We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 May 2012

When we arrived here we were extremely frazzled from the drive from Tuscany, and mostly from the traffic in Monaco a few weeks before the Grand Prix. Our GPS did not work very well because a lot of the roads there are underground and cross under other roads and some roads were blocked off! So when we got there and there was a very kind concierge ready to open my car door, take my luggage and park our car, we felt instantly less stressed!
Our room was decent, with a view of the sea and the pool, and the wifi is good. We knew it wasn't in the centre of town, so we were happy to take the walk to the casino and the 'James Bond' area of Monaco. The senior concierge was very knowledgeable of the places to visit and very helpful. I have to say though, that the name of this hotel should not include 'Monte Carlo' as it is not in Monte Carlo! Monte Carlo is a part of Monaco, the fanciest part with the casino and Hotel de Paris and all that, and it's not near there at all. It is at least a 20 minute walk from the hotel, or you can take one of the busses which are excellent and only 1 euro per person.
I agree with other reviewers that this hotel is a little bit worn, but considering the prices in Monaco its room rate is more than reasonable! We found it a comfortable stay for a night in Monaco.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel with a view of the sea. There is a helipad nearby and the ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlorenceNulens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColumbusHotelManager, Directeur général at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2016

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your point of view on our hotel. We are really very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Columbus. We have forwarded your appreciation to all concerned staff and hope to you see back to Columbus in the near future. Best regards. Bastien Anouil – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

681 - 687 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

Hotel is modern but room definitely needs refurbishment. Carpet was threadbare and should be replaced. I felt like hotel was riding on block bookings from cruise lines.
Bed was ok, room was small and very noisy ( with window open) at night. Location not prime to downtown area but good to large yacht harbor. Can be very difficult to find if you are driving, even with directions. Be sure to bring a map if you're driving. Restaurant was nice, staff hospitable and food quality was good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveljunkie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Guest. Many thanks for forwarding your comments. We appreciate your appreciation on our service and staff. We are sorry to hear that you did not get a nicest room., probably a Classic one, although we are surprised by the noise you mention, as the area is generally known as quiet . We have a regular renovation schedule for the rooms carpets and the public areas have already been changed, and we are aware that some of our room carpets are worn indeed. with best regards. C. Drollet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A very pleasant hotel, with very good bedroom and facilities. Excellent breakfasts and a very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel may seem a little way from the centre of Monaco, but a regular bus service is just around the corner enabling easy access to all parts of the Principality. The only problem we had during our short stay at the beginning of March was that the dining area was closed for refurbishment, meaning that we had to find other places for our evening meals.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TauntonTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Guest. Many thanks for your kind comments and for taking the time to forwarding them. It is very useful for our future guests. with best regards. C. Drollet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This hotel is very nice and is of good quality. Comfortable room and the one I was in had a sea view. The bathroom was fine although not a full length one was fine for me. Restaurant food was of very good quality, however was limited choice if staying for more than a few days.
Good breakfast.
Bar prices rather high.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JockEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Guest, Many thanks for sending your detailed comments which will be very helfpul for our future visitors. We have a menu with different choices which change once a week, together with a carte based on the seasonal products and also a different daily dish every day, so it's a quite a large choice offered to our guests. We have a large Corporate and local attendance who work/lives near the hotel and they expect to have a choice of dishes. With kind regards. C. Drollet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We are there for my wife birthday last year, this was the 2nd time we had booked at this hotel, upon being seated there were a number of "lads" drinking on the terrace, they became louder then one of the party pulled down the shorts of another exposing him to all the dinners, only after calling to the "manager" was any thing done. After writing to them and CC in the owner I was emailed back "thanking me" for my in put with an apology. BUT they party of men should never have been served alcohol when they were this rowdy

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toffee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Guest. We do recall this incident which happened last summer and can only apologize again for this bad experience. It is really difficult to refuse serving some guests on the terrace even if they seem to have already drunk before, we can only make sure they don't shout too loud and disturb the other guests. We will make sure this does not happen again this summer when the guests stay longer outside. Thank you for sending your comment, it's a shame that this incident spoiled your stay and remain in your memory such a long time after. C. Drollet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Our stay was ok but certainly not spectacular by any means. Good points, the bed was very comfortable, and the concierge was helpful. On the downside the receptionists that greeted us didn't know how to smile! The bathroom in our junior suite was something more akin to a shabby two star hotel. The bath was very small and the decor bland. The bathrobes for men were fine if you are exceptionally slim!!! The breakfast was mediocre although the restaurant staff very polite. Don't arrive for breakfast one minute late as you won't get in! Overall it was ok, but nothing more and we won't be returning!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elle123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear that overall your stay at Columbus was not as comfortable and enjoyable as you expected. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the Concierge and the bfast staff. We are very surprised to hear about the poor level of our breakfast buffet, but we have nevertheless pass onto our F&B Manager your appreciations. We apologize for the lack of smile at the reception which does not reflect the usual staff attitude as you can find out with the other guests listed on Tripadvisor. You can be assured this will be dealt with. Thank you for forwarding your comments which enable us to adjust the services provided and find out our weaknesses. C. Drollet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stay at this hotel three to four times a year (Since 2008) and can honestly say that I never have had a bad experience. Some people, especially over the last five years or so expect too much for the price they are paying. The Columbus is not 5 star, however I would rate it as a very good four star. One cannot expect the same level of luxury or cuisine as for example The Metropole or Hotel De Paris. These hotels offer the very best in Monaco but this is reflected in their tariffs. Expect to pay 400 Euros upwards per night for a basic room. For me personally I feel comfortable at The Columbus. All staff are very helpful without being too overpowering. This can sometimes, but not always,be the case at some 5 star establishments. The Columbus is clean and functional and rooms with balconies offer lovely views of The Med or well cared for gardens..very relaxing. Breakfast is very good and can be taken inside or outside on a quiet terrace. I understand that the hotel has recently changed ownership and this may bring forward a refurbishment. That said, the property is far from run down as some reviews suggest. A few 'lived in' rooms do not make a bad hotel ! Keep up the good work Columbus ! Look forward to seeing you all in May !

Room Tip: Try for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CookieMarskeU_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Guest, Whaooh ! we can only thank you very much for your very kind and long appreciative comments. We are definitively granting you an award for being the Best Columbus Fan on Tripadvisor. Hopefully we will be able to recognize you on your next visit to Columbus to thank you personaly. with kindest regards. The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte-Carlo
0.8 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,191 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,731 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
#10 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Monte-Carlo

Address: 23 Avenue des Papalins, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range: £115 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbus Monte-Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Rosegarden dedicated to Princess Grace, close to the heliport with easy access to the Old town and the Casino square the Columbus offers 181 rooms including 53 Classic and 100 Deluxes with balcony or terrace - 14 Juniors Suites & 13 Suites Seaview - 1 Top Floor Apartment - Soundproofed and individually controlled air conditioning - Flat Screen TV- international channels - Free High speed Wifi access both in rooms and public areas. Conciergerie - free shuttle bus within Monaco. Secured car park with optional valet parking. Parking spaces with charging stations for electric vehicles. Parking rates per car per night: October to April €25 ; May to September €35. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Columbus Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Monte-Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Hotel Columbus Monaco
Columbus Monaco Fontvieille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing