We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The staff were great and the room was a good size with breathtaking views from the balcony. Beautiful Grace Kelly rose garden across the road and everything within walking distance. Affordable and great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Australian Guest, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the Columbus hotel as a whole. Many thanks for forwarding your kind appreciation. Enjoy the rest of your holidays. Kind regards. C. Drollet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    511
    167
    56
    25
See reviews for
167
560
50
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Booked the 2 bedroom apartment for an overnight stay in Monte Carlo after seeing the favourable reviews on Tripadvisor. The hotel was easy to find - good sign posts from the harbour. Nice to have valet parking at the price most hotels charge for regular parking. Our rooms were fantastic - clean, high quality fixtures and fittings, stylish and well laid out - a central lounge between the 2 bedrooms. The aircon was artic good and the views from the balconies excellent over the gardens and high rises into the hills. You could also see the sea and the heliport too.
My only very small critism was that there was no kettle - although you can call room service for hot water (we were charged 5 euro for 4 pots of water).
Overall - an excellent stay and good value for Monaco!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaimanCheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Guest, You probably stayed in our Aparment on the last floor which has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 3 terraces and a lounge inbetween both bedrooms. It is really a nice large Suite for a family and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of your holidays in Monaco. We have forwarded your "kettle' request to the Housekeeper, but I just like to mention that on request, you can have one in the room. With kind regards. C. Drollet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We only stayed here for one night in May and were lucky to get a free upgrade to a room with balcony. Rooms were very spacious and clean. Excellent service all around - we even got a free lift on our departure down to the train station. Its a bit of a walk to the main harbour but we didn't mind. We certainly would stay here again if we return. Great value for money!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Guest, This is very kind from you and we do appreciation your positive comments. We have forwarded onto our staff and hope to see you back to Columbus very soon. Kind regards. C.Drollet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The rooms are very spacious with a good sized balcony. The service is fantastic from arrival - concierge assist with everything imaginable which was nice. There is a nice restaurant nearby also at the marina which is walking distance. Gorgeous gardens across the road also. Highly recommended. Affordable yet spoiled in Monaco! My only criticism is the pillows were not great if you have a bad neck.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngspa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest, your very kind and detailed comments have been forwarded to the concerned department and we thank you for taking the time of forwarding them onto Tripadvisor, it is very helpful for our future visitors. Kind regards. C. Drollet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed for three nights in July.

If you are looking for a "base of operations" from which to stay at night, have some good food, and explore Monaco and the Riviera by car, I would recommend this hotel -- it is a perfect and comfortable fit for that type of travel. If you are looking for a luxury "experience" with staff and amenities befitting a St. Regis, a Ritz-Carlton, or a Four Seasons, the Columbus isn't for you. (I draw these comparisons only because the Columbus isn't a name brand.)

PLUSES:
Our room (a King Suite, Sea View) was spacious, well-decorated, modern and very clean. The bed and the pullout sofa bed were incredibly comfortable. The room had two balconies, each of which looked out over a beautiful garden and had views of the sea. The bathroom and the shower were very clean and well-appointed. The breakfast buffet is sufficient, with nice seating on a balcony. The bell staff and parking attendants were very nice and friendly, always helpful, and were exceedingly professional.

MINUSES:
The Columbus has the potential to be a much better hotel, if only the front desk staff was dedicated to improving the customer experience. I found two members of the front desk staff to not only be unhelpful, but rude. Our room service delivery was equally bad -- despite the delicious food, the delivery guy just threw the food tray on the table without even asking if we needed anything else or offering to set our places. I'm not picky about room service delivery protocol by any means, but this was pretty bad. Housekeeping did not respond to notes written about a broken lamp and dirty towels and washcloths left in the room.

OVERALL:
If you want a decent, comfortable, safe, and modern place to stay with comfortable beds, good food, and a good location, the Columbus is a safe choice.

Room Tip: Ask lots of questions in advance to make sure you are getting a room with the accommodations you nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to forward such a complete and informative comment about your stay at Columbus. We appreciate the different points (the good and the minuses ones) and we have forwarded to the concerned department so that they are taken into account. Kind regards. C. Drollet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We spent 5 days here last year's August and I can write only good things about this hotel:

I made the reservation at the hotel's webpage, and everything worked perfect.We arrived by car, and valet parking is a must.When we left, the guy packed everything into our car, better then ever we had done.I think this was a special treat for us, no other hotel provided this.

It is far from the city centre, but we used the free hotel minibus shuttle, that was perfect.and back we used the local public transport, that was ok too.

I booked deluxe room at Monte Carlo-type reasonable price and we got room on the 7th floor
( best floor of rooms, above there are suites), partially sea-park-helipad view.It was comfortable, clean.

The concierge service was effective, helpful. I had a hard pain in my arm, so I needed a doctor.The concierge asked about the type of the pain in my right arm, and called a good doctor, who fastly arrived with a BMW scooter.He visited me in our room, checked my arm and ordered medicine.The concierge showed my husband the closest pharmacy, so that night I slept good again.
The hotel has a pool, which is shared other condo's residents, so crowded, but good to dip in.

Otherwise Monaco crowded with russians who are the 1st class tourists in the shops and everywhere( in the hotel there were less russians), others can be the rest.We experienced it, and it was disappointing.

Other places to visit: Fragonard perfumery, Florian confectionery etc.

All in all the hotel was the best part of our trip.

Room Tip: ask the 7th floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enaabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest, we can only thank you very much for your detailed and appreciative comments about Columbus. We are delighted to see you were well looked after both at the conciergerie and in the other services, and although you had some health problems during your stay, it is nice to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Kind regards. C. Drollet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

Nice enough boutique hotel in a lovely residential area, but the bedroom was much smaller and more basic than anticipated (we asked for a DELUXE twin and got, in our opinion, a very standard - no frills - kingsize), but it was immaculately clean with fresh bedding and towels each day. Breakfast just ok, although staff in the restaurant very nice. Forget the courtesy bus, there was NEVER a driver available!! Buses 5 and 6 stop just round the corner. Taxis non existent in that area. Great pool tho but right beside the helipad so very, very noisy.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildchild59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Good afternoon, many thanks for taking the time to forward your comments. We appreciate your remarks concerning the shuttle bus which is a complimentary service and subject to availability and traffic timing. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Monaco. With kind regards. C. Drollet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
0.7 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
#10 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Monte-Carlo

Property: Columbus Monte-Carlo
Address: 23 Avenue des Papalins, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#2 Green Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbus Monte-Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Rosegarden dedicated to Princess Grace, close to the heliport with easy access to the Old town and the Casino square the Columbus offers 181 rooms including 53 Classic and 100 Deluxes with balcony or terrace - 14 Juniors Suites & 13 Suites Seaview - 1 Top Floor Apartment - Soundproofed and individually controlled air conditioning - Flat Screen TV- international channels Free High speed Wifi access both in rooms and public areas. Parking spaces under the hotel with valet service. Conciergerie - Beauty salon and free shuttle bus within Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Columbus Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Monte-Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Hotel Columbus Monaco
Columbus Monaco Fontvieille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing