We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really great Hotel - clean and proper”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 513 helpful votes
“Really great Hotel - clean and proper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed there during my Lotus-Elise Trip from Zurich to Antibes. VIP Feeling! Very warm welcome. And they took care about the Lotus. Rooms are really big (got upgraded) and the Service is outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sammarste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for forwarding your kind comments. Considering our close relationship with the Formula 1 (our former owner was D.Coulthard) we always enjoy welcoming some automobile clubs or classic vintage cars rallyes. Looking forward to welcoming you on your next discovery trip, with kindest regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    505
    167
    55
    25
See reviews for
164
557
49
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I feel bad that it's taken me so long to get around to writing this review as we promised the staff that we would, just been a busy year since our stay! (April 2013)

My partner were on a romantic break for 3 nights and chose this hotel mainly for the good price. We were not disappointed and although this hotel isn't in the main area of Monte Carlo this suited us as the area is very pretty, picturesque and quiet - we actually prefered the Fontvielle Marina as it's far prettier than the Monte Carlo Marina.

Monte Carlo is walkable in about 20-30mins and we made good use of the hotel's shuttle bus service on an evening when high heels disn't permit the walk into the main nightlife area!

Hotel is modern and comfortable, rooms are nice and very clean.
We overlooked the swimming pool and garden area and also the sea, with the occasional glimpse of a landing helicopter! Fabulous view.

The restaurant was lovely, great food and the ambience in the bar was very relaxed.
The staff are wonderful, every one making us feel welcome and were very helpful particularly Pascal in the bar and Boaz of the concierge team.

Breakfast was a little limited in choice but it was very tasty and we were not left hungry.

It was a shame that the Princess Grace garden was being overhauled during our stay and that the weather wasn't hot enough for a dip in the pool, perfect excuse for a return visit!

Thanks Hotel Columbus for making our trip so wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the swimming pool area, sorry I can't remember our room number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklelexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Guest, well many thanks for sending such a detailed and informative report. Nothing else to add to your great description of the hotel, the environment. It is really a shame for the Princess Grace Rosegarden being renovated, but that means the garden will be extended, with more roses, landscaped differently with larger openings and arches. The garden will be reopened next spring 2014 and you should get a stunning view from our balconies and terraces. We look forward to welcoming you next year to celebrate this re-opening. We certainly will post some nice pictures once the Prince family will launch the new Rosegarden dedicated to the late Princess Grace. Kindest wishes. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in fontville,not in the center of sights. The tour guide we hired told us this is the up and coming area in Monaco. The buses were very convenient , needed 1 transfer to the palace, one direct line to the harbor.We took the bus to the harbor, and walked to the casino. On the website, the hotel stated the price includes shuttle to the casino, but when we asked the concierge , it was not available. A taxi ride was around 15 euro.
The hotel itself looked new and very clean, staffs were pleasant, the breakfast was good compared to other hotels we stayed in France , there were a lot of fruits,cheese, and good pastries . This hotel was a good option for an affordable stay in Monte Carlo .

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for forwarding your kind comments and giving such a detailed report of your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Columbus and hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again. Kind regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for an overnight in September. We have been to Monaco before so we knew that the hotel was located away from the centre, but it is an easy 20-30 minutes walk. The hotel concierge were very helpful as were the reception staff. The room was a good size. We didn't have a sea view and unfortunately the rose garden is being redesigned so the view is not great and the workmen started early. This didn't bother us but it might if you were expecting a lie in! The bed was comfy, but some parts of the decor looks a bit tired. We thought this was a good room in a good location for the price bearing in mind it's Monaco.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for your renewed visit and your trust. You have given some interesting information and tips for our future visitors. We have forwarded your comments to the staff and hope to see you back to Columbus in the near future. Kind regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and had a great stay.

We had a great welcome from Terry on concierge, our room was not ready so he gave us a map and told us where was good for lunch. Unfortunately, when we returned for check in with reception it was the worst reception customer service we have ever received. The young man did not acknowledge us (there was no one else waiting), he didn't say hello, he didn't tell us where the bar was, what time breakfast was, where the pool is, just simply gave us our room key! then we walked off and he shouted over 'passports' so we had to go back with our luggage for him to photo copy them!! What a shame concierge were not on main reception. Concierge basically run the whole hotel, as every question we had was re directed down to them. when we checked out, were not asked about our stay, just handed our bill.

The pool was lovely, once we had worked out where it was on our own, and we spent a number of hours on a lounger. The location of Columbus was perfect for our first time visit as we were able to walk absolutely everywhere! if your lucky the hotel will take you where ever you need to go. The walk to the palace is worth a visit in the day and night time as the views are stunning. When we walked into casino square we sat outside cafe de paris which, watching all the cars and people go by.

We got engaged whilst in Monte Carlo which made the stay even more special and my fiance surprised me by booking return flights by helicopter to the hotel. this was a truly amazing experience and i would definitely recommend it if you can afford to.

Breakfast was good at the hotel, but did only seem to run smoothly when the man in a white shirt and red tie was on shift. It would of been nice if someone could of shown us to our table at breakfast and where everything was. on our first morning we had no idea. There are great little restaurants by the palace on top of the hill and the food and drink is not so expensive. if you have a cloudy day, the occeangraphique, aquariam is a must see with amazing fish inside.

Our room at columbus had a lovely see view so we were able to have dinner one evening sat outside and had room service.

there is also a great little train ride that takes you around the whole of monte carlo to see all the sites for 8 euros. I could go on forever with tips, where to walk etc so if you need any advice feel free to message me! Columbus, please train your reception staff!!

Room Tip: 822 has a fantastic sea view and has the sun in the mornings
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Guest, We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Columbus and in the Principality. We are sincerely sorry to hear about the bad experience at the reception - this attitude is not acceptable and a meeting has been called by the Front Desk manager to discuss the various criticizes mentioned in your message and a previous report sent. Many thanks for your detailed comments which will be very useful to our future visitors. Best Regards.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I booked the Columbus for a 4 night stay with my partner as it was a special occasion. I had previously stayed here back in 2005. I asked for a balcony and a sea view room which was exactly what I got and the view was gorgeous and very relaxing. We stayed in room 423 and i can say the rooms with a sea view are smaller on that side as the the other side that looks onto the Princess Grace gardens are much bigger with more furniture in. Its a compromise. Service was excellent, food was delicious and we were sent up two bottles of wine and an ice bucket upon arrival free of charge to welcome us. Very nice touch. Breakfast was more than adequate and plenty to eat. The hotel is looking a bit tired now and needs a refurbishment but I understand this is being done next year. I would stay at the Columbus again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leeca69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Guest, I could say, dear faithfull guest, many thanks for your positive and detailed report. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and could celebrate your special occasion in a nice and relaxed ambiance. We hope to see you back to Columbus once the renovation will be conducted. Kind regards, C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights over the weekend while visiting family. We had a junior suite (room 324) which was delightful, clean and refurbished with a balcony terrace with sea views. One note of warning - you do overlook a private complex and as such noise can travel - the pool is part of this complex and is shared with the residents - first come first served - when its quite it is a peaceful sun trap and a nice place to be, however being shared you do get children and therefore noise and you will also hear and see the occasional helicopter landing and taking off. Room service were always polite and friendly but average waits of twenty minutes and with no in room coffee / tea facilities this can be painful. Hotel staff were always friendly and helpful, bar staff were pleasant and the concierge staff were without exception excellent. Mini bus is very useful when you can get it, but you have to really think ahead to guarantee being able to use it. Walking around is a delight with plenty of bars and restaurants within three minutes of the hotel overlooking the harbour. We did not eat in the hotel so I cannot comment on the food other than to say what we did have as room service was very good and fresh. Once you know your way around the bus stop is literally two minutes away and routes 5 & 6 get you quickly and easily into Monaco, fares of 2 euros for a single journey are good value. If you like walking this is the place as its not actually that far to walk, certainly no more than ten minutes to the main harbour. The gardens, Casino square, Cafe de Paris are a further ten minutes (uphill) from the harbour but it is a must if and is always busy with tourists. Walking back at 1 am in the morning you will feel completely safe. The view from Monacoville is quite simply stunning and a walk up to the palace and older parts are also a must. We used the bus service (110) from Nice airpot to Monaco and back - apart from arriving fifteen minutes late on both journeys which can add to your stress levels when trying to catch a flight ! Once aboard it is a very fast, efficient and an extremely cost effective way of traveling - (15 euros each one way) and takes half an hour. I would recommend this hotel as a four star and worth every penny of its very reasonable rates.

Room Tip: Always aim to get a room with sea view - the alternative overlooks the road towards gardens but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dn0075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Guest, A great report - very detailed and informative. We thank you for your kind appreciation of the Columbus and all the tips given to our future guests. Hoping to see you back to Columbus and Monaco, with kind regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
#10 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Monte-Carlo

Property: Columbus Monte-Carlo
Address: 23, avenue des Papalins, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#2 Green Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbus Monte-Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Rosegarden dedicated to Princess Grace, close to the heliport with easy access to the Old town and the Casino square the Columbus offers 181 rooms including 53 Classic and 100 Deluxes with balcony or terrace - 14 Juniors Suites & 13 Suites Seaview - 1 Top Floor Apartment - Soundproofed and individually controlled air conditioning - Flat Screen TV- international channels Free High speed Wifi access both in rooms and public areas. Parking spaces under the hotel with valet service. Conciergerie - Beauty salon and free shuttle bus within Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columbus Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Monte-Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Hotel Columbus Monaco
Columbus Monaco Fontvieille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing