of their business model. All I can assume is that the principality and its hotels are being run to maximize monetary yield at the ultimate expense of a pleasant experience.

Thus my trips to Monaco are merely every other year and not annually, and I prepare to fight before I even arrive. Maybe I should reconsider coming after all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AdamSPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    121
    36
    18
    25
See reviews for
109
354
38
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Whatever you think about Monaco, you need to live the Hotel de Paris experience at least once. Monaco is not anymore what it was used to be years ago. It is now a show off place and a playground for the nouvelles riches from every part of the world. Before visiting this city you need to be fully aware of this. The Hotel de Paris is anyway the best way to live the Monaco experience. The hotel is beautiful and still retains the appeal of a different era. The service is very good apart from the concierge which sometimes is not so attentive to the clients requests. The shuttle service to the beach club and to other venues of monaco is very useful. the rooms with sea view are unforgettable. the breakfast is good and it is served in the garden which makes the beginning of the day a memorable experience. the Louis XV restaurant is a dream especially if you eat in the terrace on a summer evening. Yes true, some guests are not exactly role models of this society: just do not pay attention to them . outside the show off of luxury cars is continuous during the week end :it is funny to see how people behave in this tiny golden (artificial) little world of Monaco. In the bad or in the good if you want to live this experience for a week end then this is your hotel.

Room Tip: room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dede F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was our first trip to Monte-Carlo so we decided to try to find the best. After research, we selected the Hotel de Paris.

Before we arrived, I made an advance payment on our account. The credit card company we charged the advance to gave us considerable trouble even though I had told them of it before we did it. The hotel guest relations staff stayed with me all the way in making the arrangements for the payment - far beyond what was called for.

The concierge likewise aided in selections of restaurants and in the booking of the helicopter from Nice to Monte-Carlo and, also, the TGV tickets to Paris. They were exceptionally professional and courteous.

The hotel accomodations were wonderful. We were fortunate enough to get a junior suite that gave us a view of Casino Square and the yacht harbor and two balconies, one with a lounger and one with a small table and chairs. The room was well maintained and well presented.

Here are the only two complaints that I have: the air conditioning vent is in the middle of the room; as a result, the area by the bed was warmer than the rest of the room; and, there were not enough convenient electrical outlets. With our iPhones, computer, eBook readers, etc. we ended up crawling behind a lamp to find an outlet. The hotel did, however, provide adaptors for U.S. plugs and a step down converter.

The locations of the hotel is on Casino Square and right on the F1 course (whic I was able to jog every day). It could not be more in the center of action. However, if you want quiet in the evening, storm shutters cam down on the balconies and shut off the noise and light.

What is really comes down to is service - and here there is nothing but admiration on our part. From the doormen to the guest relations staff, to the concierges, to the houskeeping personnel, the service was exceptional.

Overall, everything we asked for. Yes, the price is high; however, there is no reason for anyone to not know that ahead of time. The questions is: do you get value for the money. Here the answer is a resounding yes.

Of course, we visited the spa and their various restaurants Le Grill, Cote Jardin and Louis XV and other resorts which are all part of the same umbrella organization and found them grand as well; but that is another review.

Would we go back - yes; would we recommend to others - yes.

Room Tip: If you can get a junior suite, they have two balconies, one with a lounger. Try to get a room tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
473 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Just called in for a cocktail after being at the casino next door. Great service, super cocktails (26 euros each!), stunning lobby and fun to watch everyone else! Tempted to come back another time and stay here.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinny232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This place used to have class and elegance. Now its filled Russian prostitutes. Rooms are old and havent been changed in many years,bathrooms are moldy and unkept, the sinks make noise all night. My suite was on the 6th floor and had a balcony, but it was filthy. Bedding smelled awful. Even the maids noticed and kept apologizing. The pool is in need of help, gate to auna was broken so you had to walk in pool wet steps to get to it, big hazard! The spa is a joke when the masseuse has to use his iphone for music. btw he will hurt you too. I was bruised and have photos!! The managers dont care. All they care about is your credit info. They only know how to say "no Im sorry" and " i dont know what to say." Well I do and its too graphic for online reviews! If anyone is planning to go SKIP this hotel!! Run!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Leila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Expensive but worth it.
Welcome, reception, room, bathroom, SPA with nice swimming pool - just like it has to be. Wish all the hotels are like that. :))))
If you visit any big event stay there - the best people will stay in this hotel with you. Definitely try to book a room with Casino or marina view.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a view if you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turino
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Hotel de Paris is excellent, beautiful with very good service. It cost a lot of money but is classy, cosy and truly beautiful. Some rooms have sea view. Food in that hotel is extra ordinary. You will have a lot choices. We loved to eat in that hotel! Very nice stuff. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Choose room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayaTurino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo

Property: Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Address: Place Du Casino, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#2 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the very heart of Monte-Carlo on the famous Place du Casino, the Hôtel de Paris is a real “Address” !A simple flight of stairs leads from the Place du Casino to the majestic lobby of the Hôtel de Paris. Low relief sculptures, marble colonnades and cristal chandeliers entice you to absorb the fascinating solemnity of this magical, memorable and sumptuous setting. The privileged quality of its location, just a few steps from the legendary Casino de Monte-Carlo, means that guests have front-row seats to watch the sparkling life of Monaco and unforgettable sunsets over the sea. The Hôtel de Paris also offers direct access to Les Thermes Marins de Monte-Carlo, its Spa of 6,600 m2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Paris Hotel
Hotel De Paris Monte Carlo
De Paris Monte Carlo
Hotel Du Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing