We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It sucks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It sucks”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

1. Room #14 is right next 2 construction. Sitting in bathroom u can pass tools to construction workers. That close.
2. Mold in shower stall. No bathtub.
3. No bellhop.
4. Not near anything.
5. Mattress on slats. A piece of foam rubber 3 inches thick.
6. Non working room safe.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slotmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    141
    100
    45
    35
See reviews for
44
169
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

This is a bad hotel, jaccuzi was not working therefore you cannot have a shower nor a bath. Bathroom tiles were all broken. Electricity plugs not working. One of the lamps was not working. Breakfast was tasteless. All in all, this hotel is very expansive for what it is. The only good point is the location, right next to the palais princier.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ambassador Monaco, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for your reviews even if you didn't appreciate the upgraded room, free of any extra charges. But I'm sorry that you're not able to use the shower and the bathtub, especially that all other guests having been upgraded in this room were very satisfied and didn't complaint for anything. It's a pitty you didn't ask to the receptionist to show how it works the shower and even the plugs and the lamps, because for some of them you must switch a bottom at the entrance. While breakfast is also free, offered with the price of the room, and it's a full cold buffet breakfast.......therefore, for us, the price you payed it was worth the money..........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monte-Carlo hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We found the staff pleasant and helpful...breakfast was fine. Room was a decent size for the price although the bed was VERY uncomfortable. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

You come into the lobby and you think, mmm nice and modern. But when you go up to your room the dissapointment starts. Rooms are old fashion, bathroom is basic and old and there is a lot of noice from your neighbours.
The hotel mentions breakfast till 10:30am. We arrived at 10:10am and there was almost nothing left. When we asked the waitress (italian lady who almost didn't speak french or english) said in a very unpleasant way, too late nothing left. And there you go for your rate with breakfast included ...
There are much nicer hotels in Monaco for the same price!

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IIT, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ambassador Monaco, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Madam Rivert,

Above all we thank you for your review and we apologise for our waitress behavior .

After verification, you came to have breakfast a little bit later it was about 10:20 am
( 10 minutes prior the end of the Breakfast )
which doesn't excuse her lack of professionalism, you should have informed the reception desk of her behavoir a solution would have been found in the moment .

We have notes your remark on our rooms but as you have very well made noted we have refursbished the hotel, you have seen that the rooms was exactly the same as those that you have seen on the web site before booking with us .

Our aim is to satisfy all our guest, all remarques are taken in consideration
We just find it a pity that you did not inform us of the situation on the first night
made us part of your dissappointement and just let us know 1 week later .

We would have taken the right measures imediately to assure that your stay would be
as pleasant as possible.

We hope to welcoming you again in the futur, so you may see our professionalism and
improvements.

Best regards

Dulce Dias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

This hotel is ways too expensive for what it is. In a typical Monaco fashion, the Hotel Ambassador charges you premium rates for a losy service:
- rooms are rather small
- Internet connection is free but does hardly work
- the hotel is very noisy (you have the choice between a street facing room, with traffic noises from 6AM or a room at the back, where you hear the elevator's machinery making very loud noises every time it is used)
- the breakfast is below any decency standard
In a nutshell, this is a hotel that must be avoided at all costs

Room Tip: If you cannot avoid this terrible hotel, the choose your poison: street view with traffic noise or b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IIT, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ambassador Monaco, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Guest, many thanks for your review. We are really surprised of your dissapointment, and it was a real shame that you didn't make us part of it when you were staying, we could have certantly done something to improve your sojourn. Rooms are not all the same, some of them are not noisy at all, and however Monaco is a busy town during the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

This hotel was so bad,we actually checked out next day and switched to another.Basically,what other discerning travellers have said,very old worn rooms etc,ours was particularly small and noisy from road noise.We went for a nightcap before bed,and as others have mentioned,the staff at the bar were plain surly.I agree with other travellers in that this is without doubt the worst breakfast I have ever seen.The little that was available,was of the poorest quality.Just horrible,almost put me right off Monaco.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GillianLima_Peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IIT, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ambassador Monaco, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Guest, we wish to thank you for your review, even if, belonging to your experience, it's not a good one. However we take advantage of this to improve our service. A lot has been done already since your last sojourn, the rooms have been improved and the building works have almost finished. We hope that, for your next travel in Monaco you'll come back and see how things have changed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

The lobby looks modern and stylish, but the rest of the hotel has gone to seed a bit. The carpets and the bathroom fittings were a bit tatty. But, it's good value and clean. Breakfast is basic, but OK.
The location is good. A tip, if you're arriving by train - at the far end of platform C there is another exit from the station which is connected by moving walkways to an exit very close to the hotel - sorry, can't remember the name, but you get off after riding two moving walkways.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IIT, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ambassador Monaco, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Guest, many thanks for your review, our aim is to satisfy our guests, and it's a pleasure when we read, that they are. Concerning the exit from the Train Station, the name is "Fontvieille".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
0.4 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador Monaco

Property: Hotel Ambassador Monaco
Address: 10 Avenue Prince Pierre, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassador Monaco 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ambassador Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Monaco Hotel
Ambassador Monaco Monte Carlo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing