We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay here/nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights, hotel right on beach. We thought great location, although a walk in monaco central part. Hotel was pricey £385 per night in middle of summer, although all hotels the same. We spent most of our time at the pool and not the beach here, as beach very small and crowded. Our room was a deluxe/upgrade although we didnt get into this until the second day (as not available on arrival). This room was so much better thab first room as larger in size, Overall we had a good stay. £14 for a tea was a tad pricey!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annieanna79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelDeVasconcelos, General Manager at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your stay. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and the pool area. We are also very happy that you enjoyed the deluxe room, with a wonderful view of the sea. We are however very surprised to read your comments about the price of the tea, and believe you must be mistaken as we charge 7.50 Euros and not 14 pounds.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon, would you need anything at all, please do not hesitate to contact us directly, it will be a pleasure to assist you
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

572 - 578 of 1,763 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

It was nice but not really impressed. Beach is not impressive...never even went down, just stayed at the pool. Find a nicer place for your money closer to town. I was sorry I didn't stay at the De Paris.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room if you do stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelDeVasconcelos, General Manager at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Greetings from Monte Carlo,

We were quite surprised to read your comments regarding the Beach, and about the location, and would like to inform you that we are only a 5 min walk from the Casino Square, and that we are the only hotel in the Principality of Monaco with its own private beach.
Maybe next time your travels lead to Monaco, will you take the opportunity to enjoy a cocktail whilst enjoying the Mediterranean waters at The Alang Beach Lounge? We are sure you will change your mind, once you do try it.

Do not hesitate to contact us directly, it will be our pleasure to assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We just got back from spending a long weekend in Monaco in the Presidential suite with my husband and 16-year old son. I stayed at this hotel a few years ago for my 40th birthday and the rooms were a real let-down so I thought to give the Presidential Suite a try, hoping it would be of a higher standard.

Unfortunately, it wasn't. The first thing was that there was no door on the bathroom from the bedroom. This, in my opinion, is such a stupid modern design, leading to no privacy at all, where you want it the most. The shower was very difficult to operate and had the cheapest shower heads you can imagine. The towel rack was so wobbly that it was probably assembled by a 5-year old. The tub was cracked in the middle and they glued down a very abrasive mat to keep you from slipping, which it did while stripping all the skin off your bottom. The furniture in the living room was dated-modern and super uncomfortable. There were no movie channels (not even pay-per-view) so you're left with watching just the news in the evenings. The coffee machine didn't work properly. Room service was a disaster. On the first day I ordered the Veal Piccata, which comes in a lemon sauce with capers. Instead I got an unseasoned grilled piece of dry veal with no sauce and soggy canned asparagus. I called down and they quickly brought me another order of "Veal Piccata" , this time with a little squeeze of lemon. Still no seasoning or capers. The veal was so tough, I couldn't even cut through it. I packed it up and brought it back home for my dogs. The next night I ordered a Caprese Salad with fresh organic tomatoes. The chef took a totally unripe tomato, sliced it into 4 large thick slices and served that as my salad. The tomato was so hard I couldn't cut through it much less eat it. I didn't even bother complaining any more. The only thing I could say is that the staff was helpful and friendly enough. The location is ideal, the beach beautiful. The rest is definitely not up to the luxurious standard you would expect from such an establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helcsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Greetings from Monte Carlo!

We were very upset to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay at Le Méridien Beach Plaza, and that you did not inform us about your ordeal during your stay. Unfortunately we do not have any records of your unhappiness and regret not having been able to accommodate you whilst you were with us.

We are very sorry for the issues encountered during this very special occasion and truly hope you will give Le Méridien Beach Plaza another chance should your travel lead you back to Monaco. It goes without saying that we will do our utmost to make up for the inconvenience your experienced.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights during a business trip. The staff was extremely helpful and polite. During the night I asked them to change my room because of the noise coming from the room next to mine. They immediately changed the room and helped move my stuff to my new room. The hotel has a well equipped private beach. The restaurant is also very good. The only disappointing thing was the lack of a free wifi in the rooms (it is only free in the lobby).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giotaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelDeVasconcelos, General Manager at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Le Méridien Beach Plaza. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Concerning your comments about the Internet, may we remind you that as an SPG member, you are entitled to select a welcome gift, where you have the choice between Internet, a complimentary drink or 300 SPG points. Would you wish to discuss the matter, or need any assistance, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon at Le Méridien Beach Plaza.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed there for a friend's wedding in February....staff were pleasant but somewhat businesslike...
The room was well appointed, not spectacular and somewhat small...great views of the sea (construction site to the left wasnt too spectacular though...
Breakfast was ok, and meals on site were just ok albeit pricey.

All in all, was a good introduction to Monte Carlo

Room Tip: high floor sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jollofmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Jollofmaster,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your stay at Le Méridien Beach Plaza. Could you give us more information regarding the room type that you booked?

As for the constructions, they are outside of the hotel property, and will be removed soon. Maybe we could convince you to re-discover Le Méridien in a whole other light? Maybe in summer where you could fully enjoy our outdoor areas and our unique private beach.

Would your travels lead you back to Monaco, do not hesitate to contact us directly, it will be our pleasure to change your mind about our staff’s attitude, and allow you to enjoy the Sea view, without any disturbance.

We look forward helping you become an expert about the Principality of Monaco.


Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here during the Monaco Grand Prix, so it was a very exciting and busy week. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was a bit small but we had great views of the city and the sea. It also had nice contemporary furnishings. The food was always delicious but a little pricey. As it was Grand Prix, we didn't have to go far to enjoy ourselves...the exclusive Amber-Lounge is held over three nights at this stunning hotel!! I would recommend this hotel; however, bear in mind that it is quite pricey (from room rates to dining).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Megan,

Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Le Méridien Beach Plaza, in such an exciting period. We do indeed host The Amber Lounge every year, and had some very special guests present this year, and many more to come this coming year. We hope to welcome you back for the GP Season 2014!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We've just returned from Le Meridien Beach hotel in Monaco. I booked a couple of nights for my partner's 50th birthday as a surprise. OK, it wasn't cheap, but if I wanted cheap I wouldn't have gone to Monte Carlo!

This hotel, while not in the 'heart' of things, is only a 15 minute walk from the marina. As the weather in October in Monaco is nice, this was no problem. It has its own small shingle beach, very very clean everywhere. The pool area is beautiful and again spotless.

I agree with previous comments about reception - staff not particularly friendly or smiley, but very professional. During our stay there was obviously a very large conference being held as they have a conference centre attached to the hotel. This wasn't a problem for us, but I think the staff were run ragged!

Breakfast is served until 10.30am every day which was a good point for us, not having to get up early. It's buffet style with hot and cold options - if you don't book B&B you would have to pay from 35 euros for this priviledge (or same price for room service) - and it is NOT worth that money! However, it was lovely sitting outside overlooking the sea having breakfast and coffee. Another nice touch was the voucher in the room for a free coffee each per day, so if you do miss breakfast you can at least get a drink in the morning as they don't provide a kettle in the rooms.

Each room has a mini bar - they ask for your credit card and provisionally put 200 euros on it in case you clear the bar! We used two bottles of Evian - and I was charged 16 euros on check out! I would therefore recommend you buy water from the Casino supermarket down at the marina. They do provide you with a small complimentary bottle of water each day but that is just not enough really.

The beds are very comfortable. The room was furnished beautifully and modern. We had a balcony but because we overlooked the main road (also had a sea view) it was a bit noisy so had to use the air conditioning of a night time instead of leaving the balcony doors open. They provide all the usual toiletries including shampoo and conditioner - perfect for us ladies with only hand luggage! Hairdryer is also provided. We had a rather nice wide screen TV in the room with a variety of channels including some English ones.

Apart from breakfast we didn't eat at the hotel. Monaco is expensive but there are lots of restaurants and bars on the marina. There was a lovely italian where we had a meal on the first night which was about 10 minutes from the hotel. Quite reasonably priced. A bottle of Orvieto cost 20 euros.

I would warn people that drinks in Monaco are stupidly priced. Three pints of beer on our first day cost us 18 euros on the marina. Round the back streets is no better - 13 euros for a beer and a small coffee!! Food I would say is priced similarly to the UK, so no real shock.

If you enjoy walking, everything is in easy reach of Le Meridien. We walked to the Palace (not for the faint hearted as it is quite a way up a hill but worth it just for the view!), the Aquarium, right round the marina and got the water bus back across for just a few euros (probably the best priced thing the whole stay!) The sights of Monaco are superb - Ferraris go past like Mondeos in the UK! Walking the streets you can clearly see where the Grand Prix is held - road markings and tire marks permanent reminders.

The Marina is also something else. Some of the privately owned yachts are like mini cruise liners.

If you are after a Casino, the Casino of Monaco is worth a visit but they do not offer poker. The Fairmont does, but the buy in was ridiculous! Behind the Meridien is another hotel which also has a casino (we found this out on our last day!) and they hold world poker tournaments there. This casino is also open to anyone.

Casino square is a must see - the Cafe de Paris and Hotel de Paris on either side, with various stores lining the side streets such as Prada, Van Cleef. Be prepared to spend a lot of money! Would I change anything about my stay? Not really - maybe pick a hotel nearer the marina for the time of year we went. All in all, Le Meridien was perfect for a couple of nights to explore Monaco but we couldn't have afforded to stay longer!

Room Tip: Not every room has a balcony. Make sure when you book if you want a balcony you ask for one. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloverwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelDeVasconcelos, General Manager at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your stay at Le Méridien Beach Plaza, in such details, as we are sure this will help fellow travelers not to miss the ‘must see’ attractions that the Principality of Monaco has to offer.
It is with great delight that we read that you enjoyed our outdoor areas and breakfast, as well as the complimentary coffee. Our barista invites you to discover a selection of Cocktails with Illy Coffee, where you can choose from a wide variety of flavours such as our « Café à la rose ».
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon, maybe for your birthday this time!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.2 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,737 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel De Paris
Hotel De Paris
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
880 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
971 reviews
1.6 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Beach Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Beach Plaza

Address: 22 Ave Princesse Grace, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Phone Number:
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range: £157 - £538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Beach Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Monte-Carlo, Le Méridien Beach Plaza is the only hotel with a private beach with direct access in Monaco. Le Méridien Beach Plaza offers limitless possibilities to explore the city of Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Beach Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Beach Plaza Hotel Monte-Carlo
Meridien Monte Carlo
Le Meridien Monte-Carlo
Monte-Carlo Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing