We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfully relaxing, everywhere you want to visit within 5 minutes walk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Beach Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Bristol
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing, everywhere you want to visit within 5 minutes walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

Superb view of the sea as you walk through the front doors. Everywhere sparkly clean. Staff very friendly yet professional. Lovely food. Great fitness area and lovely indoor pool which we used. Outdoor pools available in the season. The position right on the sea is one of the best. Our room had a balcony with good quality outdoor furniture and we were able to sit for ages, watching all the comings and goings on the large terrace below us. One of the best breakfasts we've had. That end of Monte Carlo seems best for leisure visits, we stayed at the Marriott last year which is on the French side- very nice but a bit of a walk to the centre. From the Meridien it is flat walking along the sea front to the centre. Airport bus stops right outside the door and town buses too. There's a casino two minutes walk down the road in yet another lovely hotel. There are about four along the Princess Grace road which all looked really nice.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amapBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    519
    253
    82
    58
See reviews for
264
478
45
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Le Meridien Beach Plaza during our European honeymoon last summer. The staff were exceptional, from check-in to check-out. Location of the hotel was phenomenal; close enough to walk to the city centre, but still a little oasis on its own with a private beach and sparkling blue salt water pools. Add the wonderful restaurants and you could not ask for more in a hotel!

The highlights of our stay were staff members Caroline from Reservations and one of the Bellmen (unfortunately, we did not get his name). Caroline arranged for an upgrade for us as it was our honeymoon and made sure our room was fabulous. The bellman helped us out when we realized the scooter rental company opened too late for us to return our scooter before we needed to leave to catch our flight. When my husband approached him with our dilemma, he gladly offered to return the scooter himself on our behalf. We could not believe how helpful he was, going way above and beyond to help us out.

We highly recommend this hotel in Monte Carlo and loved it so much that we are returning again this July for our 1 year anniversary. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ren711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemeridien, General Manager at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, 2 April 2010
Dear Ren711,

I was very happy to read how great your honeymoon in Monte-Carlo was! Thank you from all the staff for taking the time to post your feedback on this website. I will personally share your comments with Caroline who has been hired as a Reservations Manager since your last stay, and also with the Front Office Manager.
We look forward to welcoming you this coming summer and all remain at your disposal to make your stay most enjoyable.

With my best regards,

Michel Cottray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

I stayed at the hotel for two nights midweek. The hotel is located at the end of the promenade but there is a convienient bus stop right out side.

The room was clean and tidy with all the facilites you would expect and a nice bathroom. The TV did not work howver and had to be fixed while we there. We were on the 11th floor (top floor) and had a balcony with very good views over Monte Carlo. However, unfortunately the 11th floor was being renovated which I didn't mind but when they started work with power tools and hammers at 8.15am I thought this was far too early. We also had problems reaching our floor as two of the lifts did not go to the 11th floor and a further had broken down and required repair.

The lobby and bar/restaurant area looked very nice, however I did not try anything out of principle. I have travelled extensively and recognize the difference between local high prices (as is the case in Monaco) and being ripped off. The hotel fell under the latter!

A half litre of beer was €10, a Glenfiddich whisky €19 (€28 a bottle in the shops) and breakfast consisting of coffee, orange juice and a basket of crossaints was a ridiculous €27. In the local cafe 2 minutes walk down the road the same thing was €5.

The hotel in my opinion is complacent and is designed to rip off tourists who are happy to splash the cash without thinking about the value of things. I have stayed in far better hotels at a quarter of the price.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doofler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemeridien, General Manager at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, 30 March 2010
Dear Doofler,

I was sincerely sorry to learn of your concerns after your stay with us this month. We are indeed renovating our 11th floor in order to improve our suites for the coming high season and our guest satisfaction. I do apologize if you were woken up due to the noise and if the lifts didn’t work as they should. This was a temporary glitch due to our current renovations that are set to finish this week. Our aim is to make our guests happy about their stay and I am very sorry if this was not the case.

Also, I have noted that you found our food and beverage services overpriced. Be assured that our rates are not higher than those which are practiced in the others four star hotels in Monte-Carlo. For your information, our buffet breakfast is at 33€ and includes croissants, but also homemade pastries created by our pastry chef, eggs prepared in a variety of manners, pancakes, French breads, cereals, fresh fruits, and all is expected, and more at this moment of the day in a hotel of our standing.

Despite the fact you have been disappointed for the reasons explained I am however delighted that you enjoyed the comfort of the rooms as the great view overlooking the sea.

If you decide to come back to Monaco for leisure maybe this time, I would be personally very honoured to welcome you back and make ensure that your stay is agreeable.

Best regards,

Michel Cottray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

Le Meridien was good value for us, as Monaco proved to be an expensive stop over relative to other venues on our europe trip. However, the touches of luxury and the included breakfast made this a great 2 day break. Staff was obliging and it was always a pleasure to return to our room after a hard day exploring Monte Carlo. It was extremely cold for the 2 days we were there, so we decided to eat inhouse on our last night, and i have to say, we had a great meal....not cheap, but Chateaubriand for me and lamb for my wife, both cooked to perfection. The accompanying garnishes were what I would expect of a top quality French restaurant.. I was particularly impressed with how everything " worked " in Monaco. We had just arrived from Milan Italy, where things did not go according to plan, because in Italy...I dont think they have a plan! ( but they do design great shoes!)

Tip for the buses....get a Carnet ( 10 rides) and you can use a ticket continuously for up to 30 minutes....

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aldeb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemeridien, General Manager at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, 26 March 2010
Dear aldeb001,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Le Méridien Beach Plaza on this forum.
I was most happy to learn how much you enjoyed your stop in Monaco while you were travelling all over Europe.
Also, I sincerely appreciate your comments regarding the dinner you had at our restaurant L’intempo. Be assured that I will share your kind feedback with our Executive Chef. Should your travels bring you back to Monte-Carlo, we do hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Michel Cottray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

Very nice and comfrotable hotel with an amazing view of the beach, very warm staff, good restaurant. Rooms are good, well equipped but if you are sensitive to noise ask for rooms facing the beach, I stayed at one facing the avenue and it was noisy day and night.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I_tell_you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienBeachPlaza, General Manager at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, 14 April 2010
Dear I_tell_you,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I was happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel facilities as well as the comfort of your room. The rooms facing the sea are indeed amazing - especially our renovated suites - and if your travels bring you back to Monaco, I sincerely do hope that you will have the pleasure to enjoy one of them.

With my best regards,

Michel Cottray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2010

The hotel has a unique location. The sea facing rooms offer an excellent and unparalled view. It is especially amazing during sunrise and sunset. The sit outs area on the ground floor offers a good view of the sea.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozone10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemeridien, General Manager at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, 22 February 2010
Dear ozone10,

I was sincerely happy to read the nice comments you have taken the time to post on this website.
January was quite cold this year on the French Riviera but I am happy that you had a great time with us, especially in one of our sea view room. The location overlooking the sea is indeed amazing!
Be assured that I will share your review with the head of departments concerned and that we remain at your disposal to welcome you next time, may your travels bring you back to Monaco.

Best regards,

Michel Cottray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

My fiance and I stayed here in June. The hotel itself is nice, especially the small private beach area, but we found the staff to be a bit pretentious and cost of food/room service exorbitant ($40 for a burger). Yes, Monaco in general is pricey, but at least you get what you pay for outside of the hotel. They hold private parties on their private beach, so we were asked to leave the one afternoon we decided to take advantage of it. The walk to the center of town is approximately 30 minutes and quite pretty, but I would probably stay somewhere higher up on the hill next time.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phillyfoodie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemeridien, General Manager at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, 22 February 2010
Dear phillyfoodie23,

Firstly I sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to post these comments following your stay with us in June 2009.
I was happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel and the private beach. However I am sorry if you found the staff attitude disappointing and if you were asked to leave the beach earlier as private parties are occasional.
Also, please note that you can join the centre of Monte-Carlo by walk but also by bus or thanks to the hotel shuttle.
If you decide to come back to Monaco, we will be more than pleased to welcome you again and to make your stay most enjoyable.

Best regards,

Michel Cottray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.1 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.0 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Beach Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Beach Plaza

Property: Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Address: 22 Ave Princesse Grace, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Phone Number:
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Beach Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Monte-Carlo, Le Méridien Beach Plaza is the only hotel with a private beach with direct access in Monaco. Le Méridien Beach Plaza offers limitless possibilities to explore the city of Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Le Meridien Beach Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Beach Plaza Hotel Monte-Carlo
Meridien Monte Carlo
Le Meridien Monte-Carlo
Monte-Carlo Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing