We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
iow
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Break”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Have Just come back from a lovely 3 night break at this hotel booked through Secret Escapes.. absolute bargain, just the helicopter transfer from Nice alone to Monaco was worth the money ! felt like you where arriving Bond style !! Hotel was fantastic for the money paid, would up its stars, staff where really helpful and friendly and the concierge where brilliant, arranged to drop us of into the square in the Hotels mini bus, printed out our return boarding passes for us, restaurant tips etc. Room was lovely and a huge bathroom.The hotel did get busy but was fine, the bar quite pricey but make use of your passport to Monaco and free arrival drink which was prosecco. Ate in the hotels restaurant on the first night, very lovely chicken caesar salad and good wine all very reasonable.
Breakfast was a huge choice, nice juices, rolls, cereals etc all you needed for a continental and scrambled eggs and mushrooms if you prefer.
The number 6 bus outside the hotel takes you all round Monaco, only 2 euros and every 15 minutes, we did walk into the Casino square about a 25minute walk and bused it back, did a lot of walking , even the grand prix track was good to see and the famous hairpin bend !!
Would book this deal and stay here again, book now , worth every penny , friendly staff and fab hotel.

Room Tip: sea view room is lovely, stayed on floor 9 , fantastic bathroom and large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martineIow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest, whaouh, this is just another member of the Columbus fan club that we just hosted, it seems. Many thanks for your kind and positive description of our hotel and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed our services and generally talking your break in Monaco. Feel free to come back any time :-)) Kind regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    525
    171
    58
    26
See reviews for
173
570
53
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Booked a 3 night break for my husbands Birthday and our wedding anniversary via Secret Escapes. The price was right and the helicopter transfers from Nice were breath taking!. Hotel was very close to the heliport and opposite the Princess grace rose Garden that was being upgraded and looked like abuilding site. Hotel staff were really really friendly and we were given lifts in the mini bus to the train station on the Saturday and the Sunday. Monte Carlo is ideally located so you can take 20 minute train journey to Nice for the day. The bustle of the market, 18 degree weather and eating al fresco was amazing. On the Sunday we took the train in the other direction, to the Italian Riviera to San Remo. Again 19 degree weather, sea, yachts and good food and wine! Had a great time and this hotel was a great landing area. Good local restaurant is Quai des Artistes, had an amazing cote de boeuf!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trout1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest, That's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for taking the time to share you experience on Tripadvisor. Your descriptions and advices will certainly be very helpful for our future visitors. We hope to see you back to Columbus at some point. Kind regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just returned from the hotel Columbus, I booked this 4 day/3 night trip to Monte Carlo over 6 months ago, and was intriqued to find out if this hotel was for me.
On check in the luggage was taken straight to our rooms, the staff were very helpful, and polite and the rooms were clean and spacious.
Although a little out from the main attractions of the Casino and Princes palace and Main Harbour it is a lovely place to stay, stayed in room 604 which overlooked the Princess Grace gardens which are under renovation but the noise is not a problem.
Had a few lovely meals at the Monte Carlo Bar which had a relaxed atmosphere.
Thoroughly enjoyed our trip, the helicopter transfers were superb and would return,

Room Tip: Sea rooms are quieter, but if located at front of the hotel the noise isnt a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rollrizla69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest, we are glad to hear that your stay at Columbus met your expectations and you were very satisfied with our service and the hotel. Many thanks for your kind comments. We hope to see you back very soon. Kind regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just returned from a 3 night break in Monte Carlo and felt compelled to comment on this understated hotel. We booked via secret escapes and paid such a reasonable price we were concerned that the hotel would not live upto our expectations as we generally book 5 star. How wrong we were. The staff in the Columbus from the bar man, the waiting staff and most especially the concierge staff excelled, they are well informed, helpful and go out of their way to deliver a fantastic service and can not be commended enough. The Hotel is a short stroll via a secondary harbour to the town centre from where you can easily reach the harbour and casino square. Breakfast at the hotel is a nice relaxed affair with fresh juices, fruit pastries and scrambled eggs should you want something a bit more substantial. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean, overlooked Princess Grace gardens where there is rennovation but not too much noise. To conclude I would recommend this hotel on the strength of the staff every day of the week.

Room Tip: There is building work in the gardens so opt for a sea room if you want to lie in for which there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for your kind comments, we have nothing to add, everything has been detailed and your message will be very helpful for our future visitors. We hope to see you back to Monaco and Columbus. kind regards, C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay and explore Monte-Carlo. The staff could not be faulted - so friendly and helpful. They even drove us to a restaurant in the hotel mini bus rather than us have to wait for a taxi. The rooms are lovely, clean and spacious.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinAnne499484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest, we thank you for taking the time to forward your kind message, this is very important for us and our teams when their efforts are valued and appreciated. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back. Kind regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My female friend and I had squeezed in a 4 day trip in Feb for a break. I was pleased to be using an agent offered through Secret Escapes and when you arrive in Monaco by Helicopter you feel like a superstar.
The Hotel Columbus is actually walking distance from the Heliport but a drop off at your hotel service must be nice if you are further away.
The hotel itself is modern and with clean lines, decor being boutiquey. The room we were in was a little tired, surprisingly so, we were in a twin room on the 6 th floor. Plenty of space in it, nice dark wood furniture and a good bathroom. However there were a few niggles with the room:
1) the balcony had some interesting water damage which looked really grotty
2) the shower head whilst a rainforest type is fixed too far back so you are standing up against the end of the bath and over the plug when showering
3) The doors for the balcony are almost impossible to close unless you use a friend to close the opposite door at the same time.
4) No tea or coffee making facilities in the room, the room service was swift but charged a five euro charge for it.

Our stay was a little stressful as the Princess Grace Rose Garden which our balcony overlooked was being redeveloped and we had a pneumatic drill being used every morning at 8 am for a number of hours. The hotel were unable to reassign us to another room on the other side with twin rooms and for the same price. They did offer a room with a Queen double, but my co-traveller and I prefer twin beds.

The breakfast is more continental then anything, but included. Be aware that breakfast is only served until 10 am - not 11 am as the breakfast options in the room indicate.
We missed it twice.
Most of the staff are friendly and helpful.
I can not praise Patrick and the Concierge team enough, their friendliness and helpfulness was exceptional and the recommendations of where to eat for dinner in town made a significant difference to our enjoyment.

The Bar area appears to be social and used by non-residents, I am pleased to be able to recommend the Hendricks and Tonic!

Overall enjoyable, but we were disappointed with the noise, through no fault of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Sea or overlooking the Courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redsmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest, We thank you for sending such a detailed review full of details and information for our future visitors. It's true that the Rosegarden works can be noisy with the drilling, but it will be completed very soon for an opening early June and all the noisy work will be finished by end of March. In April and May, it will only be planting and soon wonderful roses will be blooming. For your information, I would like to mention that the breakfast buffet closes at 10 am at the restaurant, but you can still be served in the room until 11 AM with the room service. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Columbus. kind regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The hotel is only 5 mins from the helipad, a lovely walk around a marina and then 10 more minutes to the main Monaco harbour. It is simply an excellent location to be quiet, near to lovely restaurants and such a charming walk by the millionaires yachts.

The rooms are lovely, not perfect but perfectly in keeping with the price and style of hotel. The bed was very comfortable and enormous, the balcony overlooked the Princess Grace gardens (currently being refurbished but there was little noise and it will be excellent when finished), the bathroom had a great shower and was absolutely fine.

The drinks are expensive, 15 euros for a gin! but the bar is a nice place to sit, not at all busy when we were there.

Breakfast was continental or scrambled eggs and fried mushrooms. The bread was very fresh and of high quality, so was the fruit juices. No watered down stuff here.

The concierge, Patrick, was excellent, he booked restaurants for us and was generally very helpful and professional.

We had an outstanding holiday here for 4 days, I cannot recommend it enough. Just save enough money to really enjoy it as it really is a trip of a lifetime.

Have a great time, we had the time of our lives.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Visitor, Another Great Member of our Fan Club! Great review, many thanks for sending all your detailed report which will be very helpful for our future guests. It is indeed a nice area, the rosegarden will be beautiful in the spring. Thank you for mentioning the staff and the concierge staff in particular, they like their job and helping our visitors, that makes a big difference, although we are only a 3star hotel, the service provided is really appreciated by all. See you back to Columbus very soon. Kind regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,117 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,611 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
#10 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
639 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Monte-Carlo

Property: Columbus Monte-Carlo
Address: 23 Avenue des Papalins, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#2 Green Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbus Monte-Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Rosegarden dedicated to Princess Grace, close to the heliport with easy access to the Old town and the Casino square the Columbus offers 181 rooms including 53 Classic and 100 Deluxes with balcony or terrace - 14 Juniors Suites & 13 Suites Seaview - 1 Top Floor Apartment - Soundproofed and individually controlled air conditioning - Flat Screen TV- international channels Free High speed Wifi access both in rooms and public areas. Parking spaces under the hotel with valet service. Conciergerie - free shuttle bus within Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Columbus Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Monte-Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Hotel Columbus Monaco
Columbus Monaco Fontvieille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing