We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, shame about breakfast and wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Lugano
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, shame about breakfast and wifi”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here though due to a heavy work schedule I was not able to enjoy all the excellent facilities, which was a shame.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful, from the "Voiturier" on arrival who quickly took charge of my car and bags, to the receptionist, concierge and service staff.

My room was clean and a good size on the side overlooking the large pool, harbour and the Med. There was a slight smell of smoke on entering the room, and I thought I'd asked for a non smoking room, but I could be mistaken, however, as I could leave the terrace door open (I enjoy fresh air over aircon air) it was not noticeable after a short while.

My major criticism however was breakfast. €36 for the buffet at which the bacon and sausage was cold, the cold cuts tasted of rubber (the ham tasted of nothing at all!) and the juices came from packets. At least the bread and butter was good!

Next up, I find €46 a night for parking to be exorbitant. I know it's Monaco but it's more than I paid at the Hermitage and that's a real 5 star.

Finally, internet wifi. Notwithstanding my opinion this should be included free of charge in all hotels, €18 for 24 hours, though I doubt my actual use, spread over the day, amounted to much more than 3 hours, is nothing short of highway robbery. To compound matters, if I wanted wifi on my phone as well, I'd have had to pay another €18. Thank goodness my iPad and phone have hotspot ability.

If wifi was included and breakfast was more reasonable, I'd give the hotel 4 stars. This is the reason I can only give it 3.

All in all I'd not stay again for business use, due to internet not included, but would take my family there as the kids would enjoy it, but only if I did not need to go online!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LuganoPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear LuganoPirate,
We would like to thank you to have chosen Le Méridien Beach Plaza for your last stay in Monaco, and for having taken the time to share with us your feelings.
Your response is very important to us as we continuously strive to improve our services.
We are delighted you appreciated your experience at the hotel, especially the ideal location, your room with sea view and the car-valet service.
At the same time, we are extremely sorry that you were not fully satisfied and have taken note with care of your comments in order to address your remarks in the near future.
Precisely concerning Internet, we are pleased to confirm you that we offer it for free in the lobby and the bar of the hotel, and that our guests can connect in the room up to 6 devices at the same time.
Thank you, once again, for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. We are grateful for your support and hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Le Méridien Beach Plaza in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    526
    255
    82
    58
See reviews for
267
482
47
455
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We surprised our friend with a trip to Monte Carlo for a mini hen party. When we arrived at the hotel the staff looked for the best available room for the 3 of us and gave us a large room with 2 double beds - this was the beginning of the wonderful service we received.

From the front desk, to the beach bar & restaurants and through to the concierge, we had friendly, helpful service all the way through our stay. The private beach and the pool were amazing to have when the sun was shining and the indoor pool great when the weather wasn't so great - the facilities really were outstanding. The rooms were very clean and when we had an issue with the shower not working properly the maintenance team were there fixing the problem immediately.

It is a walk into town but this is main easier with the location of the bus stop being outside. The concierge helped us to plan our days, mainly around the weather.

Getting back to the airport was also made extremely easy as the bus stopped directly outside and only cost 20 euro's (we got the helicopter on the way there as a treat). I will definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: I would recommend the beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TulaTulaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Google Translation
Cher TulaTulaLondon,
Merci vivement pour avoir pris le temps de partager votre expérience suite à votre séjour au Méridien Beach Plaza.
Nous nous réjouissons de vos commentaires si chaleureux et sommes très heureux d'apprendre que vous avez apprécié votre séjour.
Vos commentaires ont été transmis au personnel concerné qui ont été remerciés en votre nom.
Merci grandement de conseiller avec un tel enthousiasme notre hôtel.
Nous espérons avoir la joie de vous accueillir de nouveau très prochainement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The rooms are lovely, the views spectacular, the pool looks nice and location wise it's fine, albeit for the constant sound of revving engines, but that's standard for Monaco.

But the staff seem to resent that you ever dared walk through their doors. Maybe I looked poor or something, or perhaps it was just a bad day, but the reception staff were almost grieving, as were the staff in the restaurant. The service staff however, were lovely, which is remarkable given the number of rooms they have to contend with that contain some yapping little dog.

That said, if you like your fellow guests Russian, wearing velour, or with weird lips, then this is undoubtedly the place for you. Whereas other five star hotels talk up their ethos of pleasure and relaxation, Le Meridien take an altogether different approach, promoting a place where you are unshackled from the burden of manners and common courtesy, and where vulgarity is embraced.

Hopefully others have had better experiences, but Le Meridien is an unhappy hotel. Which is s shame.

Room Tip: The rooms facing north are probably the worst, given that they have very small balconies looking out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJBartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear SJBartley,
Thank you for taking the time to inform us about the details of your stay.
We are extremely sorry that we did not reach your expectations, and we would like to deeply apologize.
The service attitude that you describe is clearly not reflective of our usual standards, and we have taken good note of your comments, and discussed them with our associates in order to avoid such impressions to be caused in the future.
Thank you very much for your compliments concerning the hotel and our service staff with whom they will be shared.
We hope to have the opportunity of recovering the image that you now kept when your travel brings you back to Monaco,
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Le Meridien Beach Plaza is a hotel located ...on the beach of Monte Carlo. Easy access to public transport. Very kind personnel and great breakfast. My room had an excellent view to the sea. I strongly reccomend it

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Google Translation
Chère Alexia,
Merci chaleureusement pour avoir pris le temps de partager vos impressions suite à votre séjour au Méridien Beach Plaza.
Quel plaisir de découvrir avec quel délice vous avez vécu cette expérience !
Soyez assuré que vos félicitations seront partagées avec tous les services concernés.
Merci encore vivement pour vos recommandations et à très bientôt pour une nouvelle découverte inspirante de Monaco,
Bien cordialement,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for a week at the end of April.

The room was lovely, the pool was amazing. But bar 3 members of staff (all on reception) the service was appalling. Rude, no smiles, didn't care if they didn't serve us. One member of staff even complained when we asked for poached eggs for breakfast, despite being fine with the table next to us doing it. The concierge were not helpful either.

The service at dinner was terrible.

I wouldn't recommend it for the price we paid. Staff need to go on training courses.

Room Tip: We asked for a balcony, and got a great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Becki,
Thank you for having chosen Le Méridien Beach Plaza during your last visit to Monaco. We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to inform us of your impressions.
This is why we would like to extend our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience that we caused you. It is clearly not reflective of our usual standards of service, and be assured that actions have been improved in order to prevent any situation being handled similarly.
We are glad to read you fully appreciate your room and the pool.
We would be very grateful if you would give us another chance should your travels lead you back to Monaco. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, if there is anything we can do to assist you in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Me and my best friends stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in March of last year. We knew the weather wouldn't be great at this time of year, however it was pleasantly warm compared to conditions back in London. The staff at reception greeted us and check in was quick and easy. We had a standard room with a double and a rollaway bed. The room was comfortable, clean and just about big enough. The cleaners did a wonderful job each day cleaning our room.

Our main agenda was to have a good time, after all, this was Monaco! But also me and my friends had recently completed our university degrees, so we wanted to celebrate. The hotels location could not be any more perfect for this agenda. It is within walking distance to Jimmyz, Sass and Monte Carlo centre itself. We owe a big thanks to the concierge lady who helped us immensely with bookings and table reservations (as our French was not up to standard).

Overall, I thought this hotel was fabulous. Friendly staff, good rooms, amazing location, and one of the best holidays I've had in my life. We loved the hotel so much, that we have booked another stay later this year in the summer.

See you soon, Le Meriden!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DANCIAGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Google Translation
Cher Danciaga,
Un grand merci pour votre témoignage de sympathie suite à votre séjour au Méridien Beach Plaza.
Quel plaisir d’apprendre que notre hôtel a pleinement contribué au succès de la célébration de vos diplômes entre amis !
Nous sommes aux anges de lire quel fut votre programme festif.
Soyez assurés que vos commentaires seront partagés avec toutes les équipes mentionnées, en particulier les départements réception et housekeeping, qui seront remerciés en votre nom.
Merci pour votre confiance renouvelée et à très bientôt cet été.
Cordialement,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Utterly faultless from start to finish. As this was a very special stay to celebrate my mother's 80th, it was essential that the Meridien did it right for her. An ex-hotelier herself, and with me as an ex-professional chef as her chaperone, I ordered some special things for her and they were all confirmed by e-mail prior to our arrival. What was really great though was that they did it, and with good old-fashioned service, no better exhibited than by premier maître d'hôtel Antonio in the Intiempo restaurant. A birthday cake complete with singing staff and diners finished her arrival off brilliantly, after her helicopter ride and Bollinger had welcomed her to Monte, where she honeymooned in the mid 50's. Have no doubt, my mother is a hard task master, but she loved every minute and couldn't fault it. Thanks to all the staff - we will return for longer next time!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank n0eld_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear n0eld_h,
We have been deeply touched reading your feedback. Thank you so much for it. You offered us a fantastic gift.
As an ex professional chef you could imagine our pride to be part of this very special moment, your mother’s 80th.
Please be assured that all team involved during your exclusive stay will be thanked in the name of you, especially our Maître d’Hôtel Antonio Focchi.
It is really a great pleasure to read that what we aim everyday has been reached. Many thanks again for that.
You are more than welcome at Le Méridien Beach Plaza for your future longer stay.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.2 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,530 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,048 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
770 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Beach Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Beach Plaza

Property: Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Address: 22 Ave Princesse Grace, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Phone Number:
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Beach Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Monte-Carlo, Le Méridien Beach Plaza is the only hotel with a private beach with direct access in Monaco. Le Méridien Beach Plaza offers limitless possibilities to explore the city of Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Beach Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Beach Plaza Hotel Monte-Carlo
Meridien Monte Carlo
Le Meridien Monte-Carlo
Monte-Carlo Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing