We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but that's it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The Ambassador is in need of a facelift. It's in a great location-just a short walk to the centre, supermarket, Fontvielle area, and train station, but it is tired and not particularly clean. I stayed in a double room overlooking the street, which can get busy. There is a lot of construction going on across the street and it can get noisy. The room was pretty small, with laminate flooring. The room was serviced every day, but there was still body hair left each day from many previous occupants on the floor. The bathroom was the same. The beds were very cheap, with arched mattresses.

There is no shower door/curtain over the bath, and water inevitably soaks the floor. They constantly have issues with water leaking through floors, and down to other levels.

The breakfast is one of the poorest I've encountered. Everything is cheap and tastes it! I usually didn't bother.Even the coffee was poor.

Having been so negative, this hotel is in a great location, and is very reasonable, considering the location and can be a good base for a short trip to the area. You get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the main street
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ed b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IIT, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ambassador Monaco, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Sir, many thanks for having taken the time to write your review, many of the negative things you have wrote about, have been improved, some others we will do it shortly. The building works will finish shortly and the area will become really nice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ambassador Monaco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Not really wath you expect in Monaco, and for this price, a little tired. Staff was good, breakfast was OK. Quality of bed and shower could be better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling-engineer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IIT, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ambassador Monaco, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear Madam, Sir,
many thanks for your review, we apreciate you're satisfied and we are working on improving our rooms, they will be better very shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The hotel looked nice as we entered but our room was a bit tatty and overlooked a building site. The location was at the top of a hill so beware if you cannot walk far. The staff were efficient but not very friendly. The breakfast was nice but nothing special. However all this pales when you walk down to the harbour and look back up at the scenery!!!! Planning another visit to Monte Carlo but will definately stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lipgloss26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IIT, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ambassador Monaco, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

Dear Sir, I'm deaply sorry you were a bit disappointed for the view, shortly all this willbe finished. We are also plannig some new furnishing, in the next few months. Concerning the location, we are at the begging of the hill, the top is higher where you'll find the exotic gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We arrived early and our room wasn't ready. There was a suite ready so we got upgraded! Very nice room and we found the staff helpful but not overly friendly.

Room Tip: i don't think any of the rooms have a decent view
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte-Marc v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IIT, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ambassador Monaco, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

Many thanks for your review, we are very pleased you're satisfied even if for part of the staff, was on his first experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Small boxy room, dingy and not clean. Expensive and bad service. Never again!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edward053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IIT, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ambassador Monaco, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Dear Sir, honestly I find this very hard to beleive, may be something went wrong with your sojourn, but not so drastic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Terrible stay in Hotel Ambassador! The room was disgusting, dirty, old and overpriced! The service was terrible, the attitude of the staff disgusting, an overall horrible experience! We were staying on business and all we were after was a comfortable stay in a clean hotel for the night. Instead we got a slap in the face with a wet kipper and for 170 EURO! The buffet breakfast was non existant and if you are thinking of planning to stay here....dont bother!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jess e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IIT, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ambassador Monaco, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Dear Madam, Sir, many thanks for your reply, but it doesn't look like you stayed in the same hotel as per other guest very satisfied of our service. How ever we are improving a lot our product and refurbishing the rooms, so very shortly if you wish to give us another chance, I'm sure you'll be satisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Checked out of this hotel only yesterday. Location is good with it being close to the train station and cafes.
The room we stayed in was clean and big enough for us. The hotel has free wifi but that's really the only upside.
The breakfast lacks and the staff are pretty rude also, the aircon doesn't really work very well and you have to wait ages for the hot water to come on.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livelife88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.4 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,165 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador Monaco

Address: 10 Avenue Prince Pierre, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Price Range: £111 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassador Monaco 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ambassador Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Monaco Hotel
Ambassador Monaco Monte Carlo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing