We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Nearby Hotels
Le Meridien Beach Plaza(Monte-Carlo)
US$365
US$297
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
US$496
US$246
Monte Carlo Bay
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel De Paris(Monte-Carlo)
US$766
US$537
Hotel de Paris
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$463
US$396
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Novotel Monte Carlo(Monte-Carlo)(Great Value!)
US$240
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$234
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Port Palace Hotel(Monte-Carlo)
US$393
US$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo(Monte-Carlo)
US$536
US$431
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$637
US$474
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,385)
Filter reviews
1,385 results
Traveller rating
535
570
184
66
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
535
570
184
66
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose gardenprincess graceheli padquiet areathree starsea viewnice airportdeluxe roomconcierge staffshuttle serviceshort breakhelicopter transferbars and restaurantsfree shuttlebus stopcasino squaremini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
571 - 576 of 1,385 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013

There are many brilliant places in Monaco to stay, the Columbus is definitely not one of these. Arriving at 2:30 pm we were told to wait until 4 pm to get into our rooms. The staff told us this in a by unfriendly way, followed by the manger on duty by the words: ,That's Monaco...'. They weren't even willing to help us, they just preferred whispering to each other. Finally, my question if they don't care on bad reviews in the Internet helped a little bit to speed the process of checking-in up, but still with a very angry and impolite manager on duty. Although the rooms and the location of the hotel is by nice, I definitely can't recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xtraveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Guest, Obviously you are very disappointed with Columbus. Nevertheless, we would like to mention, that like in most hotels around the world check in procedure is 3 pm and the person in charge of your group had advised us your arrival time was due around 5 pm. We have done our utmost to get the rooms ready for your group and we regret you are under the impression we did not care about you. Also you attitude at the recetion desk was not very curtous nor polite. Our Duty manager did not say 'That's Monaco", it was meant to say 'that's AS Monaco" - which is the local football team who were on a late departure on this day and hence the delay in giving some of the rooms back for cleaning. That concerned only a few rooms. But you can understand that during a heavy period like August, it 's very difficult to get all rooms made up for 2.30 when the check out procedures states Noon. We are sorry to hear your opinion changed from last year, when you stated the Columbus was perfect and you were eager to compliment and recommend it (your message was in German in 2012). Regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed here overnight in June 2013 with my wife for a special treat, booking directly through the hotel website on a Welcome Home package which included dinner and a Deluxe room with King Bed.
On arrival, at street level, the first point of contact is with staff who will variously take care of your car, luggage and whatever other initial requirements you may have. You're then directed upstairs to the main reception area which on our visit was free of congestion, making the process of acquiring our room both speedy and trouble free.

First impressions were that while clean and presentable, the hotel needs a facelift. Parts are tired and show many years of traffic with threadbare carpet in places. One can see that at some time in the past things were different and I guess it's a testament to the quality of the original design and materials that things have stood the test of many travellers so far.
The room we were given faced what was the rose garden, currently under renovation, and had a large balcony. Pleasant enough, and as it turned out the bed was good, which is always important.
Our evening meal was included in the package so we dined on the Terrace, the Chef's special Fish and Chips was my choice and turned out nice enough. Service was fine as was the wine. Everything was very relaxed, and there's nothing I can really make much of a comment on. Other restaurants are, however, available and it might be worth doing some legwork close to the hotel to see what else is around.

After our meal we walked around the corner past the heliport and down to a small area in the marina where there are some small bars and restaurants. We chose to visit Gerhards Bar, the subject of another quick review elsewhere.

The following morning breakfast at the hotel was a disappointment, and didn't represent good value. It was a buffet breakfast and due to the layout of the restaurant inside it was difficult to find what was wanted and tricky to negotiate the path through people and tables. The food was adequate but only just - for this class of hotel something better must be possible.

All in all, the experience of the Columbus was mixed. I genuinely liked it and would go back - there's a good feeling to the place.Our limited experience of the staff is good. However, there are areas which clearly need to be addressed if it's going to maintain a good reputation.


Monaco is a place we visit often and staying over in Fontvieille was an opportunity to see how things looked from the other side of the rock which houses the Royal Palace. We liked it - the marina is stuffed with fancy boats, the sea is clean and full of fish and it's so much less frenetic than the touristic harbour area. It's a place where people actually live, there are shops, a supermarket, museums and a small Zoo.

Room Tip: Avoid the Western side - near the heliport
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 77akw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Guest, many thanks for sending such a detailed and informative report about your stay at Columbus and in Fontvieille generally speaking. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed a good service, a nice room with a confortable bed and that overall you liked the hotel, except for the breakfast and we have taken good notice of your remarks about the hotel ageing aspect. A major renovation is planned and should start within a few months to give the hotel a fresher look. We hope to welcome you again very soon. Best regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The hotel overall is well-priced for the size of the rooms and the location.

However, no room service after 22:30, the bar is often unstaffed (as in, we can see the barman chatting in the lobby whilst we wait for 20 minutes at the bar), the food can be pretty hit or miss - e.g. Apple pie is great one day, almost in edible the next. - and we've had some issues with service.... Some waiters are great, some are simply rude.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daphneconsuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments, we have forwarded onto our F&B manager for a better training of his staff in view of obtaining a consistent service and better attitude, which is the minimum we can expect from everybody at Columbus. We have taken good notice of your remarks. Best regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This hotel's name is a bit misleading as it is in Fontvieille (Monte Carlo district is a fair way off) but it's a pleasant area nonetheless, just next to the "notional" border with France.
As we checked in we were offered an upgrade at half price, so we bit their hands off.
Room was spacious with a large balcony.
It overlooked the Princess Grace Rose Garden though, sadly, this is being replanted and totally redesigned at the moment; two characters turned up religiously at about 8 every morning and spent all of 5-10 minutes hacking away unenthusiastically with their picks, so may take time to finish.
There is a heliport very close by with very regular flights in and out, so the noise might bother some.
The flights start at 8.30am and end around 8.30pm so they are not going on all night.
The hotel has a well equipped gym and shares a decent size pool with the residential apartments that adjoin.
Everything is relatively close by - can't be far away in Monaco anyway!
Various harbours in the vicinity with a variety of craft (dodgy dinghies to massive ocean-going yachts).
There is also a very picturesque beach just over on the French side.
The staff range from very nice, through stylish Gallic brusque, to downright rude and end up with just the one who breaks all ignorance records (no name, no pack drill).
Food is just ok; breakfast is plentiful and there is a nice terrace to sit and have it when weather permits.
All in all, a very pleasant experience.
There are plenty of better restaurants nearby, and these are, on the whole, surprisingly inexpensive.

Room Tip: Try and get one on the side that faces onto the rose garden, etc.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Guest, this is a very informative and detailed report about our hotel and we thank you for mentioning the different advantages and services offered by Columbus. Regarding the staff attitude, we are sorry to hear you experienced different positive/negative encounters, as most of our guests stress out the nice welcome they have at the hotel and it would have been interesting for us to find out in which service gave you a bad image, in order to inform the head of department. Thank you for taking the time to forward such a useful report for our future visitors. Kind regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Columbus Hotel is in Fontvieille, a pleasant residential area.
It's not in the center of Monte-Carlo, but there's a bus station close to the hotel, and if necessary a taxi will bring you to the main spots in only a few minutes.

It's a modern hotel with an interesting design. My room was quite small but comfortable with a pleasant balcony.
There is a swimming pool available for guests and common to the few surrounding buildings.
Good buffet breakfast.

Prices are reasonnable for Monaco. I will certainly return to Columbus Hotel as it was a nice discover.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Guest, it was very kind to forward your appreciations and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the area. Your comments will be important for our future guests and we thank you for contributing to their information. Kind regards.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews