We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Modern Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed here twice now with my husband for long weekend breaks. The hotel is very modern and the bar and rooms comfortable and stylish. Near helipad pad which is the easiest way to arrive from Nice. Not necessarily nearest to the casino etc, but we never find it difficult to get around as the bus stop is across the road and taxis are plentiful. Both myself and my husband love this boutique hotel and are planning a return visit in september this year. Mini bar expensive (but this is monte-carlo and breakfast lovely.

Room Tip: Request a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear regular guest, many thanks for such a nice and detailed report. We are pleased to hear you enjoy your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit. As we can see, you make the most of your breaks in Monaco. Kind regards. Claudine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

594 - 600 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed at the Columbus hotel for 2 nights on a business trip. I arrived late and the restaurant was almost closed but they had no problem staying open a little bit longer which was very positive. The food was good as well and the staff was friendly.

The rooms are OK but not exceptional, which is what you expect in this price range. I had a room with a balcony and a nice view over the sea so nothing wrong with that.

The breakfast was OK but a little bit below my expactation for this type of hotel and less than the competition in the neighborhood (Marriot). I specifically brought swimming clothing with me and I was very dissapointed to find out that the swimming pool was closed until the next week. This was not indicated on the website and I think they should have as the pool was very much promoted on their website.

Summary: overall a good hotel that I under normal circumstance would have given 4 stars, but given the expactations raised by the website and the high price tag (even taken Monaco price levels into account) I had expected a little bit more.

Room Tip: Rooms in the x20 range seem to have a view on the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erwinsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Guest, many thanks for your informative report and detailed comments. The outdoor swimming pool is opened from May to October, but according to the weather conditions and we must say that until now the spring has been really unpredictable and quite chilly. The pool indeed opens today May 13th with an outside temperature of 21 degrees. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed here with my wife - and my in-laws in their own room - before a cruise. This hotel came as part of our cruise package. The rooms are comfortable, the hotel lobby and restaurant are chic, and the location is beautiful (across from the rose garden). I believe under regular circumstances this would have been a good hotel. However, they were clearly overwhelmed by the volume of 1 night stays (many others were also staying as part of the cruise line package). The staff were friendly and helpful, but clearly not able to keep up with the volume of reservations and luggage. I would consider returning, but would definitely look at other options first.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are definitely worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Guest, we thank you for your report. Your stay was in August 2012 and since then, we have welcomed more cruises and we have been able to amend our organisation and staff so that now the arrival and departure of such a group is done more efficiently and smoothly. With kind regards. Claudine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Just spent 3 days at Hotel Columbus and were pleasantly surprised after reading some of the reports on here. To be honest we would struggle to fault it. The staff were always friendly and helpful, the public areas and our room were spotless and modern. We even had dinner one night on the terrace and that was excellent too. Yes the helicopters can be heard but we didnt find them intrusive. We always walked to the main areas of town and it takes about 30 minutes to the casino, but the number 6 bus stops 2 mins from the hotel and takes you there if you don't fancy the walk. Also the 110 bus from Nice airport stops very, very close by and so makes a cheap alternative to a taxi. I think it was 30€ euro return per person. Thoroughly recommended if you don't mind being a short walk from the main drag.
One issue that I have to agree with is the shuttle service... You cant book it, it doesn't have a schedule, and whenever we asked about using it was never available, so dont bank on being able to use it :-))

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulg390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Guest, It was a very detailed and interesting report and we thank you for giving so many information to our future visitors. We are sorry you have not been to take advantage of the shuttle bus and we shall try to have a more reliable service, especially during the summer when the clientele needs to be driven around. Kind regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Consistently high quality hotel, great for short business trips, not particularly central but prime position for the helipad! Practically on the French border, if you want to be near the casinos, this is the wrong end. If you want to be super accessible for transport, this is ideal.

Breakfast is great - good coffee, nice range of food (albeit some odd sausage variants) - and the rooms (though a little small at times) are immaculate and well stocked. The beds are super comfortable, and every time I've stayed (four times now) the balcony has been great for eating-in or working.

Decent wi-fi, too!

The decor is uninspired, darkly lit but also completely suitable for high turnover business trips. The lobby inevitably ends up as a de facto working location, set up on the 1st floor, with bar and restaurant merging.

Staff are friendly and highly professional. There is a pool (which looks lovely, though I've never had the chance to use it), and this hotel would be fine for kids, albeit not child focused. Last time I went there was an influx of professional soccer players - the football stadium is very close though you barely notice it.

All in all, recommended. Beware some of the minibar prices (€10 for a pack of gummy bears? Ditto for small bottles of water), but don't skip the breakfast - on the veranda it is a lovely start to the day in Monaco.

Room Tip: Don't skip the breakfast, beware the minibar prices! Also, there is a small Carrefour supermarke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear Guest, many thanks for your detailed report about our hotel, we are very pleased to hear you like the Columbus and found the same level of service on your different stays. This is very important to us as the consistency in quality level needs a constant attention to details and staff management, and we are very proud to say that our guests do appreciate the staff attitude and level of services at Columbus. Kind regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I stayed in a junior suite and I was quite happy with all of the amenities. The common areas were all very nice although I did not try the restaurant. My only complaint was the location. Taxis will cost you 13-16 euros to travel to and from the casino, but the bus stop is around the corner and runs frequently. In addition, on two occasions where taxis were sparse, the hotel took me to my destination in the hotel shuttle. For the price and great service, Columbus is a tremendous value!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fgaliber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Dear Guest, many thanks for your kind comments and transport information for our future visitors. The complimentary shuttle bus is a great service which we offer to our guests as much as possible. As you mention the bus service is also just around the corner and is very handy to go uptown. Kind regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Short weekend to go to Top Marques car show, up n arrival we were shown our room no 401, not good as we paid €234 for one night the view was really bad basically of a local apartment with washing bikes on terrace yes you could sort of see the sea but as there were no net curtains it was obvious that we were open to all elements......
Walked to Monaco and Grimaldi Forum even though free navette was included in our price we were told that there was not anything available for 2 hours or we catch bus but this defeated the free shuttle so we walked, the girl was not going to be an more helpful than this.Great show, on return we mentioned room to reception and in all fairness they upgraded us to Junior suite, much happy with this weekend could start.

We had a great meal in evening in Michangelo with in walking distance from hotel.we parked in parking again short walk and was less than price from hotel.the weekend was great and when in Monaco well that's just Monaco, Greta place we love it.Drove out of town for breakfast fresh juice and all trimmings on terrace so lovely end to great weekend.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sac1960CallianFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Guest, We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your week-end in Monaco and were able to be upgraded for the room, as the Junior Suite has a direct seaview with a nice terrace. Sorry about the shuttle bus, this is a very busy time and at some point it's difficult to keep a regular shuttle service as the bagagists are meant to stay inhouse for the luggage handling. with kindest regards. Claudine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,229 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,718 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
#10 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,410 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Monte-Carlo

Address: 23 Avenue des Papalins, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range: £110 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbus Monte-Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Rosegarden dedicated to Princess Grace, close to the heliport with easy access to the Old town and the Casino square the Columbus offers 181 rooms including 53 Classic and 100 Deluxes with balcony or terrace - 14 Juniors Suites & 13 Suites Seaview - 1 Top Floor Apartment - Soundproofed and individually controlled air conditioning - Flat Screen TV- international channels - Free High speed Wifi access both in rooms and public areas. Conciergerie - free shuttle bus within Monaco. Secured car park with optional valet parking. Parking spaces with charging stations for electric vehicles. Parking rates per car per night: October to April €25 ; May to September €35. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Columbus Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Monte-Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Hotel Columbus Monaco
Columbus Monaco Fontvieille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing