We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service in a quieter location ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbus Monte-Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Walsall
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great service in a quieter location ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights for holiday. I had already booked, before I realised the hotel was not actually in Monte Carlo but a quieter more residential area near the smaller harbour of Fontvielle. But don't let that put you off! Around that harbour there are a number of restaurants, overlooked by the palace. Once I found my bearings it's only a 10-15 minute walk to the palace and about another 10 minutes to Monte Carlo harbour. (Head to the shopping centre up a few sets of escalators). There is a free shuttle but a bit hit and miss when it actually leaves. However the bus is only 2 euros and just over the road. In the other direction 10 mins walk away, just passed the stadium, is a lovely beach where you can rent a lounger for €15 euros a day. This was much better than larvotto beach.

Staff were excellent particularly reception who sorted a problem I had with my booking (not their fault). My room overlooked the other residential blocks rather than the sea or rose garden I guess it must be more money for those views. Breakfast was good although don't leave food unattended on the terrace as the birds will soon be having a nibble! I didn't venture to the pool as looked like shared amongst all the residential blocks. On my last day I did notice a sign in the lift to say it was closed anyway. There isn't a bar or restaurant which is a shame. Overall I really enjoyed my stay here and would recommend if you want a quieter area to stay in.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BirchieWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caravel1498, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for sending such a detailed and informative review about the Columbus. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Concerning the pool, it was closed for 3 days because of sanitary problems and the hygiene services had to empty it and clean it. Now, it is reopen for the season. For the birds flying on the terrace and trying to steal some food, we have installed an ultra sounds system but unfortunately these birds are very rash !
and get used to lots of solutions we have tried. We hope to see you back to Columbus. Best regards C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    494
    165
    55
    25
See reviews for
161
549
48
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed on a 3 day package with my wife and sons. Lovely hotel with great location near to the heliport. Rooms good and food of a good standard as well. Would recommend the hotel and we will return in the near future

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Resty17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caravel1498, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for your kind appreciation. For our future visitors, we would like to inform them the restaurant is closed at the moment. The hotel is located closed to lots of restaurants and bars, within 5 min walking distinace. with best regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baia Mare, Romania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The Columbus hotel has a good location ,very closed to the sea and from a lot of turistic points ( Princiar Palace, Naval Museum, Car Musseum an others) . We had an executive room wich was great ,big with a wonderfull view of the roses garden; the pool îs also great very modern and nice.
The staff îs nice and helpful, looking for the best solution for YOU.
For sure i will choose this hotel again..

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank World P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for sending your review. Your comments are much appreciated and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Columbus. We have sent your message onto the staff and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in the hotel for a night. The staff were very approacheable and helpful. It was quite peaceful when we stayed, well apart from the helicopeters flying in and out, probably because there were not much occupants yet. We had the pool and sea view from our room which has given us a very relaxing atmosphere. Cleanliness is very good apart from the carpet which I think needs more of hoovering.
It located in the Fontvieille which gives you very close access to loads of restaurant, the Monaco heliport and marina. The Rose Garden is just in front of the hotel. It is quite far from the centre but I do not mind as I love walking or if not, you can ask the concierge team to get you on their shuttle service.
Before I forget, the team are very good English speakers so no troubles in communicating. Will definitely stay in this hotel again! =)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank sniper007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for sending your review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the staff welcome. The info given will be helpful for our future visitors. Kind regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Despite closing its restaurant and bar this small hotel is still a haven of peace and tranquility. Concierge team is unbelievably helpful and reception are always kind and helpful.
Although hotel showing signs of age and lack of investment by owners bedrooms spotless and beds the most comfortable anywhere!
Lots of lovely restaurants within 5 mins walk and Patrick and his team made quick bookings for us whenever we asked.

Room Tip: High rose garden view less noisy seagulls and looks up to mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelf1LSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Columbus Fan ! you certainly deserve a special award as a regular and faithful guest. many thanks for sending your review and we are delighted to hear you like the Columbus atmosphere and team spirit. Kind regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Columbus hotel

Inconsistent.
The Columbus has always been one of my my favorite hotels in Monaco, it offers a boutique atmosphere with a personal touch where every staff member provides service with a smile.

Most disappointing though is recent closure of the restaurant and bar - I am baffled how the hotel retains it's star rating without these services but the difference in atmosphere and quality if service is immediately evident.

Food compliments any vacation and the columbus simply lacks and quality in this department which is disappointing as it was a frequent favorite for a night out with friends. Even more surprising is the hotel has placed fast food menus in the rooms and charge a € 5 premium to order from their preferred suppliers. So quality is down, service is non is existent and you have to pay a premium for crap fast food.

Another surprising aspect of the inconsistent services at the Columbus is in the rooms, sometimes the room gets cleaned, sometimes not, sometimes you get turn down service but it's never the same. One aspect I associate with a turn down service is actually turning down the bed - this has been the greatest inconsistency, sometime you receive it, sometimes not.

The Columbus is a real hit and miss at the moment, they are obviously going though changes that directly effect the quality of service.

Try but buyer beware - the rooms are tired the service is strained and the food / restaurants are non existent. I believe the Columbus is hovering in a 2.5* star quality level BUT has the potential of a 4* star.

There is lots of positives like location, value and comfort but I hope through reviews like this it inspires the management to return the Columbus to its former glory.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Scview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest, we acknowledge receipt of your review and understand your disappointment when you compare with our former services. But the staff is still welcoming and smiling, the location is still very convenient, quiet and residential, the rose garden facing the hotel has been extended and the view from the rooms is stunning, we are close to lots of restaurant and bar on the Fontvieille marina. We do hope to see you back to Columbus. Kind regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here for only 1 night. the staff was lovely and very polite. room was spacious and clean. would def stay here again! a bit far from everything if you are not driving but than again Monaco is a very small place so it's not too bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aitona25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Visitor, Many thanks for posting your review. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope to see you back to Columbus in the near future. Kind regards C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
1.7 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Monte-Carlo

Property: Columbus Monte-Carlo
Address: 23, avenue des Papalins, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#2 Green Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbus Monte-Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Rosegarden dedicated to Princess Grace, close to the heliport with easy access to the Old town and the Casino square the Columbus offers 181 rooms including 53 Classic and 100 Deluxes with balcony or terrace - 14 Juniors Suites & 13 Suites Seaview - 1 Top Floor Apartment - Soundproofed and individually controlled air conditioning - Flat Screen TV- international channels Free High speed Wifi access both in rooms and public areas. Parking spaces under the hotel with valet service. Conciergerie - Beauty salon and free shuttle bus within Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Columbus Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Monte-Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Hotel Columbus Monaco
Columbus Monaco Fontvieille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing