We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, english trend and cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Belgium
Level Contributor
207 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, english trend and cosy”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Nice hotel and warm welcome from the staff. My first stay in this hotel and I would like to thank Mr Bastien Anouil for his patience and disponibilty. It was really pleasant to stay in this hotel of Fontvieille!
With a room facing the mediteranean sea, you can enjoy a nice view. The room will offer you flat screen, mini bar, one or two queen size beds. (Depending on the room type)
A good advise for a good sleep quality : try to have a king size bed or maybe twin beds! Ours was a queen size bed but too narrow for 2...)
The restaurant on site is nice and the quality of food is ok, the breakfast can be taken on the terrace but I found it to expensive (more than 25EUR/PP) as well as the parking (26EUR/24h)
We didn't try the pool (not heated) but depending on the season it can be a nice moment after a whole day in Monaco.
The hotel also provides a free shuttle to the casino with a regular rotation.

Room Tip: Ask for a king size bed or twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliveerpent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to send your comments to Tripadvisor. We have forwarded your kind appreciation to Mr Anouil and are sincerely pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. As for the rates, we can only mention that unfortunately this is the general average cost of the parking places in Monaco (probably the lack of space for parking!) and we have taken good notice of your comment about the breakfast. with kind regards, C.Drollet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    519
    168
    58
    25
See reviews for
170
562
52
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Just returned from a business trip and stayed here for 2 nights. Been before and can't really think of any grumbles unless you want to sleep during the day - in which case ensure you don't get a room facing the heliport as it's very noisy and annoying.

Apparently my room was a basic double but it was a great size and with a balcony.

Whether business or pleasure this hotel is perfect for a short stay in MC. I did not get any pool time but it looked nice - although someone did tell me it's not just dedicated to the hotel but local residents can use it so don't know how crowded it gets.

Staff were polite and efficient and helpful for giving local directions and advice.

The safe didn't work in my room (key '5' didn't register) but I didn't care.

Would be nice if there was some complimentary water bottles in the room ...

Room Tip: As far away from the heliport as possible !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmuffyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind appreciations and comments. Very nice from you to mention all the positive points. Fortunately the helicopters do not fly at night. We do hope to welcome you again in the near future and as regular guest, then you will be rated as VIP 2 and therefore get a special welcome and the wished complimenty bottle of water ! Best regards. C. Drollet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I stayed in a Junior Suite with my girlfriend.
The hotel was not easy to find while driving car as there were a lot of road constructions going on but once you arrive, it was easy to spot and it was at good location.
The valet service guy was very helpful and kind. He was a bit old, gentle french man. The other young staff were not so kind. While I was outside waiting for my car to arrive, I saw different customers being served with different attitudes and efforts depending on the looks of car and what sort of member you are.. Nevertheless, the old gentleman was kind to everyone.

The room was okay. View was very good but it was quite small for what you call a suite.
However you get everything you need. The sofa was very comfortable.
Receptionists were helpful and kind but looked a bit stressed as it was very very busy.
Another receptionist downstairs who helps you with booking taxi, guide on maps was very helpful.
I think everything was around 4 star level.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnky90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Dear Guest, We thank you for your kind appreciation and comments about the Columbus services and staff. We have passed onto our Chief concierge the comments concerning the different attitudes with the guests/cars you have witnessed as this is not how the bagagists/valets should handle their duties. Just a little note to confirm we are 3stars, no 4star hotel, but we are very pleased to see that your perception was 4star level. C. Drollet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Been there one night only, room clean with a nice balcony, bathroom nice, king size bed perfect. 2 am we were not able to access our room as the keys are remote and battery of the room was dead. Receptionist tried to open it. Hotel was fully booked so he gave us a top floor suite. Large, made of two separate rooms with two separate balconies one in the day area the other in the bedroom area. Large bathroom with separate bathtub and shower. Excellent although i do not know the price. Two flaws: eliport is not far and the traffic starts early. Taxis in Montecarlo on saturday night are impossible to find so is highly reccomended to have a car in order to avoid steepy walks home. i did not see the pool.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afrikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Guest, Many thanks for having taken the time to forward your comments and appreciation on Columbus. We do apologize for the problem encountered with the door key. The system has been implemented only a few weeks ago and we still need to bring some technical adjustment, we actively work on this with the supplier. As for the taxi problem, we have a free shuttle service to drive the guests downtown and depending on the time of the evening, to bring them back to the hotel. Best regards. C.Drollet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Arrived Friday evening after our flight was delayed. Hotel staff very warm and concierge could not do enough for us. Hotel was in need of a refresh of paint! Had a delux room but was in no way a delux standard. Balcony was small but had a nice view. Main concern was as it was out of season room service finished at 10.30pm and there was NO FOOD available which after a delayed flight was very disappointing so we had to go out of the Hotel and all we could find nearby was Macdonalds!! So please make sure if you are arriving after 10.30pm eat before you arrive as you will not be able to get anything from the Hotel!!
Beds were very comfy and the room was clean. Good location to get aroung Monaco and the Bus stop to Nice airport is a 2 minute walk.

Room Tip: Higher floors have excellent view of sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dusty078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind appreciation of our staff and service. We have taken into account your comments regarding the room service, unfortunately this service is discontinued during the medium or low season. This service is not mandatory for a 3star hotel even if we appreciate this is a plus for our clientele. Kind regards. C.Drollet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

second time of visiting this hotel, breakfast has vastly improved and newly decorated entrance and lobby is magnificent. rooms need a bit tlc but dont let this put you off this hotel. beds are comfy, view excellent and staff are very helpful. if you like a wee bit walking this is the hotel to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilson055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to forward your comments onto Tripadvisor. We are pleased to see that the improvements recently brought to the service in the restaurant and the decoration in the lobby have met your approval. We are still working on a constant renovation in the rooms and hope to welcome you in the not too distant future to check our efforts. Kind regards. C.Drollet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I spent only one night here and I loved the stylish decor, the superior service, and the lavish breakfast buffet.
The swimming pool is in common with other buildings surrounding the hotel. It is overcrowded, and was in full shade at 6 p.m. (August). You have more chances to hit the jackpot at the casino than finding a chaise longue here.
The rooms are elegant and everything works perfectly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear Guest, We thank you for taking the time to give your appreciation. The pool is indeed very popular during the Summer, especially in August and we are sorry that you had to struggle to get a space. Depending on your vacation possibilities, we can suggest that July or September are great months to visit us with a less crowded pool. At the moment we enjoy 28° temperature. Kind regards C. Drollet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,085 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,580 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,303 reviews
0.7 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
#10 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Monte-Carlo

Property: Columbus Monte-Carlo
Address: 23 Avenue des Papalins, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#2 Green Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbus Monte-Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Rosegarden dedicated to Princess Grace, close to the heliport with easy access to the Old town and the Casino square the Columbus offers 181 rooms including 53 Classic and 100 Deluxes with balcony or terrace - 14 Juniors Suites & 13 Suites Seaview - 1 Top Floor Apartment - Soundproofed and individually controlled air conditioning - Flat Screen TV- international channels Free High speed Wifi access both in rooms and public areas. Parking spaces under the hotel with valet service. Conciergerie - Beauty salon and free shuttle bus within Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Columbus Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Monte-Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Hotel Columbus Monaco
Columbus Monaco Fontvieille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing