We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Le Versailles(La Condamine)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cosmopolite(La Condamine)
View Hotel
Hotel de France(La Condamine)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Miramar Hotel(La Condamine)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Port Palace Hotel(Monte-Carlo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Novotel Monte Carlo(Monte-Carlo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel De Paris(Monte-Carlo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,385)
Filter reviews
1,385 results
Traveller rating
535
570
184
66
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
535
570
184
66
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose gardenprincess graceheli padquiet areathree starsea viewnice airportdeluxe roomconcierge staffshuttle serviceshort breakhelicopter transferbars and restaurantsfree shuttlebus stopcasino squaremini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
499 - 504 of 1,385 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Paid for a luxury break with voyage prive to stay in Monte Carlo the entire place is amazing and was let down by this hotel! The staff (apart from the concierge) we found rude and unhelpful. The cleaner even rolled her eyes in disgust that we were not out of the room by 10 so she could clean it! There was no bar at the hotel menus were left for is to order but we had to do this ourself the reception would not help us. Even though French was obviously not out first language. We had a constant feeling from the staff here that everything was too much effort for them. We were not told any of the services that the hotel offered and even had to ask where and what time breakfast was. not what you expect from a monaco hotel. It can hardly call itself a hotel when there is no bar or restaurant available it is merely a glorified bed and breakfast. This coupled with the protesting locals outside making constant noise early in the morning waking us up. We shall return to monaco, but will stay in a decent hotel instead if this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leander_cobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guest, we are sorry to hear about your poor experience at Columbus. Although we are aware of the current situation outside the hotel, with the closure of the bar and restaurant, we feel there is nothing we can say to make change your point of view on our hotel. As you can see from the other reviews, there are mainly very good reports about our staff attitude and we are very surprised by your various examples. For the delivery service, the menu is not in English at the moment, but we are working on a translation project. There will be a courtesy bar in the lobby next week. We are all working at the hotel to make sure the impact on guest experience is minimal by putting in place new services. This closure means an important social plan in the hotel, and this is a difficult and sad decision as we all love the Columbus. We now have to adapt to our new organization. Regards.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have just spent 4 days at this hotel from the 18th April, 2014, The hotel is in a quite area surrounded by mainly private apartments. I was upgraded to a superior room ( 121 ) and the room was as shown in their advert and boy was it big. The double bed was HUGE, the bathroom had the biggest bath I have ever seen. the only downside to the room was that it didn't have a balcony, but there are rooms with balconies, but they seem much smaller. The buffet breakfast was excellent, the hotel is very well maintained and extremely clean in all areas, However, it was alleged by pickets outside the hotel that they had been sacked 3 weeks ago, therefore there was no room service, but there was a mini bar in room, but like all mini bars the contents are very expensive, lounge bar, lunch time or evening restaurant available due to the strike, fortunately, there are restaurants by the marina and I went to one recommended by the hotel which was an Italian restaurant called Amici Miei, fabulous food and and staff and reasonably priced, ( see my separate review under that name ). All the staff at the hotel were very friendly and in particular, all the staff at the concierge desk made you feel as if they had known you for years. The location of the hotel is by a marina and is just a 5 min taxi ride from the hotel to the main town at around 15 euros one way. However,there is a courtesy bus that you can use to take you into town, but they don't do a later return service, but if you catch the red tour bus, you pay 21 euros, 19 euros if you are an O.A.P and if your hotel is on the route, you can hop on and off, thus saving the extra for a taxi. I arrived from Nice airport by helicopter and despite the heliport being just a few minutes away from the hotel, there was hardly any noise from the heliport.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear overlook the hotel garden and very quite. Hliport is at the front of the hotel, these rooms have sea views and over look a small park.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to send your review and so many details which will be very helpful to our future visitors. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and can appreciate how the present situation at the hotel can be envisaged on different sides, when we compare your experience and perception, with some other comments, less positive. This closure means an important social plan in the hotel, and this is a difficult and sad decision as we all love the Columbus. The staff has to adapt to our new organization and as I said in my previous answer, every body works very hard to make sure the impact on guest experience is minimal. We are in a transition time and probably within a few weeks, the impact will be completly different and most guests will have the same attitude as you : plenty of restaurants and bars around the hotel, within 5 mn walking distance, a larger choice of dishes delivered by outside caterers directly in your room (to replace the former room service), a courtesy bar in the lobby. We hope to see you back to Columbus and our teams will be more than happy to "recognize" you again on arrival. Warmest regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed for four nights from 7 April. We were in room 822.
Positives: great views the room. I emailed the hotel before we and requested a seaview And they delivered on that.
Great location. About 10 mins walk from centre of town, but very nice area right by the little harbour.
Very helpful concierge who guided us to buses and arranged lift to station at end of stay.

The downside
Once checked in we were just told "the lifts are over there". Most hotels would take you to your room or at least arrange to have luggage sent up. We were left to struggle.
This hotel is now a little tired. Threadbare carpets throughout, table tops in breakfast room very worn.. Loose taps in bathroom. Wobbly toilet seat. Cracked tiles on balcony.
There is no room service at all. It seems that once breakfast closes at 10am you can't get anything, not even a cup of tea until breakfast next day.
No bar, it has also closed.
No extras whatsoever. On our way to Monaco we stayed at a modest hotel in Paris. There they supplied bathrobes, slippers, writing paper, pen and sufficient electric plugs for recharging phones etc. None of that at Columbus.
Some of the staff are on strike so every day there was a group outside with banners etc blocking the pavement.
Overall, fair hotel, but needs an update and some service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikcdab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guest, We thank you for sending your review and listing the positive points. As for the negative points, we do have some toiletries in the bathroom, the bathrobes are put in the Suites and Junior Suites, as for the paper and pens, we comply to our Green engagement and working currently on getting eco-friendly paper/pen. Electric plugs are available, we are very surprised by this detail. We understand your points regarding the hotel maintenance and we do apologize for that, a renovation plan is planned at the hotel. As for the strike outside the hotel, they do not make any noise and do not disrupt our clientele. This closure means an important social plan in the hotel, and this is a difficult and sad decision as we all love the Columbus. We now have to adapt to our new organization. We work very hard to make sure the impact on guest experience is minimal, by putting in place new services. Best regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

How can it be possible to charge for a 4 star hotel when you only get a bead and breakfast ?
I mean after 10:00 I can't even get a coffee and if our on a business trip and need to have appointment with a costomer you will have to look for a place to have drink.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QaM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest, Please note our hotel is a 3star hotel (not a 4star as you mention). It is true that our bar and restaurant are closed since a few days. But it is nothing to be compared to a B&B.
You would not have a free shuttle bus to take you downtown, a fitness room, a beauty salon, a pool open during the high season and a concierge desk ready to help you to find your way in Monaco. We are setting up new services for our guests: a courtesy bar in the lobby, a choice of in room delivery services through different outside catering services. On top of that, our hotel is situated within 5 mn walking distance from a choice of 14 bars and restaurants, on the Fontvieille marina. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Best regards C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed in the hotel whilst attending a congress in Monaco. The hotel is located next to the helipad at the far West end of Monaco. The Columbus hotel is relatively isolated with only few restaurants within walking distance. A shopping centre with a Carrefour supermarket is within a 10 minute walk.
The rooms have all the amenities one would expect. They are of a decent size and have nice balconies.

The construction work in the park opposite the hotel is almost complete so the noise level should be going down.

Hotel staff were on strike during my stay to protest against the closure of the restaurant, bar and room. Not ideal when there is no alternative close by.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Oliviauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest, the hotel is located within 5 mn walking distance from 14 bars and restaurants, this is hardly being isolated. Carrefour is 5 mn walking distance (even if you walk slowly).
When you mention far west Monaco, yes, this is true, but also please mention the Principality has a width of 3 km between the East and West borders ! this is not exactly a huge territory. We apologize for the social unrest outside the hotel, as you mention this is a part of the staff. Most staff do work and welcome our guests and ensure them a nice and comfortable stay. The conciergerie is helping for your outside reservations, take you downtown with a complimentary shuttle bus. The rosegarden will be reopen end of May. With best regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews