We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
203 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We went to Monaco for a mini break and got a great deal on this hotel, my boyfriend had been to Monaco before and loved it but it was my first time. Our room was lovely with a big balcony overlooking the Princess Grace garden and with a beautiful view of the mountains, we sat and enjoyed a night cap on the balcony most nights just enjoying the view. The location is perfect for exploring Monaco, we walked everywhere. The bar is chic and enjoyable and the staff were pleasant. Breakfast was fantastic every morning, I would definitely return again. On departure we had a helicopter transfer back to Nice Airport and the helipad is right beside the hotel, altogether a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Guest, we are delighted to hear your first visit to Monaco was enjoyable and you enjoyed
your stay at Columbus. We would be very happy to see you back down here again for another break. Kind regards. Claudine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    505
    167
    55
    25
See reviews for
164
557
49
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed with my wife for a week combining business and pleasure .

Hotel Works well. Great Restaurant , friendly staff

Cons : very expesive parking . Precooked ( plastic) french fries ! Small Room

In General Great stay .

Room Tip: Try to insist on a larger room at the check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCAAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for sending your comments to Tripadvisor and your appreciation of your stay at Columbus. Best regards. Claudine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

My significant other and I went to Columbus Hotel, Monte-Carlo for a long weekend along with sister and brother-in-law last weekend, 23 22- 25 March - purpose: just to re-charge our batteries. We were fortunate to obtain a "package" of 4 nights B+B including helicopter transfers from Nice airport to Monaco (fantastic, and well worth the extra £'s by the way).
Our check-in was very smooth - we accessed the hotel from ground level (where we were welcomed and directed by the concierge). We went up 1 level via stairs (lift available), to where the reception, restaurant & bar areas are sited.

First impressions were great - very clean, modern yet relaxing decor; professional welcome, prompt and efficient check-in, our baggage was delivered to our rooms without any difficulty. Both rooms were sited on 5th floor (503 + 507),overlooking Princess Grace's Rose Garden - though it was rather disappointing to find that this was being made ready for next month and therefore was often closed - not a rose bush in sight!!
It was particularly great that we were in a room where we could overlook the helipad as my husband is a fan of this mode of travel - in fact, this is what enticed us to stay in this particular Hotel.... though we had quite a giggle to find that we were transported to the hotel from the helipad site via road transport - it would have been quicker to walk through Princess Grace's gardens!
In the room we had a stocked fridge minibar; hair dryer / TV/ CD/ DVD player / safe / ironing board and iron, and all the usual beauty accoutrements in the bathroom. Disappointing though to find the sink cracked, and the fact that the water took ages to drain away from the sink wasn't "nice".
The room was ample in size and had sufficient space and hangers for all we took with us..... so no complaints there. The room temperature was adjustable and therefore could be made comfortable for any traveler. Once settled we returned to the ground floor and had an uninterrupted chat with the concierge (there were 2 on duty) and we were able to find out all information regarding transport, locations of the sights which we wanted to visit, and suggestion of where to find shops, other hotels and places of interest - very knowledgeable staff and professionally given. As the hotel transport was free at that particular time, we were offered a "lift" to our selected destination - all great! We often utilised this free service - on one occasion we were taken to the far end of the resort, and we enjoyed the walk back to the hotel.
Weather wise - we couldn't have asked for better - dry and mild, though fairly chilly in the evening,
The last night of our stay we dined in the hotel restaurant - and we all enjoyed a wonderful meal - served and presented very well, a most enjoyable night, reasonably priced.
Breakfast was served in the same restaurant and whilst it wasn't a fantastic spread it was sufficient - perhaps a little more choice would make the experience more memorable?
All staff throughout the hotel were always well presented and polite, and we enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and their professional manner.
Although the hotel is not centrally located we had no difficulty getting to / from our selected destinations, and although a bus service was literally jut around the corner we used the taxi service which was not costly when 4 people were sharing the costs.
There is a large Carrefoure within walking distance, and we were delighted to find that we could purchase anything which we desired here (similar to Sainsbury's / Tesco's). So on 1 day of our stay we bought bread, butter and fillings for a "picnic" tea, followed by a beautiful dessert. The fact that we were able to purchase wine / spirits at very reasonable prices meant that we could enjoy food and drink well into the early hours - all in the comfort of our hotel room. (The balcony in 503 was larger than 507 so we sat out and enjoyed the view until it became too chilly)! I'm sure you already know from the comparison to other similar type shops that all ages are catered for and that it is possible to purchase sweets, chocolate, snacks and food for all ages; also available a selection of electrical products, computers, shampoo, baby buggies / bucket & spades / safety pins or nail varnish and deodorant!! So if you forget anything don't worry!!

The only down side of the hotel (in our opinion) was not having tea / coffee making facilities -
we had one tea drinker and a coff-aholic, so thankfully we avoided disappointment and fatigue by bringing our own kettle, cups, coffee, tea etc.

In summary - we had a great time and are all agreed that we will return again to The Columbus!
We all reccommend this hotel without reservation!

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valtpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Guest, what a much detailed and informative comment, thanks for sharing so many nice points and experiences during your stay at Columbus, we are sure this will be appreciated by our future visitors. We have taken good note of the tea kettle mention. For info, you can ask one at the room service, we don't have that in each room, but on request, we can provide one. Again, many thanks and we do hope to see you back down here with your sister and brother in law. Kind regards. Claudine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed at the hotel Columbus in triple deluxe room which was very spacious, with the balcony towards a beautiful park and with a restricted view to te sea. Rooms are modern and stylish equiped, many lights give s romantic atmosphere. Concierge was very helpful. Although the hotel is in an aside bay, not in the city centre and is not easy to go on foot, shuttle bus is realy on a disposal to the hotel guests for a short drive to the centre, or casino. Bus transport is also very convinient in the Monte Carlo, and the bus station is very close to the hotel. For a breakfast there is everything you need (but note that omlet is not included in a breakfast price) and we liked very much the breakfast room - divided in smaller areas so guest have a feeling of privacy. If there will be another chance to visit Monaco, we would certainly stay at the Columbus again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Maja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Guest, your comments are very nice and we have forwarded your message onto the staff, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again at Columbus. Kind regards. Claudine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
428 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

The Columbus is not in the city center but good bus and taxi service to whoever you want to go. The services in this boutique hotel are excellent and if you venture out of the hotel you are more with the locals than the tourists.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETHKino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for sending your comments onto Tripadvisor and it's nice to hear you enjoyed your stay in Fontvieille and the hotel services. With kind regards. Claudine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Columbus for a weekend and had a fab break the hotel is a fantastic base in which to explore Monaco . Hotel was clean with friendly staff , as a travel agent I am always on the look out for good hotels and would highly recommend the Columbus for an affordable weekend away. Lovely sea views from our room . Look forward to returning again one day x

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annalouisereed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for sending your kind comments onto Tripadvisor. Very positive appreciation, even nicer when it comes from a professional travel agent who is used to visit lots of different places. We hope to see you back at some point. with kind regards. Claudine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

This trip included a helicopter transfer from Nice Airport to the hotel which went very smoothly; the staff were extremely helpful and friendly on arrival. Our room was spacious and clean - perhaps one criticism would be that we needed a bit more lighting in the room. The food at all times was delicious. Location was ideal - the number 6 bus ran regularly taking us to Monte Carlo which could be caught around the corner from the hotel. We also went on the hop on and off tour bus - a great way not to miss anything. We wanted to go to Cannes one day to meet some family and the concierge ensured that we got to the station in good time. We would certainly go back. We had an amazing time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to forward your kind appreciation on your stay at Columbus. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time. with kindest regards. Claudine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
0.7 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
#10 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Monte-Carlo

Property: Columbus Monte-Carlo
Address: 23, avenue des Papalins, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#2 Green Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbus Monte-Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Rosegarden dedicated to Princess Grace, close to the heliport with easy access to the Old town and the Casino square the Columbus offers 181 rooms including 53 Classic and 100 Deluxes with balcony or terrace - 14 Juniors Suites & 13 Suites Seaview - 1 Top Floor Apartment - Soundproofed and individually controlled air conditioning - Flat Screen TV- international channels Free High speed Wifi access both in rooms and public areas. Parking spaces under the hotel with valet service. Conciergerie - Beauty salon and free shuttle bus within Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columbus Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Monte-Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Hotel Columbus Monaco
Columbus Monaco Fontvieille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing