We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, needs refurbishing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Monterey, CA
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, needs refurbishing.”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Hotel is modern but room definitely needs refurbishment. Carpet was threadbare and should be replaced. I felt like hotel was riding on block bookings from cruise lines.
Bed was ok, room was small and very noisy ( with window open) at night. Location not prime to downtown area but good to large yacht harbor. Can be very difficult to find if you are driving, even with directions. Be sure to bring a map if you're driving. Restaurant was nice, staff hospitable and food quality was good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveljunkie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Guest. Many thanks for forwarding your comments. We appreciate your appreciation on our service and staff. We are sorry to hear that you did not get a nicest room., probably a Classic one, although we are surprised by the noise you mention, as the area is generally known as quiet . We have a regular renovation schedule for the rooms carpets and the public areas have already been changed, and we are aware that some of our room carpets are worn indeed. with best regards. C. Drollet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    534
    176
    62
    27
See reviews for
178
582
53
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A very pleasant hotel, with very good bedroom and facilities. Excellent breakfasts and a very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel may seem a little way from the centre of Monaco, but a regular bus service is just around the corner enabling easy access to all parts of the Principality. The only problem we had during our short stay at the beginning of March was that the dining area was closed for refurbishment, meaning that we had to find other places for our evening meals.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TauntonTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Guest. Many thanks for your kind comments and for taking the time to forwarding them. It is very useful for our future guests. with best regards. C. Drollet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This hotel is very nice and is of good quality. Comfortable room and the one I was in had a sea view. The bathroom was fine although not a full length one was fine for me. Restaurant food was of very good quality, however was limited choice if staying for more than a few days.
Good breakfast.
Bar prices rather high.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JockEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guest, Many thanks for sending your detailed comments which will be very helfpul for our future visitors. We have a menu with different choices which change once a week, together with a carte based on the seasonal products and also a different daily dish every day, so it's a quite a large choice offered to our guests. We have a large Corporate and local attendance who work/lives near the hotel and they expect to have a choice of dishes. With kind regards. C. Drollet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We are there for my wife birthday last year, this was the 2nd time we had booked at this hotel, upon being seated there were a number of "lads" drinking on the terrace, they became louder then one of the party pulled down the shorts of another exposing him to all the dinners, only after calling to the "manager" was any thing done. After writing to them and CC in the owner I was emailed back "thanking me" for my in put with an apology. BUT they party of men should never have been served alcohol when they were this rowdy

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toffee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guest. We do recall this incident which happened last summer and can only apologize again for this bad experience. It is really difficult to refuse serving some guests on the terrace even if they seem to have already drunk before, we can only make sure they don't shout too loud and disturb the other guests. We will make sure this does not happen again this summer when the guests stay longer outside. Thank you for sending your comment, it's a shame that this incident spoiled your stay and remain in your memory such a long time after. C. Drollet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Our stay was ok but certainly not spectacular by any means. Good points, the bed was very comfortable, and the concierge was helpful. On the downside the receptionists that greeted us didn't know how to smile! The bathroom in our junior suite was something more akin to a shabby two star hotel. The bath was very small and the decor bland. The bathrobes for men were fine if you are exceptionally slim!!! The breakfast was mediocre although the restaurant staff very polite. Don't arrive for breakfast one minute late as you won't get in! Overall it was ok, but nothing more and we won't be returning!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elle123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear that overall your stay at Columbus was not as comfortable and enjoyable as you expected. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the Concierge and the bfast staff. We are very surprised to hear about the poor level of our breakfast buffet, but we have nevertheless pass onto our F&B Manager your appreciations. We apologize for the lack of smile at the reception which does not reflect the usual staff attitude as you can find out with the other guests listed on Tripadvisor. You can be assured this will be dealt with. Thank you for forwarding your comments which enable us to adjust the services provided and find out our weaknesses. C. Drollet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marske U.k.
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stay at this hotel three to four times a year (Since 2008) and can honestly say that I never have had a bad experience. Some people, especially over the last five years or so expect too much for the price they are paying. The Columbus is not 5 star, however I would rate it as a very good four star. One cannot expect the same level of luxury or cuisine as for example The Metropole or Hotel De Paris. These hotels offer the very best in Monaco but this is reflected in their tariffs. Expect to pay 400 Euros upwards per night for a basic room. For me personally I feel comfortable at The Columbus. All staff are very helpful without being too overpowering. This can sometimes, but not always,be the case at some 5 star establishments. The Columbus is clean and functional and rooms with balconies offer lovely views of The Med or well cared for gardens..very relaxing. Breakfast is very good and can be taken inside or outside on a quiet terrace. I understand that the hotel has recently changed ownership and this may bring forward a refurbishment. That said, the property is far from run down as some reviews suggest. A few 'lived in' rooms do not make a bad hotel ! Keep up the good work Columbus ! Look forward to seeing you all in May !

Room Tip: Try for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookieMarskeU_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Guest, Whaooh ! we can only thank you very much for your very kind and long appreciative comments. We are definitively granting you an award for being the Best Columbus Fan on Tripadvisor. Hopefully we will be able to recognize you on your next visit to Columbus to thank you personaly. with kindest regards. The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and could not fault the staff. Great location. Breakfast good. Drinks in hotel expensive. Would definitelyreturn.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevAngla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Guest, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Columbus and the staff attitude. We have forwarded your comment about the drinks to our F&B Director, but within the area, our price list seem reasonable compared to the competition. Nevertheless, we thank you for your remarks as all comments are valuable to us. with kind regards. C. Drollet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte-Carlo
0.8 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,145 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,639 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
#10 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
1.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Monte-Carlo

Property: Columbus Monte-Carlo
Address: 23 Avenue des Papalins, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#2 Green Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbus Monte-Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Rosegarden dedicated to Princess Grace, close to the heliport with easy access to the Old town and the Casino square the Columbus offers 181 rooms including 53 Classic and 100 Deluxes with balcony or terrace - 14 Juniors Suites & 13 Suites Seaview - 1 Top Floor Apartment - Soundproofed and individually controlled air conditioning - Flat Screen TV- international channels Free High speed Wifi access both in rooms and public areas. Parking spaces under the hotel with valet service. Conciergerie - free shuttle bus within Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Columbus Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Monte-Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Hotel Columbus Monaco
Columbus Monaco Fontvieille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing