We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel with one big problem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
from Patmos
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great hotel with one big problem”
Reviewed 13 November 2010

I am getting less patient with hotels that don't give free wifi to their clients; this hotel not only charges for wifi, it charges an outrageous amount. In my opinion, today that is like charging for water in the bathroom. I think the market should reward hotels that offer this essential service, and punish the others.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank O_Xenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    557
    264
    84
    62
See reviews for
285
511
48
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hessle E.Yorks UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Most Hotel groups have a Loyalty Scheme, but this one is really worth joining SPG Starwood (and its free) allows you access, with 'no black out dates' to their hotels BUT this one is exceptional it also gives you a DISCOUNT on Food & Drink - What a nice touch ! You can see by our remarks that we were more than pleased with Le Meridien Beach Plaza Hotel. The Excecutive Chef here is 'Superb' and is always trying new angles on food, Breakfast and Dinner wonderful. We did the touristy thing and wondered into town to find one those Grand Restaurants with a Grand Chef - and we found one ! ! - I don't think the casino had enough Euros to pay the bill - it was not worth it - been there done that ! If you are going people watching during the day, go and have Morning Coffee or Afternoon Tea at the Cafe opposite the Cafe de Paris - ENJOY.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFHessle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Traveling to Monaco is always something to look forward to, but traveling for a conference is not necessarily always fun. Lodging was set up by the organizers of the conference, and they choose where attendees sleep. Upon arriving, I was more than pleasantly surprised to see the hotel in which I was given to stay was Le Meridien. I have had nothing but great experiences when staying at Starwood Resorts and imparticular, this resort. With the only private beach in Monaco, this hotel boasts spectacular view of the Mediterranean, a functional gym, spacious pools, a spa, business center, and a host of other amenities. However, the best characteristic about this hotel was their staff. They were helpful, professional and very, very nice. I would recommend this hotel when traveling to the South of France.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anichols926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienBeachPlaza, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, 26 November 2010
Dear anichols926,

Thank you for your kind comments.
Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I was happy to read that your stay with us was a pleasant experience...despite the fact you were in Monaco for business!
I have brought your comments to the attention of those concerns, and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future...maybe this time for leisure!

Best regards,

Michel Cottray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoersholm, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2010

This hotel is very nice because it is directly on the beach. And you cannot hear any noice from the city nearby.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghitatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

My husband and I stayed here in June, and I could not have been more underwhelmed by this hotel. The clear benefit to the property is the private beach, but that is about all it has going for it. I arrived at the hotel earlier than the 4pm check-in time (at 1:30 or 2 I would guess). I went to check in and was told that my room would not be ready for an hour. This was not a problem for me, as I was the one who arrived early. The man at the desk told me my room would be ready in an hour, and I told him I would have lunch by the pool while I waited. I went back to the front desk to pick up my key at 4:30, long after the ‘hour’ wait I had expected and after the check-in time at the hotel. Alas, my room was still not ready. I went online and checked for available beachfront king rooms, and there was availability. I’m still not quite sure why nobody was able to put me in another room. After half an hour at the front desk (no offer or sitting at the bar with a complimentary beverage while they handle their issue), I was given my key. I don’t know what was ‘Deluxe’ about my room (131 I think). It was on the first floor, directly above the lobby, and was right at the elevator banks. Boy was it loud. Between the renovations in the lobby below me and the people getting on/off the elevator, it was miserable. I called the front desk to ask if I could be moved to another room (again, online showed ample availability), and I was told no. We are SPG Gold members and stay at dozens of Starwood properties each year; I’m surprised we could receive no help whatsoever.

As for the price, I am aware that Monte Carlo is expensive. This does not phase me at all; being completely taken advantage of by a hotel that is already charging top dollar for such average facilities does. Dry pasta with pesto (for lunch at the pool restaurant) is 25 euro, a club sandwich is 27, the lunch buffet is 42 (and is quite average). Also, the hotel periodically shuts down the pool for private events and kicks the paying guests out of the pool area. During our stay, we were all told to leave with no notice. This cocktail party did not come out of nowhere- could the hotel have not put notes under people’s doors or leave messages on the voicemail the evening before to inform its customers.

The management at this hotel should be thankful that the property has the private beach. Without this one unique feature, this hotel could not get away with the mediocrity that haunted me, and will await you, during your stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoraNJtoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienBeachPlaza, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, 26 November 2010
Dear NoraNJtoLondon,

In first instance I would like to thank you for having taken the time to write your concerns about your stay with us in last June.

I was sorry to learn of your disappointment with your room and also with the poor experience of service you experienced, especially at the Reception during the check-in. Be assured that I have shared your comments with our Front Office Manager, and that actions have been taken in order to increase the recognition of our valued SPG members.

Also, I have noted that you judged our F&B services overpriced. However our rates are not higher than those which are practiced in the others four star hotels in Monte-Carlo.

In regards to the cocktail around the pool you mentioned, I guess it was one of our famous "BBQ by the Pool" settled every Friday evening during the summer season. I am sorry if you were disturbed by the set up of this event which is though most appreciated both by our local and hotel customers.

In closing, I do hope that you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience, and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in a near future.

Best regards,

Michel Cottray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Have just returned from a three night stay at the Le Meridien Beach Plaza which was a special trip for my 40th birthday from 18th - 21st October. The hotel is stunning, beautiful setting, private beach, even the lift is something to admire. The staff were fantastic, a real assit to this hotel, we forgot our english plug convertor and we was given one to borrow within minutes of asking and all free of charge!! We also had a huge surprise on our return one night after the staff had seen my birthday cards in the room and had left 2 glasses of champagne and sweets for us to enjoy, this was a total surprise and just shows you the level of service this hotel and staff give to ensure you have a wonderful stay. The concierge were amazing and extremely helpful with all of our requests. Our room was on the side of the hotel on the 6th floor and was beautiful, we didnt have a see view but we actually enjoyed watching the ferrari's and other expensive cars driving up the roads. We loved the pools and was able to swim in the indoor and outdoor pool in October as the weather was fabulous. The hotel is only about a 10 minute walk (and what a beautiful walk that is) to Casino Square, Port and Cafe de Paris. There is also a bus stop right outside the hotel which you can travel on for only 1 euro, fab service and bus drivers also very helpful. Monaco is by far the cleanest country i have ever seen, everything is immaculate. The only downside to our trip was the french strike which no one could have planned, it meant that i could not spend my birthday with my friends and family who had travelled to Nice to visit me, some had flights cancelled and didnt get there at all, it was upsetting but we made the best of a bad situation, how could you not when your in one of the most beautiful and romantic countrys in the world. If you thinking of staying at this hotel then think no more and book, you certainly will not be disappointed thats for sure.
Again a big thank you to all the staff at the Le Meridien Beach Plaza Hotel for your attention to detail and for my wonderful surprise with the champagne it was really appreciated.
Kind regards,
Sharon and Jason

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShazaUKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienBeachPlaza, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, 26 November 2010
Dear Sharon and Jason,

Happy to read that you had a memorable Birthday at Le Méridien Beach Plaza!
I sincerely thank you for having let us know how impressed you were with the service you received, and I am glad to learn that you appreciated the special gestures from our employees to make you stay special.

We look forward to welcoming back in a near future in Monte-Carlo.

Best regards,

Michel Cottray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

This was my second stay at the Meridien in Monte Carlo. Beautiful, clean hotel with excellent service, pleasant staff and its own private beach ! Rooms are really spacious and beautifully clean. You really feel like you are getting 5* service.
The hotel is in a great position and the bus stops right outside. All of this, plus you are in Monte Carlo ! The Casino, Palace, Harbour, etc are all within easy reach. If you are looking for a relaxing break with luxury accommodation then the Meridien Plaza ticks all of the boxes. We can`t wait to go back next year ! ! !

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeamMonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.2 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,607 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,280 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Beach Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Beach Plaza

Property: Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Address: 22 Ave Princesse Grace, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Phone Number:
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Beach Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Monte-Carlo, Le Méridien Beach Plaza is the only hotel with a private beach with direct access in Monaco. Le Méridien Beach Plaza offers limitless possibilities to explore the city of Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Beach Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Beach Plaza Hotel Monte-Carlo
Meridien Monte Carlo
Le Meridien Monte-Carlo
Monte-Carlo Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing