We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre-Cruise Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pre-Cruise Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Although we only had one night here prior to our departure on a Regent Med Cruise, it was an excellent place to stay at during our brief visit to Monte Carlo. We found this hotel to be charming, and especially enjoyed the lobby bar. Very nouveau and upscale with excellent conversation areas, and a wonderful bartender/wait staff. Then we moved on to dinner in the hotel restaurant and really enjoyed dining in the outdoor patio area. Our group numbered eight and we had only a minor wait while the staff cleared several smaller tables and combined them to accommodate our group size- all done quite willingly on their part which says a lot about their desire to service their guests. After dinner, we all took a lovely walk to the nearby shopping area, and in the morning we were also able to enjoy another great walk in the opposite direction with better views of the ocean and harbor. Overall, even though the hotel is not in the center of the action it is still a beautiful location and was an easy taxi transport for us arriving at the train station [coming in from Paris]. Regent Cruise picked us up the next morning [after a plentiful and wonderful breakfast buffet] and delivered us to the short ride to port, so again this was very convenient. As far as the rooms and overall appearance of the Columbus, in our opinion it was exactly what we had hoped for - modern rooms with all the amenities, luxurious bedding, sufficient size and wonderful view from our room - and, as far as the rest of the hotel, it was excellent. Very clean and with an updated, trendy feel. The real benefit was the excellent level of service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmlorlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Guest, Great report, many thanks for your time and your detailed comments after your short stay at Columbus, especially as you probably did not chose our hotel personnaly, your opinion and information will be very useful to our future visitors. We have forwarded as always your report to our staff. Kind regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    505
    167
    55
    25
See reviews for
164
557
49
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

As Hotels in Monaco the Columbus is arguably the best value for money going.
Although it is out of the way, once you realise there is a free shuttle service around town everything is just a few minutes away.
The food at the hotel was excellent, the pool was very clean and secluded.
The staff (except for one of the concierges) couldn't do enough for you and were very helpful.
I would recommend to anybody

Room Tip: Try to get the see view, the other side of the hotel has a lot of landscaping going on until 2014
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind report and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Columbus. Hoping to see you back to the Principality in the near future. Kind regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

If you've been spoilt by staying at some spectacular hotels, then this hotel is not going to make you say WOW... it's fine, nothing great, certainly nothing horrible either, just a pleasant enough 3 star hotel in Monte Carlo. The rooms look better in the photos than they do in real life, but they're not dirty or anything - just a bit tired.

It's worth it to pay extra (or ask for an upgrade) to get a sea view, as the view is lovely! There is also a nearby beach which is beautiful - rocky, but the water is warm in the summer and it's a nice place where locals go.

The hotel's location is not too bad - it's about a 15-20 minute walk to the centre of the action, or a 2 euro bus ride (buses don't come that frequently) or a 15 euro taxi. The hotel does also offer a shuttle service however this isn't a regular service - it's a matter of asking the concierge to organise for a hotel van to drop you somewhere. You may have to wait about 20 minutes for them to round up enough guests to make the trip, but it's worthwhile as it will save you the 15 euro cab! But of course the shuttle service won't be there on the way back to drop you back to the hotel.

On balance with Monte Carlo I think you have to decide between paying exorbitant prices to stay somewhere in the centre of all the action - like the Fairmont or Hotel de Paris or Hermitage, or to pay slightly less and stay somewhere a bit further out like the Hotel Columbus. If I came back to Monte Carlo I'd consider splurging a bit and staying at the Hotel Metropole - it looked just exquisite and we had dinner there and loved it (and it's less of a tourist trap than the Hotel de Paris), but otherwise if I was looking to save some pennies then I'd happily suck it up and stay at the Hotel Columbus again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nooree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for sending your report about your stay at Columbus with the info and details that will be helpful to our future guests to prepare their journey. We just want to remind you we are a 3star hotel and cannot compete with some Palace hotels like Metropole Palace or Fairmont hotel (4 or 5 star). with best regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed for a long weekend and although the hotel turned out to be further from the centre of Monaco than some other hotels, I think that it has its own advantages. In particular it is next to Fontvielle port which has its own excellent restaurants and ambience. It was still possible to walk from the hotel to the centre of Monaco in 20 mins.

The concierge staff were always extremely helful and friendly and arranged transport to the centre as well as a rental car for a day trip.

The park in front of the hotel is under renovation - but that is hardly the hotel's fault and once completed will improve the views significantly.

The rooms were fine and large enough. There is the odd area that appears to need a little updating but in general the decor in the hotel was fine.

We enjoyed the bar and restaurant and again were very happy with the friendly staff and thought the prices were exceptionally good considering Monaco's reputation.

Would definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christop2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Guest, That's a very detailed and informative report and we thank you as it will give a complete image of the hotel and its environment. We thank you for your kind appreciation and hope to see you back to Columbus in the near future. with kind regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Having been to Monaco for 10 years now, staying at the Monte Carlo Bay, Meridian and the old Monte Carlo Grand ( now the Fairmont ) we decided to stay here for a change. Although in the other side of Monaco in Fontvielle ( We were aware of this ) it is a little distance from the nightlife. A taxi from the hotel is not a problem but not always as easy to get a Taxi back ! We did like the quieter side, however, the pool is shared with the adjacent apartments, can get rather busy for sunbeds, can't eat lunch around the pool and is certainly not ' relaxing ' due to the local heliport.
The hotel itself is ok, however, the thread bare carpets and general decor is in desperate need of refurbishment, especially for Monaco standards. The breakfast arrangements are chaotic due to the small breakfast bar and the choice was limited. The staff were very pleasant, always willing to help, especially the people on the concierge. Might just have to pay a little bit more and move back to the lively side next time.

Room Tip: Watch out for being overlooked by adjacent apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for sending your report which will be useful to our future guests. We are aware that the pool is busy in August, however the size is quite normal and even larger than some 4 star hotel 's pool in Monaco. We appreciate your comments on our staff and as usual we are forwarding your report onto them. Kind regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

The room was a good size, but the carpet was torn and generally tatty. Also, service at reception was appauling, 20 mins to check out. I rebooked at that time to be told rooms were available but the staff were so lazy they didnt rebook for the following night and had to move hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RacingDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest, we are sorry to hear about your dissappointing experience at Columbus, we have forwarded your comments onto the Front Office and the F&B managers for a follow up. We do need some renovation works, but the staff attitude is generally appreciated by our guests, so we are very surprised to hear you found them lazy. As for the check out procedure, this is a very busy period and it can indeed get very crowded when we have some check ins and departures at the same time, this is the high season. Best regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedworth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

What can I say about this hotel, we had a great stay. The room was lovely with a view of the harbour, the staff were absolutely brilliant. Location wise it is well placed as a base to explore the area & other more distant towns etc.

The public transport system is amazing, if you need to get around by bus the services available are very very easy & convenient to use.

After arriving in Nice the coach drive to the hotel was perfect, your are dropped within just a few metres of the door, the same for the return journey, no messing at all.

A great big thumbs up from us, it was the perfect place for our honeymoon break.

Many thanks to ALL the staff of the Columbus, with a big thank you to Patrick.

Mr & Mrs Taylor-Bond

Room Tip: Your really do need a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pnbond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Honeymooners, Great comments, many thanks for sending such a positive and informative report. We wish you Happiness and hope to see you back to Monaco for your anniversaries ! Warmest wishes. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
#10 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Monte-Carlo

Property: Columbus Monte-Carlo
Address: 23, avenue des Papalins, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#2 Green Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbus Monte-Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Rosegarden dedicated to Princess Grace, close to the heliport with easy access to the Old town and the Casino square the Columbus offers 181 rooms including 53 Classic and 100 Deluxes with balcony or terrace - 14 Juniors Suites & 13 Suites Seaview - 1 Top Floor Apartment - Soundproofed and individually controlled air conditioning - Flat Screen TV- international channels Free High speed Wifi access both in rooms and public areas. Parking spaces under the hotel with valet service. Conciergerie - Beauty salon and free shuttle bus within Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columbus Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Monte-Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Hotel Columbus Monaco
Columbus Monaco Fontvieille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing