We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Excellent location, hotel and staff”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The hotel is only 5 mins from the helipad, a lovely walk around a marina and then 10 more minutes to the main Monaco harbour. It is simply an excellent location to be quiet, near to lovely restaurants and such a charming walk by the millionaires yachts.

The rooms are lovely, not perfect but perfectly in keeping with the price and style of hotel. The bed was very comfortable and enormous, the balcony overlooked the Princess Grace gardens (currently being refurbished but there was little noise and it will be excellent when finished), the bathroom had a great shower and was absolutely fine.

The drinks are expensive, 15 euros for a gin! but the bar is a nice place to sit, not at all busy when we were there.

Breakfast was continental or scrambled eggs and fried mushrooms. The bread was very fresh and of high quality, so was the fruit juices. No watered down stuff here.

The concierge, Patrick, was excellent, he booked restaurants for us and was generally very helpful and professional.

We had an outstanding holiday here for 4 days, I cannot recommend it enough. Just save enough money to really enjoy it as it really is a trip of a lifetime.

Have a great time, we had the time of our lives.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Visitor, Another Great Member of our Fan Club! Great review, many thanks for sending all your detailed report which will be very helpful for our future guests. It is indeed a nice area, the rosegarden will be beautiful in the spring. Thank you for mentioning the staff and the concierge staff in particular, they like their job and helping our visitors, that makes a big difference, although we are only a 3star hotel, the service provided is really appreciated by all. See you back to Columbus very soon. Kind regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    525
    171
    58
    26
See reviews for
173
570
53
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I have stayed in many Five star Hotels and Four star, but The Columbus outshone all of them.
The Hotel was spotless the food excellent and the service from the staff impeccable.

Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff best holiday I have ever had Monaco is so beautiful.

The overall experience was amazing and this was due to the hospitality of the staff at the Columbus I would highly recommend and will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for your kind comments, you are now officially part of our Fan Club ! It's a great report and we are thankful for taking the time to forward your thoughts after your stay at Columbus. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back. Kindest regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I booked a weekend at Columbus as present to my husband who has his birthday in March. We were given a wonderful room with sea view. The whole ambiance was classy and elegant.
We had dinner at the in-house restaurant and our choice was rewarding.
A real 4-star hotel at the price of a 3-star, considering the prices in Montecarlo.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabetta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Visitor, We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and celebrated your husband's birthday in a nice atmosphere. The rosegarden currently under renovation will be launched this spring and will be even larger and beautiful than before. We hope to see you back to Columbus. Kind regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Good hotel but just not in the center , good for business and if you have the boat in fontville.
Good breakfast , good peaple and good valet.
The room are very confortabile and the bathroom is very big.
For me is very 3 star .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank quirino r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Visitor, You have given the important good points and we thank you for taking the time to forward your report. Indeed we are a 3star hotel with an excellent quality for value. Kind regards.C .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I spent two nights in the Colombus Hotel. Classy, quiet and clean hotel. Nice large bed. Embellishment was smart. The whole staff is very helpful, efficient and always friendly. Car, taxi or bus is necessary if you want to go to town center. But thanks to this location, the place is very quiet (in November). A good place to stay. I would recommend this Hotel for business or hollidays.

Room Tip: Rooms next to he sea are very restfull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Y J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Visitor, Many thanks for forwarding your nice and positive comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the Columbus, the environment and your holidays in Monaco. Hoping to welcome you again in the near future. With best regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

As a Wedding Planner on the Côte d'Azur, I rented a suite at The Columbus Hotel for one afternoon, so that a bride-to-be could have a hair styling and make-up trial in relaxed surroundings. The choice was absolutely perfect. When I approached the hotel management initially, they were absolutely delighted to honour my request. From the moment that I arrived at the hotel, ahead of the bride-to-be, the groom, the hair stylist and make-up artist, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They gave me a key to the suite, so that I could use it whenever I wanted to. They arranged for the couple to have lunch, before the trials for the bride, and I had drinks in the bar with the rest of "my team". Everyone was very friendly, and assured that we had everything that we required. The suite was beautiful, light and airy, with a wonderful view over the sea in Monaco. It was a very warm day, and I requested water and drinks to be served during our time there. For me it was a working day with clients(!), but I would not hesitate to recommend The Columbus for anyone wishing to stay in first class ambiance in Monaco.

Room Tip: It is important to chose a room that has a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AntibesAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Wedding Planner, What a great and positive report. We thank you very much for sending you detailed impressions. This is very important for us, especially as this is a different experience than the visitors spending their holidays. You are a local one, working on a very special event (a wedding has to be a complete success and you need to be helped by a supporting team). So your appreciation means a lot and we hope we shall be able to welcome you again in the near future. Kindest regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

A good situation in Monaco, a sea view and a serious construction.
A special price for the sailing primo cup, not respected, a musty smell in the bathroom, a shower door/curtain failing, a missing courtesy shuttle, a to dark lighting in the room ( we can't read any book) , and a internet connection without flow even paying..
An 'Italian' managing, without luxus sensibilit and a pseudo attentive service without efficiency
We prefer to leave during the 5 days, from morning to night in the yacht club.
A very bad second experiment of this hotel, with a failing management

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PGOS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Visitor, We are sincerely sorry to hear about your poor experience of Columbus which does not reflect our management and welcome attitude. We don't quite understand your mention "italian managing" and we only hope to get another chance to host you and be able to change your impression. Many thanks for sending your comments anyway. Kind regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,117 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,611 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
#10 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
638 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Monte-Carlo

Property: Columbus Monte-Carlo
Address: 23 Avenue des Papalins, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#2 Green Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbus Monte-Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Rosegarden dedicated to Princess Grace, close to the heliport with easy access to the Old town and the Casino square the Columbus offers 181 rooms including 53 Classic and 100 Deluxes with balcony or terrace - 14 Juniors Suites & 13 Suites Seaview - 1 Top Floor Apartment - Soundproofed and individually controlled air conditioning - Flat Screen TV- international channels Free High speed Wifi access both in rooms and public areas. Parking spaces under the hotel with valet service. Conciergerie - free shuttle bus within Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Columbus Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Monte-Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Hotel Columbus Monaco
Columbus Monaco Fontvieille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing