We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service and amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Estonia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, great service and amazing views”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We arrived prior to the chek-in time and the staff was very helpful in organising us a room. It was clean, luxorious, spacious. We only were there for one night but left with a certain wish to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zelen200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColumbusHotelManager, Directeur général at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 14 May 2016
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your point of view on our hotel. We are really very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Columbus. We have forwarded your appreciation to all concerned staff and hope to you see back to Columbus in the near future. Best regards. Bastien Anouil – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    535
    176
    62
    27
See reviews for
178
583
53
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

A most charming hotel, clean rooms and large balcony overlooking Princess Grace's Rose Garden. All facilities to high standard, clean and luxurious. The hotel is situated away from the main casino and harbour area, but it's only a 10-15 minute walk. As such there is not so much traffic and tourists. If you like quality and a quieter location, then this is it. Also, if you're into F1, this hotel is co owned by David Coultard and the Red Bull team and other reqularly stay here during the race weekend. My only grumble would be that it would be nice if breakfast was included in the price. Would stay here every time when returning to Monaco.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fimpsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColumbusHotelManager, Directeur général at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 14 May 2016
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your point of view on our hotel. We are really very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Columbus. We hope to you see back to Columbus in the near future. Best regards. Bastien Anouil – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a week a couple of weeks ago and absolutely loved it. Monaco is such a beautiful place and I would recommend it to anyone who wanted a cultural, relaxing and stunning holiday. The hotel is based right near many transport links and near many amenities such as a supermarket and pharmacies. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and one day we asked the consierge which bus to take to the beach and they drove us there instead which we thought was so helpful and kind of them. I would definitely recommend this hotel, it's so clean, amazing views from the room windows and had no complaints at all.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirst14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColumbusHotelManager, Directeur général at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 14 May 2016
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your point of view on our hotel. We are really very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Columbus. We have forwarded your appreciation to all concerned staff and hope to you see back to Columbus in the near future. Best regards. Bastien Anouil – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Absolutely great hotel which my wife and I stayed in for my birthday. Great service and breakfast. Great spot right by the grace Rose garden. All within walking distance of the harbour. Hotel package even included free helicopter transfer to nice airport.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrensale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColumbusHotelManager, Directeur général at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 14 May 2016
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your point of view on your stay. That will give our future visitors a good insight into the hotel . We have forwarded your appreciation to our team and hope to you see back to Columbus in the near future. Best regards. Bastien Anouil – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beeston, Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I booked the city trip through Thomas Cook, as a special 50th birthday present for my wife. It was a very good deal with 3 nights at the hotel on a bed and breakfast basis, flights and helicopter taxi to and from the airport.
The hotel itself was pretty good. Modern, without being too over the top or space age. We had a well proportioned room and with a balcony looking out onto the gardens. The only problem was that the hotel is very close to the heliport, which meant a lot of noise about every half an hour, if you had the patio door open. This of course doesn't go on in the evening, so it shouldn't spoil your sleep. And the bed was fairly comfortable, albeit the pillows a little flat. One omission, which greatly surprised us, was that there were no tea making facilities in the room. We've stayed in modest B&B's, but even there you get a kettle and a few tea bags. One plus point for the hotel though is that basic Wi-Fi Internet is free.

The breakfast on offer each morning was quite good, with a wide selection of cereals, fruit, meats and bread. But strangely no toast. A cooked breakfast was available at extra cost. E.g, scrambled eggs on toast £7.
It isn't far to walk to the shops and a fairly large Carrefour is there, where you could stock up on essentials for a reasonable cost. Although being Monte Carlo, some prices were quite shocking. But a lot of grocery prices were on par with the UK.

The second evening we thought we would eat at the hotel. Unfortunately there wasn't anything on the menu that we both fancied, so we went to see what else was open. I had done a quick Google search of eateries in the area and found the Ship and Castle was close by. The meals there were adequate, but probably twice the price as what you would pay here for basic pub grub.
The best thing we did was to sit outside the Cafe de Paris in the sun and watch the world and lots of exciting cars go by. We also went to ArtMonaco, which was fun and interesting to see all the diverse work on show.
We will probably go back to Monaco in the autumn, and may stay at the Columbus again. Although next time I'll try and get a room the furthest away from the heliport.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gailsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColumbusHotelManager, Directeur général at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 14 May 2016
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your point of view on your stay. We have forwarded your appreciation to our team and hope to you see back to Columbus in the near future. Best regards. Bastien Anouil – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

After much deliberation I decided for my partners 30th birthday we would push the boat out and take a trip to Monaco. I'd heard that it's quite expensive but when I searched the Internet I found the colombus hotel at a very reasonable price. Upon arrival there seemed to be a little confusion at reception but after we filled our details in we were given the card to our room. It was the first time I've been to a hotel of such a high standard and it was a little confusing that upon arrival your first contact is at the concierge desk who take your bags and then you proceed up a flight of stairs to check in. Any way we found our room to be of a high standard and very clean. Breakfast was again of a high standard and some of the a la carte items were very reasonably priced. The poached eggs on toast with bacon were the best we found. Throughout the rest of our stay the staff were always friendly and couldnt do enough to help us enjoy our stay. The free shuttle was very useful but most of the time we opted to walk to enjoy the lovely scenery. The hotel is about 10 mins walk to the centre of Monaco (port hercule) and if you take the scenic route via port de fontveille it takes a little longer. Monaco is a beautiful and interesting place to visit and the 4 days we stayed felt the right amount of time to stay to enjoy this wonderful and exciting place. When it was time to leave check out was easy and the heliport was less than a five minuite walk from the hotel (it's right next door!). In summary I would visit the hotel again and the food, service and facilities were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deano32hil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColumbusHotelManager, Directeur général at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 14 May 2016
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your point of view on your stay. That will give our future visitors a good insight into the hotel . We have forwarded your appreciation to our team and hope to you see back to Columbus in the near future. Best regards. Bastien Anouil – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

I recommend a visit to the hotel bar at off-peak hours and to order only the dry martinis.
===
We were a group of three who had been to the Circus Festival held just next door to the hotel. We had mojitos and dry martinis.
The dry martini was probably the best I have had in a bar (and I have tried a few - only the ones in N.Y., NY are better).
The mojito was perhaps, on the other hand, one of the worst.
The service of the first round was quick and efficient. The drinks arrived within five minutes.
By the time we were ready for a second round the bar had filled up and it was hopelessly understaffed.
After 20 minutes we decided to pay and leave, by which time the waiter had turned very unfriendly (probably due to stress).

Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nils1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte-Carlo
0.8 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,146 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,641 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
#10 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
1.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Monte-Carlo

Property: Columbus Monte-Carlo
Address: 23 Avenue des Papalins, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#2 Green Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbus Monte-Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Rosegarden dedicated to Princess Grace, close to the heliport with easy access to the Old town and the Casino square the Columbus offers 181 rooms including 53 Classic and 100 Deluxes with balcony or terrace - 14 Juniors Suites & 13 Suites Seaview - 1 Top Floor Apartment - Soundproofed and individually controlled air conditioning - Flat Screen TV- international channels Free High speed Wifi access both in rooms and public areas. Parking spaces under the hotel with valet service. Conciergerie - free shuttle bus within Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Columbus Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Monte-Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Hotel Columbus Monaco
Columbus Monaco Fontvieille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing