We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Reviewed 21 March 2012

You come into the lobby and you think, mmm nice and modern. But when you go up to your room the dissapointment starts. Rooms are old fashion, bathroom is basic and old and there is a lot of noice from your neighbours.
The hotel mentions breakfast till 10:30am. We arrived at 10:10am and there was almost nothing left. When we asked the waitress (italian lady who almost didn't speak french or english) said in a very unpleasant way, too late nothing left. And there you go for your rate with breakfast included ...
There are much nicer hotels in Monaco for the same price!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
8  Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IIT, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ambassador Monaco, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Madam Rivert,

Above all we thank you for your review and we apologise for our waitress behavior .

After verification, you came to have breakfast a little bit later it was about 10:20 am
( 10 minutes prior the end of the Breakfast )
which doesn't excuse her lack of professionalism, you should have informed the reception desk of her behavoir a solution would have been found in the moment .

We have notes your remark on our rooms but as you have very well made noted we have refursbished the hotel, you have seen that the rooms was exactly the same as those that you have seen on the web site before booking with us .

Our aim is to satisfy all our guest, all remarques are taken in consideration
We just find it a pity that you did not inform us of the situation on the first night
made us part of your dissappointement and just let us know 1 week later .

We would have taken the right measures imediately to assure that your stay would be
as pleasant as possible.

We hope to welcoming you again in the futur, so you may see our professionalism and
improvements.

Best regards

Dulce Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

This hotel is ways too expensive for what it is. In a typical Monaco fashion, the Hotel Ambassador charges you premium rates for a losy service:
- rooms are rather small
- Internet connection is free but does hardly work
- the hotel is very noisy (you have the choice between a street facing room, with traffic noises from 6AM or a room at the back, where you hear the elevator's machinery making very loud noises every time it is used)
- the breakfast is below any decency standard
In a nutshell, this is a hotel that must be avoided at all costs

Room Tip: If you cannot avoid this terrible hotel, the choose your poison: street view with traffic noise or b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IIT, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ambassador Monaco, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for your review. We are really surprised of your dissapointment, and it was a real shame that you didn't make us part of it when you were staying, we could have certantly done something to improve your sojourn. Rooms are not all the same, some of them are not noisy at all, and however Monaco is a busy town during the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This hotel was so bad,we actually checked out next day and switched to another.Basically,what other discerning travellers have said,very old worn rooms etc,ours was particularly small and noisy from road noise.We went for a nightcap before bed,and as others have mentioned,the staff at the bar were plain surly.I agree with other travellers in that this is without doubt the worst breakfast I have ever seen.The little that was available,was of the poorest quality.Just horrible,almost put me right off Monaco.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GillianLima_Peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IIT, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ambassador Monaco, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Guest, we wish to thank you for your review, even if, belonging to your experience, it's not a good one. However we take advantage of this to improve our service. A lot has been done already since your last sojourn, the rooms have been improved and the building works have almost finished. We hope that, for your next travel in Monaco you'll come back and see how things have changed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

The lobby looks modern and stylish, but the rest of the hotel has gone to seed a bit. The carpets and the bathroom fittings were a bit tatty. But, it's good value and clean. Breakfast is basic, but OK.
The location is good. A tip, if you're arriving by train - at the far end of platform C there is another exit from the station which is connected by moving walkways to an exit very close to the hotel - sorry, can't remember the name, but you get off after riding two moving walkways.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IIT, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ambassador Monaco, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for your review, our aim is to satisfy our guests, and it's a pleasure when we read, that they are. Concerning the exit from the Train Station, the name is "Fontvieille".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We went down in december to Monaco for a short trip to get a little bit mediterranean december sun, so we looked for a hotel just a few days before our trip.
We booked a room in the Abassador, but after reading the revieous here I must admit
that I was a bit anxious of what we would encounter.

The welcome was ok, staff was friendly, no problem with first getting a look at the room.
Yes, the hotel is in need of a facelift, but all in all the service is absolutely ok for the price.
The rooms are clean, the breakfeast was simple but ok and is included in the price.

All in all we had a nice stay there and would return without hesitating.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IIT, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ambassador Monaco, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel. It's nice to hear you were satisfied, we have made more improvements inb the mean time, so we hope yo'll enjoy even more next time you would visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The Ambassador is in need of a facelift. It's in a great location-just a short walk to the centre, supermarket, Fontvielle area, and train station, but it is tired and not particularly clean. I stayed in a double room overlooking the street, which can get busy. There is a lot of construction going on across the street and it can get noisy. The room was pretty small, with laminate flooring. The room was serviced every day, but there was still body hair left each day from many previous occupants on the floor. The bathroom was the same. The beds were very cheap, with arched mattresses.

There is no shower door/curtain over the bath, and water inevitably soaks the floor. They constantly have issues with water leaking through floors, and down to other levels.

The breakfast is one of the poorest I've encountered. Everything is cheap and tastes it! I usually didn't bother.Even the coffee was poor.

Having been so negative, this hotel is in a great location, and is very reasonable, considering the location and can be a good base for a short trip to the area. You get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ed b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IIT, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ambassador Monaco, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Sir, many thanks for having taken the time to write your review, many of the negative things you have wrote about, have been improved, some others we will do it shortly. The building works will finish shortly and the area will become really nice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Not really wath you expect in Monaco, and for this price, a little tired. Staff was good, breakfast was OK. Quality of bed and shower could be better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling-engineer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IIT, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ambassador Monaco, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear Madam, Sir,
many thanks for your review, we apreciate you're satisfied and we are working on improving our rooms, they will be better very shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,362 reviews
1.5 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,760 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,422 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel De Paris
Hotel De Paris
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador Monaco

Address: 10 Avenue Prince Pierre, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Price Range: £99 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassador Monaco 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ambassador Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Monaco Hotel
Ambassador Monaco Monte Carlo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing