We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but not a good value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Beach Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but not a good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

My fiance and I stayed here in June. The hotel itself is nice, especially the small private beach area, but we found the staff to be a bit pretentious and cost of food/room service exorbitant ($40 for a burger). Yes, Monaco in general is pricey, but at least you get what you pay for outside of the hotel. They hold private parties on their private beach, so we were asked to leave the one afternoon we decided to take advantage of it. The walk to the center of town is approximately 30 minutes and quite pretty, but I would probably stay somewhere higher up on the hill next time.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phillyfoodie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemeridien, General Manager at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, 22 February 2010
Dear phillyfoodie23,

Firstly I sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to post these comments following your stay with us in June 2009.
I was happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel and the private beach. However I am sorry if you found the staff attitude disappointing and if you were asked to leave the beach earlier as private parties are occasional.
Also, please note that you can join the centre of Monte-Carlo by walk but also by bus or thanks to the hotel shuttle.
If you decide to come back to Monaco, we will be more than pleased to welcome you again and to make your stay most enjoyable.

Best regards,

Michel Cottray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    519
    253
    82
    58
See reviews for
264
478
45
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2010

I booked le meridien in monte carlo for my husbands 40th birthday last year and we both had an amazing time. We couldn't wait to book again and we are now on count down to our next trip back in 5 weeks time. The hotel was incredible, very contemporary, very clean with excellent restaurants and friendly staff who are happy to help at all times. We booked a sea view balcony room and i would reccomend this to anyone, It was a beautiful view to wake up to every morning.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemeridien, General Manager at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, 22 February 2010
Dear Thejohnsonssss,

Thank you for this great review! I was sincerely happy to read that you enjoyed your last stay with us to celebrate your husband birthday.
Our sea view rooms are indeed amazing and I will be very pleased to share your comments regarding the staff attitude with all the head of departments concerned.

We are delighted to welcome you again next month and be assured that we are at your entire disposal if there is anything that we can assist you with to make your stay most enjoyable.

Best regards,

Michel Cottray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2009

Enjoyed it a lot... I will send people here. Thanks for the lovely stay

Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank antonturco1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemeridien, General Manager at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, 8 February 2010
Dear antonturco1983,

Thank you for this nice review! I sincerely appreciate the time you took to write your comments regarding Le Méridien Beach Plaza.
We would be delighted to welcome you and your friends again in Monte-Carlo.

Best regards,

Michel Cottray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

Stayed there two nights. Nice hotel big rooms, balcony, sea view. Own beach and pools. As all Monte Carlo hotel too overpriced, but no regrets. Walking distance from Grand Casino and nightlife.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemeridien, General Manager at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, 8 February 2010
Dear Jaarman,

Thank you for having posted this kind review following your stay with us.
I was sincerely happy to read that you enjoyed our rooms, our facilities, and especially our location overlooking the sea.
We look forward welcoming you again, maybe during spring or summer to discover a sunny French Riviera and to enjoy our private beach.

Best regards,

Michel Cottray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

This hotel is the only one in Monaco to have its own private beach. Its situated along the sea front and is only 5 minutes walk from the Grimaldi Forum - expo centre.
The hotel is perfect for business and if you do bring the family, they have plenty to do - go swimming in the indoor pool - or if its summer time there is an even bigger outside pool with giant chess board, private beach and beach hut and some rocks nearby - perfect for young children too.

The food was good - but expensive - well its Monte Carlo - you cannot expect anything cheaper.

Hotel rooms are fine and the standard classic has two moderate size double beds, so you can get upto 4 people in one room with no problem,

The bathroom was clean, shower was a bit basic but worked ok.

The hotel was ideally situated for the shops. Its a short walk through a nearby tunnel and up a flight of steps (or lift if you are lazy) and you are on the main street of shops. Its about 10 minutes from the main Casino and about 25 minutes walk from the Prince's palace in the old town.

i would recommend this hotel for business and ideal for bringing the family for 2-3 days.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Expense
  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jonaeroblue23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemeridien, General Manager at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, 8 February 2010
Dear Jonaeroblue23,

I sincerely appreciate the time you took to write your comments regarding your stay with us and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you personally.
Our hotel is indeed a perfect choice for business and leisure travels thanks to our conference centre and the facilities as the swimming-pools, the private beach and the fitness centre. Also, shopping areas and the main attractions are at a short distance from the hotel.
Thank you very much again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again at Le Méridien Beach Plaza. Maybe in spring or summer for a sunny experience of the French Riviera...

Kind regards,

Michel Cottray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2009

Had a short break here in November. Staff were really helpful and friendly, reception area was modern and welcoming. Room was spacious, very comfortable and clean. Hotel was in a great location, right on beach and away from the busy centre. Bus stop right outside hotel with buses every 10 mins or so except Sunday when it's every 20 mins. Get a tourists day ticket for 3 euros on the bus and travel to all attractions. Breakfasts are excellent, will set you up for the day. Enjoyed every minute of our stay, will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemeridien, General Manager at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, 8 February 2010
Dear DerbyshireScotty,

Thank you for this great review regarding your stay with us in November! I sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to post your comments on this forum.
I was happy to read that the hotel facilities recently renovated were at your convenience, as the location near the beach and close to the city attractions.
Be assured that I will share your review with all the departments concerned, especially with the Reception staff and with our Restaurant Manager.
We look forward welcoming you again soon at Le Méridien Beach Plaza.

Kind regards,

Michel Cottray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

believe it or not but apparently it really is the only hotel in Monaco with a beach and by now I have seen pretty all hotels there (we just like to travel and Monaco)... the location really is what makes the hotel very special - the pool, the beach, being able to take a swim in the sea in September, the entire outside area is just great for Monaco - just make sure you book a seaview room - if the other rooms are facing the side of the hotel entrance I guess it may not be such a fab experience as we had - getting up in the morning watching the sun coming up from the sea - went for a run along the sea every morning that's how stunning it was... The food - well - it is Monaco and I find there are just very little places in Monaco where you get a top food quality so considering this: it was ok. Another thing we liked about the hotel: the rooms are modern and not this "old fashioned" furniture that the other hotels we stayed in used to have (just prefer to be in something modern - having my drink in a relaxed, cool environment rather than a "stiff" place)...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meiandmyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemeridien, General Manager at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, 30 November 2009
Dear meiandmyself,

I am very happy to learn how much you enjoyed your experience at Le Méridien Beach Plaza! September is indeed a great season to visit the French Riviera, especially for a romantic stay.
Also, I can confirm you that we are really the only hotel with a private beach in Monaco.
Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your comments on this forum. Whenever your travel plans bring you back to Monaco, do not hesitate to contact us, we would be more than happy to assist you with your reservation.

With my best regards,

Michel Cottray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.1 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.0 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Beach Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Beach Plaza

Property: Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Address: 22 Ave Princesse Grace, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Phone Number:
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Beach Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Monte-Carlo, Le Méridien Beach Plaza is the only hotel with a private beach with direct access in Monaco. Le Méridien Beach Plaza offers limitless possibilities to explore the city of Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Meridien Beach Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Beach Plaza Hotel Monte-Carlo
Meridien Monte Carlo
Le Meridien Monte-Carlo
Monte-Carlo Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing