We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lousy stay at the Hotel de Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lousy stay at the Hotel de Paris”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I just completed one of my all time lows at a 5 star European hotel. When I checked in Lidiam at the front desk was rude. I asked for a manager and Alessio Minetto the Deputy Manager came out. He was very businesslike. I asked for an upgrade to a Jr. Suite as I had just booked the room Through American Express Centurion Travel an hour ago for a quick one night stay in Monte Carlo. He told me that they "fulfilled" their contract with Amex by giving me a one class upgrade and a Jr. Suite would be 182 Euros. he said they were in business to make money not to give upgrades. I found him lacking class and the whole tone not warm. I then wanted to go to the pool and was told that the pool was closed for renovations. My one day of vacation. I complained I was not told of that and Mr. Minetto told me it was very clear on the website. Well Amex did not tell me about it and Amex told me they were not made aware of it by the hotel. I went back to the website and could find no mention of it. Finally after spending 10 minutes and searching under sports and Leisure did I see a note on the website after telling me about the pool and all else that the pool was closed for renovations. I did however enjoy my evening in Monte Carlo. You should go there but try one of the other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Howard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    121
    36
    18
    25
See reviews for
109
354
38
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

After spending 4 weeks in France and staying at some of the finest hotels, we were extremely disappointed with Hotel De Paris and their customer service. In particular the rude concierge. The hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms are lovely. Well maintained, luxurious and have all the usual amenities you would expect for a 5 star hotel. Good location if you want to be close to the shops and the casino and all the commotion. For us we will stay somewhere out of this area next time as it just bored us and felt commercial with all the tourists and many prostitutes that lurk around at night.

Be warned however the concierge are quite rude, the hotel is literally filled with Russian prostitutes and it is very expensive.

The maids and cleaners were all lovely and couldn't fault the other staff.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank TheGattino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Paris, Directeur général at Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank for having taken the time to share your impression on Tripadvisor. Your comment has been taken with all our consideration.

Many thanks for your kinds words regarding the decoration of our Hotel and our Housekeeping Department.

We feel very concerned about your feedback regarding the concierge attitude and the bad feelings you had. We express our regret for any inconvenience this might have caused. This kind of behaviour is neither usual nor acceptable for our hotel.

Please be assured that necessary actions has been put in place to ensure that such issues do not repeat themselves in the future.

We dare hope you will give us another chance to show you the real face of the Hotel de Paris,
Yours sincerely,

Luca ALLEGRI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this ultra-luxury hotel in Monte Carlo after wanting to stay here for some time. It was very expensive but it was certainly worth it. From the moment we walked in it was fantastic in every way. The staff checked us in at 10am after our overnight flight from NYC to a beautiful courtyard room. The room was beautiful, classily appointed. Products were all La Prarie and had classic French accents. The TV was small but you don't stay in a hotel like this for that. Internet worked perfectly at all locations. The rest of the hotel was stunning- like stepping into Versaille palace except you were a guest. The lobby, breakfast area and shops were superb. The service was near perfect (minus misplacing my bag for 20 min at check out) and everyone we met had clearly been trained in the European art of service. We ate at both restaurants (Buddha Bar and Louis XV). Buddha bar had surprisingly good sushi (Sushi in France is almost uniformly awful) and the service was top notch. Louis XV was an experience unto itself- absolutely lavish, high quality and service second to none. This is a great special occasion hotel and should be experienced by the well traveled that can afford the lofty price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sguntupalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

After arriving in Monaco by helicopter transfer from Nice we already felt this could be a special weekend to remember. On check in we were greeted by very friendly staff who advised us that we had been upgraded to a junior suite due to it being our wedding anniversary.
We were then escorted to our very luxurious room which had two balconies overlooking Casino Square . Wow !!
The room , lounge area, bathroom and dressing room were all decorated to a high standard .
The view of Cafe De Paris , The Casino and the constant flow of luxury sports cars never tired.
The breakfast taken in the Garden Restaurant was of a decent standard and enjoyed with views across to the Palace.
Housekeeping was of a very high standard and most staff were friendly and welcoming. Drinks taken in The Amrican Bar one evening, only complaint was that it didn't sound very jazzy to us!! Ate at Louis XV restaurant on our second night which is a great accompaniment to the hotel. Also spent a couple of hours one afternoon at Cafe De Paris people watching and it looks just as magnificent from the other side of the square.
Had a very enjoyable 3 night stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Paris, Directeur général at Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

What an amazing comment about your stay at the Hotel de Paris, thank you very much. It is a real honour that you choose our Hotel for your wedding anniversary.

Many thanks for your lovely words about our staff and the Hotel. We feel pleased that your stay meets all your expectations.

Please be assured that Guest’s Satisfaction will be always our first goal.

We look forward to welcome you back soon at the Hotel de Paris,

Yours faithfully,

Luca ALLEGRI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This Hotel was Class and Charm..The Staff was amazingly efficient, a call for room service or housekeeping and no sooner hung up and they was at the door..location? A walk away from everything or they provided a shuttle! I can't wait to be able to return.. No wonder James Bond Loved it here..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Paris, Directeur général at Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for this amazing review. It is always so rewarding for us to benefit from such a great feedback.

I am very glad you could feel the strong commitment of all our staff.
All yearn to contribute to help our guests discover all the very best that the Principality of Monaco has to offer.

It was a pleasure welcoming you and I can only wish you will soon return.

Yours sincerely,

Luca ALLEGRI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel de Paris shows how it should be done, the grande dame of Monte Carlo still has her charms for all to see, pop along and enjoy the great value lunch menu in the grill room, views to die for and valet parking thrown in. We may not all be an Onassis but the staff make you feel like one, they are world class, amusing and highly professional. Whilst sipping champagne from the champagne trolley, it follows you to your table, drink in the view, see if your yacht measures up, size isn't everything but in Monte Carlo it sure helps to have a big one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKsimon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Paris, Directeur général at Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for having left such lovely comment. We feel very pleased to learn that your stay with us met all your expectations.

It is true that we have a wonderful panoramic view from our restaurant Le Grill, from the Casino Monte Carlo to the Prince’s palace.

Whishing welcome you back soon,

Sincerely,
Luca ALLEGRI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We visited Monaco in December. On Christmas Eve we had a special holiday meal at the Cafe de Paris and decided to walk across the plaza to the Hotel de Paris for drinks. We read on the Forums here that this may be a good way to experience the unique architecture and character of this hotel. The reviewers were right! Just as we walked in to the lobby we were greeted by the waiter from the bar and after a moment of decision we were seated in the lobby at one of the many beautiful sofa/chair sets. The lobby was very festive, decorated with beautiful Tree in the middle. A lot of people were taking pictures, there were a lot of lively conversations going on around the lobby. Some people were having just drinks like us and some had plates of pastries as well. We each (we travelled with our adult daughter) ordered a glass of Porto and set out to enjoy the surroundings. Another opportunity to marvel at European architecture, finishes and furnishings, also what a great opportunity for people watching! After a day of sightseeing, and special dinner at the Cafe de Paris this was a perfect end to our special day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GosiaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Paris, General Manager at Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for taking the time to share these kind comments about our Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled to learn that you had a great experience at our Bar American and that you enjoyed our special decoration for Christmas.

We look forward to serve you during you next trip in the Principality of Monaco.

Yours Sincerely,

Luca ALLEGRI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo

Property: Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Address: Place Du Casino, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#2 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the very heart of Monte-Carlo on the famous Place du Casino, the Hôtel de Paris is a real “Address” !A simple flight of stairs leads from the Place du Casino to the majestic lobby of the Hôtel de Paris. Low relief sculptures, marble colonnades and cristal chandeliers entice you to absorb the fascinating solemnity of this magical, memorable and sumptuous setting. The privileged quality of its location, just a few steps from the legendary Casino de Monte-Carlo, means that guests have front-row seats to watch the sparkling life of Monaco and unforgettable sunsets over the sea. The Hôtel de Paris also offers direct access to Les Thermes Marins de Monte-Carlo, its Spa of 6,600 m2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Paris Hotel
Hotel De Paris Monte Carlo
De Paris Monte Carlo
Hotel Du Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing