We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgetable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unforgetable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The last/first time I drove (alone) to Monte Carlo 10 years ago I could barely afford to park the hire car, have a beer at the Cafe de Paris and watch the passing parade. So to return in a swanky hired Merc and check-in to the Hotel de Paris for a night was very rewarding.
It was my wife’s birthday and the lovely young lady on reception was quick to offer a free upgrade to an Exclusive Room with a view over the sea and harbour. After seeing the room and the look on my wifes face, we were quickly negotiating an extension to a six night stay. Don't be afraid to negotiate!
Once you accept the fact that it is not cheap, but no worse in comparison to any 5 star hotel in the world and I have now been around a few times, you can settle into the atmosphere.
When we stayed, the Monaco Yacht Show was on, this attracted some of the worlds "Uber" rich to the hotel for functions and made the hotel busy and vibrant.
The staff were always friendly (except for one surly concierge) and more than happy to help with any questions. The Thermes Marins was a great place to spend a day in the sun. Catching the door to door shuttle down to the Beach Club was easier than getting out the car and parking at the other end. We had a great lunch there and sunned ourselves for the day.
We did not eat dinner in the hotel as we could not get a booking on the nights we wanted. Feedback form other guests we met was it was worth reasearching and booking in advance. The breakfast in the Cote Jardin was very nice, the star being the hotel baked Lemon Brioche, just amazing! The Bar Americain was a great spot to have a pre/post dinner drink/cocktail.
If you love cars and don't normally see Veyrons, Zonda S's and Sterling Moss McClarens (Ferraris are just common) floating around your neighbourhood then this is a car lovers heaven. I hired a Ferrari F450 to pick me up at the hotel one afternoon and then let me drive up the winding hill to Eze at speeds not normally tolerated elsewhere, just about the most fun you can have with your trousers on!
Even though Monaco's veneer of wealth and elegance was a little thin, at the end of the day we had a great time and we were sorry to have to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 0-CGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    120
    36
    17
    25
See reviews for
109
351
37
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

The main issue about this hotel is that so much has been said about the property and Monaco that usually expectations are very very high.

Putting prices aside (nothing makes sense in terms of prices in Monaco, so it isn't "fair" to compare it in terms of $ with other locations), it is a nice, chic, sumptuous hotel.

It is certainly not on the modern side (in fact something's it feels too old). But it is certainly elegant, has a great location, and a good service. Breakfast is good, not great. The pool and spa area are very interesting.

I think it is an interesting experience, especially if you are not a millionaire, and if you take into account the Monaco factor. If you think in absolute terms, then it is not worth it (soft beverages cost EUR 8!!!!)

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Arielmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

After weaving your way through multi coloured Ferraris, the odd Bugatti and a couple of Rolls you can find your self part of the old world ambience of the Hotel de Paris Lobby. You can imaging the place bustling over the years with the rich and famous. We stayed a couple of nights and had lots of room and were very comfortable. Staff excellent. The first night quiet, the second one disturbed by late night revellers which showed that the walls aren't too thick but didn't significantly mar our experience.
Pleased we stayed but really disappointed with the casino. If you are there just to gamble there's no complaint but if you're there to live the James Bond experience then you will be very disappointed. What you get is little different from a casino anywhere in the world except here the place is empty.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Woofwoof13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
218 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I chose this place as the starting point of a "special birthday" celebration with my wife. It definitely matched the occasion. This is a grand hotel that shows off old glory. The room was very well appointed, with a balcony overlooking the Monte Carlo harbour - hard to top that view. The restaurants (reviewed separately) are world class and the spa (same) is one of the best we've ever been to. The price is high, but is worth it. A must try!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the harbour are definitely worth the extra expense
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aviad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
554 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and really enjoyed the service, food, and hotel room. The hotel room was large and had most ammendities. If you couldn't find it in your room, housekeeping could provide it. Lots of closet space. Room was quiet, very seldom heard anyone in the hallways. We faced the Hermitage and had a decent view of the harbour. Would suggest not getting a room on the courtyard side unless you want to be bothered with all the noise. Room service was excellent and food was hot and served in style. Check in was smooth, and concierge was very helpful. Expect to put an additional $150 Euros per person for each day of your stay on your credit card. Lobby staff and doormen were friendly but quick to point you outside if your not a guest staying in the hotel. With all the tourists and activity in the streets and by the casino, we surely didn't mind the security. All in all, this hotel is a class act in the atmosphere of what is Monte Carlo. It's not the best hotel we have ever stayed in but the service and style are the best in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Challenger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Monaco is an interesting town for those of us who didn't sail into town in our 50 metre luxury yacht. A bit surreal, always confusing, and not very friendly. I have never seen so many wealthy people who looked so unhappy. Its that point in the ocean where the uber-rich collide with the rest of the world who want to see what all the fuss is about, and it is quite frankly underwhelming. We arrived in town by train from Nice, and after negotiating the multi-level rail station (thanks to the kind assistance of a lovely local lady) found that taxis rarely attend the station. We walked the not inconsiderable distance to the hotel through the maze of streets with our suitcases in the late summer heat and arrived somewhat sweaty and tired after the crush in the train. This was not the ideal start to our stay here and put us in a less than happy mood. After waiting some time to be checked in, standing in the grand foyer, we were shown our room. The room was a superior sea view, and the quality of fittings, bed and balcony were without doubt first rate. Please keep in mind that everything in this town will have you diving into your pocket for more Euro. Meals are expensive, souvenirs are expensive, the shopping is as expected big name and big price tag. The array of cars outside the hotel (a sea of Ferrari's and Audi R8's, with the odd Bentley and Rolls thrown in) seem to be parked there purely for the endless lines of tourists who circulate and take photos. Its all an elaborate sheen, really, a symbiotic relationship between people who can't afford to be there, and those who really should be elsewhere if they don't want tourists taking photos of their cars. Having packed a suitcase with a suit and lugged this around Europe, it was disappointing to find that the dress code at the Hotel De Paris is somewhat less than formal, and the casino equally so (meaning you can get in in jeans, shoes and a casual shirt - no tie). We played the cheap tables at the casino, and wandered in to the private gaming area (access provided with your Hotel card at no charge - people pay for this?) where we watched a very few people throw thousands of Euro onto the tables (to the bemusement of the croupiers - who really seemed to want to be somewhere else) and payed 45 Euro for a beer and a champagne. It wasn't until we headed to the tourist casino nearby that we found you could get free drinks whilst playing, and friendly service from the staff. Back to the hotel. The breakfast was sufficient, but I have had better from lesser hotels. The hotel has a certain charm, but seems to be living off its reputation and the James Bond movies to get people in the door. We were even asked to leave at one point by a snooty staff member who informed us that only guests could enter the hallway we were in. When informed that we were guests, he gave us a curt "of course you are" until I flashed the room card and he became stiffly polite. Overall, we spent 2 nights here, and the experience was not what I had hoped for. We have stayed at the Savoy in London, which is a truly luxurious hotel providing excellent service, so we knew what we could have expected. Sadly, the hotel and the town did not live up to the hype and it is unlikely that we will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank D0ra_The_Expl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I love this legendary, iconic hotel and intend to return. However, everything in this gorgeous palace is sadly a constant battle with deceptive, scammy front desk people who don't deserve to work there.

On checkin, be prepared to fight for a room within the class that you paid for. We paid for an "ocean view" suite, and found barely a sliver of the sea visible. The suite was amazing, but we wanted to see the ocean. After tiresome argument with the front desk, they moved us.

The replacement suite was not actually a suite, just a larger room, but had the ocean view. So we never actually got an "ocean view suite", but accepted the beauty and view of the replacement room.

On checkin, they charged our card 10,000 Euros, including a daily fee for expected incidentals per person of approximately 160 Euros. That worked out to 3000 Euros extra on checkin. I am used to being charged the correct amount on checkout, and not have a payment to contend with on checkin, particularly one much higher than the charge we expected to pay. Perhaps this is because they are used to customers skipping bills, but we would not have done so, and it's unpleasant and uncustomary to contend with.

Normally these events would be disregarded given the luxury and beauty of the location, and interesting people who patronize the principality, but the SBM hotels seem to be systematically aggressive, pervasively abusive, and it's just part of their business model. All I can assume is that the principality and its hotels are being run to maximize monetary yield at the ultimate expense of a pleasant experience.

Thus my trips to Monaco are merely every other year and not annually, and I prepare to fight before I even arrive. Maybe I should reconsider coming after all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AdamSPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo

Property: Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Address: Place Du Casino, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#2 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the very heart of Monte-Carlo on the famous Place du Casino, the Hôtel de Paris is a real “Address” !A simple flight of stairs leads from the Place du Casino to the majestic lobby of the Hôtel de Paris. Low relief sculptures, marble colonnades and cristal chandeliers entice you to absorb the fascinating solemnity of this magical, memorable and sumptuous setting. The privileged quality of its location, just a few steps from the legendary Casino de Monte-Carlo, means that guests have front-row seats to watch the sparkling life of Monaco and unforgettable sunsets over the sea. The Hôtel de Paris also offers direct access to Les Thermes Marins de Monte-Carlo, its Spa of 6,600 m2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Paris Hotel
Hotel De Paris Monte Carlo
De Paris Monte Carlo
Hotel Du Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing