We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Booked this hotel last minute so got a good deal. The hotel itself is in a good location 20 minute walk from everything. The staff are also really helpful and friendly. The Beefbar restaurant around the corner is really tasty and great for people watching.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2009

We visited Monaco the weekend before the Grand Prix this was a great time to go, we all got carried away with the anticipation of it all, but did not have to deal with mass crowds. The hotel was fine for our weekend away, as we only needed a base for exploring, and we enjoy the walking, some people may find it's location too far away from the casino & cafe de paris, as it would be too far & too hilly to walk in heels for a night out. The hotel was good value for money, for the size and standard of room, given it is an expensive destination, The bar was quiet though, and expensive (not really worth it), the mini-bar is daylight robbery, best avoided. We probably would not stay here again, and would probably choose something at the other side of Monaco. Also, we never spotted it's famous owner, so tad disappointed at that.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wantseverything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

In April 2009, our holiday was ruined by Columbus hotel staff and we are preparing evidence to bring a court case against the hotel..

Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
4  Thank LauraKaunas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

We stayed here for one night and I was able to get a good rate otherwise I would say it was hugely expensive for what it is! We had a deluxe room - which was big, but the bathroom was small (but with a powerful shower - over the bath.) We had a view over the rose garden/helipad and could see the sea.

Despite pitching itself as a boutique hotel, it had the feel of the larger chain hotels about it to me, and definitely needs to be repainted.

Concierge was really helpful though and booked us into BeefBar around the corner for dinner - really recommended if you don't want to walk into Monte Carlo (about half an hour's walk) and for the best steak ever.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josefa68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

Nice designed and clean hotel. Certainly expensive. Polite personnel and excellent concierge!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73etraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColumbusHotelManager, Directeur général at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Dear guest, thank you very much for your lovely comment. We have forwarded your appreciation to all concerned staff. See you soon at the Columbus. Best regards. Bastien Anouil – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Stayed for business in March. The hotel is a mere minute walk from the Helipad so location is good. Was able to check in early and into a small but clean room on the 8th floor, complete with the world's smallest balcony.

As I was I Monaco for business I didn't get to sample all the delights of the hotel. Lunch was good, as was breakfast, in fact the eggs benedict were excellent. There was however a sting in the tail on checkout. The buffet breakfast is 26 euros, if you instead order off menu as I had, you then get charged 15 euros for a single juice and a cup of tea. Shame really as it tainted the stay.

I'd stay again but find somewhere else to grab a bite for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christofofofof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

We spent 3nights\4days at the Columbas and had a fab time.The hotel and rooms were immaculate with a full change of bedding and towels every day,we couldnt fault the cleanliness. Our room however didnt have a balcony which was a bit disappointing but we had a good view of the surrounding area and the Rose Garden and Heliport and could even see the sea.Location isnt too bad but you must be prepared for a 20min walk or so to get to Monte Carlo and a little less to reach Monaco port.The nearby port of Fontvielle is lovely with a couple of reasonable bistros to eat in.The buffet breakfast is good but make sure its in the price as its 25euros if not !! The hotel was expensive to eat in and the drinks were expensive also,hence why we only went in the bar once.In general we found food and drink quite expensive so be careful to look at the menus before you enter.Plenty of little bistros up by the Royal Palace selling good baguettes etc.A visit to Monte Carlo is a must but make sure you have eaten first as food really expensive.We visited Royal Palace ,Aquarium,Car Museum and various other Museums of one sort or another.If you go to the Royal Palace make sure to watch the changing of the guard at 11.55am We had a helicopter transfer from Nice airport to the resort.....well worth doing as it only takes 7mins. All in all FAB place but couldnt afford more than a week !!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank little1455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColumbusHotelManager, Directeur général at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Dear guest, thank you very much for your lovely comment. See you soon at the Columbus. Best regards. Bastien Anouil – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte-Carlo
0.8 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,186 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,729 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
#10 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
397 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Monte-Carlo

Address: 23 Avenue des Papalins, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range: £92 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbus Monte-Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Rosegarden dedicated to Princess Grace, close to the heliport with easy access to the Old town and the Casino square the Columbus offers 181 rooms including 53 Classic and 100 Deluxes with balcony or terrace - 14 Juniors Suites & 13 Suites Seaview - 1 Top Floor Apartment - Soundproofed and individually controlled air conditioning - Flat Screen TV- international channels - Free High speed Wifi access both in rooms and public areas. Conciergerie - free shuttle bus within Monaco. Secured car park with optional valet parking. Parking spaces with charging stations for electric vehicles. Parking rates per car per night: October to April €25 ; May to September €35. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columbus Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Monte-Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Hotel Columbus Monaco
Columbus Monaco Fontvieille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing