We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Monte Carlo Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We booked a junior suite at the hotel and had e-mailed ahead to request a sea view and limosine transfer from Nice airport to the hotel.

We arrived at the airport and our chauffeur was waiting. We were whisked away to the hotel in
a very smart Mercedes car. The journey took about 25-30 minutes.

On arrival at the hotel the reception staff were polite, the booking in was smooth and efficient, we found our way to our room on the 7th floor. We had indeed been allocated a junior suite with a wonderful view across a communal garden area to the sea. The balcony overlooked the sea and was ideal for sitting outside with a glass of wine in the evening ... although this was overlooked by apartments along one side.

The room was tastefully decorated with a very modern feel. There was a complimentary bottle of red wine in the room, although there were no tea or coffee making facilities.
The room had 2 x flat screen tvs, stereo system and ironing board and iron and a mini bar in the room. However the contents of the fridge appeared to be electronically monitored
so we were unable to use it to keep our own wine cool.

There was only 1 dressing gown provided, even though there were 2 of us booked into the room. A 2nd dressing gown was provided on request.

The mattress on the bed was quite firm but still reasonably comfortable. Although we had to request softer pillows,these were provided and helped us to get a good nights’ sleep.

The tiles in the bathroom were brown in colour and when combined with the recessed ceiling lights made it all a bit dim. As others have also commented, my wife found it a bit dark to apply her make up. Perhaps additional lighting around or within the mirror would have helped. There was not a lot of space to store toiletries around the sink area.

On our penultimate day at the hotel we reported to reception that there was a defective switch on a table light and it would flicker on and off if touched or moved. It was not a major issue for us but the exposed wires could potentially have been an issue. This had not been rectified by the time we left. We requested a late check-out time as our flight back to Nice wasn't until 8.30pm. The hotel very kindly extended our time in the room without extra charge.

Breakfast was included in our package and was taken in the Bistro at the hotel. There was a selection of fruit, pastries, breads, cereals, cold meats, cheeses and preserves to choose from. We found that the hot food selection was a bit limiting as it only consisted of scrambled eggs and sausages. The fresh orange juice was fantastic ... probably the best we have ever tasted at a hotel. There was no change or variation offered to the breakfast fare throughout our 3 day stay.

The concierge service was excellent, all our requests were dealt with quickly and efficiently. We were provided with a map of the principality, we asked the way to the local supermarket and were directed to a Carrefour which was approximately a 5 minute walk away. We later asked the concierge to check on our helicopter return flight to Nice airport which was quickly sorted out for us.
We were also given information about the grand prix and advice on the bus service.

We visited the hotel bar prior to our meal at the Columbus Bistro on Saturday night. It was chic, and cosy. It had a good atmosphere and the bar staff were friendly and attentive. Two glasses of Champagne cost us 32 Euros. The restaurant had a wonderful warm ambience, the service was excellent, the staff attentive, and the food was delicious, I chose the Octopus salad followed by Turbot, my wife opted for the soup and the risotto.

There were lots of interesting restaurants along the harbour within a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. We chose to eat at Salieri's Italian. The food was delicious, they even provided us with a complimentary glass of cava prior to our anniversary dinner. After the meal they brought us a small complimentary dish of doughnuts and biscuits with dipping cream and chocolate sauce.
There is also an English style pub along the harbour front and a cafe with live jazz playing (Friday night). There was another harbour a further 10 minute walk away and there were lots of other interesting restaurants just back from the main road. We had spent time searching for a couple of restaurants mentioned on trip advisor but sadly found that 2 of them were closed (Adagio on Rue Bioves and another on Rue de Portier).

The transfer from our hotel to the heliport and then onwards to Nice went without a hitch, although with hindsight we could have easily walked the 200 metres from the hotel to the heliport. (The journey by road was slightly longer).

I would certainly recommend this Hotel as somewhere to stay in Monaco and would stay here again.

Room Tip: The hotel appeared to offer rooms with either a seaview or a view over the rose gardens. The sea vie...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tedmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Guest, we are very happy to see your comments and detailed report of your stay at Columbus and to hear you were happy with both our service and staff attitude. We thank you for having taken the time to forward such a detailed appreciation message and hope to welcome you again very soon at Columbus. With best regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,327)
There are newer reviews for Columbus Monte-Carlo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

I normally stay in the Marriot around the corner but thought I would give the Columbus a try this visit. First impressions, jaded & faded with the overpowering stench of the drains in the reception & bar. Carpets are threadbare due to heavy traffic & urgently need replaced, Elevators tired & shabby the leather panels in need of polish & oil more like an old shoe than the oppulence & lustre they probably had when new. Room on the 8th floor (804), no balcony, no veranda pretty much second rate, very tired indeed. Bathroom was quite simply awful, hair in sink & bath, shower & bath filled at the same time due to faulty shower/bath valve,,, water drained away very slowly,,, grouting full of mould, hot tap turned complete with body in the wall revealing hole in tiles. However service was good & the staff very polite,,,,, totally unimpressed with Hotel at the quality for the price being charged.

Room Tip: Try another Hotel
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Guest, we are sorry to hear you are not satisfied with our hotel and our GM has sent you a direct answer. Best regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

A small business trip don't get me wrong everything was ok, well nearly, but you just felt it should be better. Room nothing wrong at all but not luxury. Breakfast was a disaster. A French style hotel where they obviously defrost their bread by putting in oven so ends are as dry as a bone. Less choice than a UK travel inn also very little room. Strangely ate at the hotel one night and that was very good. It was a set meal but it was very good.

Very good situation you can walk round back to one of the harbours where there are some bars it is an easy walk to main town make sure you take short cut up by motor museum, which is excellent at €6:00, and then either escalators or lift to main road at top.

This hotel is greats as a business venue but will not return as a visitor

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Dear Guest, we thank you for taking the time to forward your comments onto Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear about your experience at the breakfast, although we have the feeling you are a bit rigorous, but we are happy to hear you enjoyed your dinner, our Chef has worked in different well known restaurants and hotels (Robuchon, Piege, Burgos) and the quality of its food is recognized. Also please note the Columbus is a 3 star hotel and does not pretend to be a luxury establishment. with best regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Good business hotel. Nothing remarkable, but I need to fill this box with text even though there really is nothing to say. When the basic room prices aren't mad (I've seen 100% changes from day to day) it feels less price-gouging than the well known big hotel a stone's throw away (technically in France)...

Room Tip: sea facing is generally nicer - tends to cost extra
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rupert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to forward your comments, as you put it we offer more services at a reasonable rate than a standard chain hotel located in France, although they are listed as a nearby 4 star hotel and Columbus being a 3 star hotel. Best regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I usually stay at Le Méridien Beach Plaza on my quarterly business trips to MC, but this time was encouraged by some travelling companions who were attending the same meeting to stay at the Columbus. I just didn't like it. My room overlooked the rear which is very close to the heliport and which made for very noisy accommodation. I was told it was a cool, funky hotel but i just didn't get it - and the staff were fairly surly to boot... It is in a very boring part of town, a cab ride from all the action (hence a free shuttle service), and i just felt trapped. My room was tired, has markings on the walls where furniture had rubbed against it and the bed was very uncomfortable. I was really looking forward to staying somewhere different for a change and I wish I had just stayed at Le Meridien.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Everyoneawinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Dear Guest, we are sorry you did not like the Columbus and did not enjoy your stay with us. Some of the points you are listing can be seen by other guests as some positive points, being near from the heliport is an asset for business men and usually very few guests complain about the noise, the area is quiet with a park just opposite the hotel, within walking distance from several restaurants and bars (on the Fontvieille marina), in a residential quarter and this is very often considered as an authentic area, away from the touristic crowd. We fully understand this is not your taste and choice. Best regards. Claudine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This review is long overdue. I stayed here the first weekend of January. The location is perfect -- a quiet neighborhood, right on the water -- my room on the 7th floor was quiet, clean and had a lovely view of the Med. Although the hotel is literally next to the heliport, I was not disturbed by any flights. A 5 min walk away is a huge grocery store with everything/anything you want or need. No taxi/cab will take you anywhere for less than 10 Euros, but Monaco is very walkable and safe. There is a underground walkway in the mall attached to the grcoery store --- take that to the elevator and go up one floor and you will be along the port. Although a hill, the walk up to the Casino is easy enough.

The staff at the hotel leaves much to be desired --- except for one (will get to her later....). The front desk was fairly dismissive, and made a guest feel unwelcome, unappreciated, and bothersome. When asked where the exercise room was, the front desk said "it's on the 2nd floor". Would have been nice to say ....when you get off the elevator walk straight and it's the last door to your left in the main elevator area. Instead I walked around the 2nd floor looking for a sign or glass door to the room. Sorry to bother you by asking a simple question!

So the best member of the staff is Amanda, the concierge. What a gem! She is extremely friendly, knowledgable, and understand what guests are looking for. I HIGHLY recommend the hotel invest the time and money to ensure she is consistently trained and groomed to grow in the business. She is a rising star. I have stayed at 5 star, Leading Hotels of the World, etc properties......she can easily work there and is better than most of those places' staff!

All in all --- this is a great place to stay for a short visit -- clean room, clean bathroom (lighten was a bit dark, need more lighting there -- especially above sink --- and no idea why you have that bamboo looking ladder --- takes up too much space!). Highly recommend for a visit to Monaco.

(Did not eat at the hotel --- breakfast was overpriced and too many local places to enjoy for dinner, ask Amanda where to go!)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dcgalesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to forward such a detailed and informative message and we have of course forwarded your comments onto the Reception and the Conciergerie, both for your unsatisfaction and your kind appreciation of Amanda. It's a shame you did not try our restaurant, as although we are located among several restaurants, it's worth trying it, it's more than just a hotel's restaurant, it has its own identity and ambiance. with kind regards. Claudine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

A greatly located hotel with walking distance to main port.The balcony had great view with Monte facing and great view of the scenic montecarlo harbour.
The restaurant for breakfast was very simple menu but sufficient.
Rooms were of good quality with all the accessories of standardised quality provided.
Staff were very friendly and courteous.
It has a sitting area , kind of lounge were you sit late at nite.

Room Tip: Select it if you want to be in heart of city.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAYED S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for having sent your comments and appreciations. We are pleased to hear you appreciated your stay with us and hope to see you back in the near future. Kind regards. Claudine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte-Carlo
0.8 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,167 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,708 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
#10 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
1.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Monte-Carlo

Address: 23 Avenue des Papalins, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range: £110 - £481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbus Monte-Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Rosegarden dedicated to Princess Grace, close to the heliport with easy access to the Old town and the Casino square the Columbus offers 181 rooms including 53 Classic and 100 Deluxes with balcony or terrace - 14 Juniors Suites & 13 Suites Seaview - 1 Top Floor Apartment - Soundproofed and individually controlled air conditioning - Flat Screen TV- international channels - Free High speed Wifi access both in rooms and public areas. Conciergerie - free shuttle bus within Monaco. Secured car park with optional valet parking. Parking spaces with charging stations for electric vehicles. Parking rates per car per night: October to April €25 ; May to September €35. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Columbus Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Monte-Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Hotel Columbus Monaco
Columbus Monaco Fontvieille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing