We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monaco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Fantastic new hotel with great views towards French Riviera

Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
Thank GraemeHowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColumbusHotelManager, Directeur général at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Dear guest, thank you very much for your lovely comment. See you soon at the Columbus. Best regards. Bastien Anouil – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,326)
There are newer reviews for Columbus Monte-Carlo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2009

Another trip to the hotel to celebrate my husband's 40th Birthday. Upgraded room with fantastic views. Excellent pleasant and friendly staff. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikjay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColumbusHotelManager, Directeur général at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Dear guest, thank you very much for your lovely comment. We hope to see you soon again at the Columbus Monte-Carlo. Best regards. Bastien Anouil – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

I really liked this hotel for the 3 nights we stayed. The staff were friendly and helpful. While not in central Monte Carlo, I liked the location.

We were upgraded to a lovely balcony room (it was my birthday), overlooking the rose garden. I liked the boutique feel to the room and the furnishings. It was a good size and very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the shower powerful and hot.

My partner, who had a terrible cold during our stay, was pleased that we had both BBC World and BBC One on the in-room television. We even tried out the CD player.

I think this hotel deserves a full 4-star rating, but it could do with a bit of a winter refurbishment, to tidy up things like paint and door scuffs, chipping and minor wear and tear.

I thought the buffet breakfast was excellent for a continental – lots of fresh ingredients and a wide variety of cheese, breads, meats, yoghurts, fruits, etc. Although if it had not been included in our room rate, I would have ordered a la carte due to the cost.

There is a huge Carrefour supermarket within a 5 minute walk of the hotel which was great for cheap champagne and nibbles in the room. A local post office is just around the corner. There were lots of restaurants around the Fontvielle marina / harbour, although my favourite was a little bistro / café in the stadium.

The clientele were a mixture of business people and professional footballers (who were playing a game over in the stadium ) and their WAGs, and a few winter tourists like ourselves.

We wanted to walk into Monte Carlo but couldn’t figure out how to get through the tunnel, so we ended up taking the bus there and back for 1 Euro each way. It was very quick and the Monte Carlo Christmas market was worth catching.

Sadly, we missed our Nice to Monaco helicopter ride due to flight delays from London, but we really enjoyed our heli ride back to Nice. A shuttle picked us up from the hotel, and whisked us to the nearby heliport.

While we couldn’t afford the hotel WiFi, there are a number of WiFi hotspots in the local cafes. Other than breakfast, we didn’t eat or drink in the hotel but the quality looked high.

I agree with a previous poster that the Columbus is high above its current 3-star hotel rating. I would love to go back to this pleasant, unpretentious and modern property. I enjoyed this property far more than many of the European hotels I have stayed in this year. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wembleygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

The beds are great, the rooms clean, the bathroom nice. It's much cheaper than most hotels in Monaco and the staff is friendly. Don't come here if you plan to spend your time at the pool with the kids, or if you want to wake up with a view of the ocean. The pool if far away and i believe it's shared with another building and I don't think any of the rooms face the ocean. They have a comfortable bar area and the breakfast is only good if it's included in the price. I do like the understated yet comforting furnishings. All in all it's a great bet for a business stop on a budget. For a family trip I recommend the Bay hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drbroadway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Although at the opposite end of the principality to the conference centre, it encouraged walking, and i certainly saw more of monaco than I would staying in Monte Carlo. The hotel is clean and spacious (didn't think it deserved the 'boutique' label) and has most things needed. The bedrooms are large, with balconies, and comfortable (but why do hotels like this insist on charging high rates for the internet and so spoiling it!). The bar is friendly and cozy, while the reception and concierge staff are excellent.
There is a good outdoor pool (which although fine now, won't be warm much longer), but the staff here were unhelpful. Breakfast is good, but again (like most restaurants experienced) the waiting staff were unresponsive and inefficient.
The local area is good, with many restaurants around the marina.
And yes, only 150 metres from the Heliport, and we did push the boat out and do the 9 minute heli transfer to Nice Airport at the end.
Certainly if I have to stay in Monaco again, I'd use the Columbus.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crawfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Columbus was nothing impressive from the exterior when we pulled up, with a lobby on the second floor and a tiny lift. Check-in was over-crowded so we had to wait about 15 minutes before the flustered attendant (with military attitude) could sort us out.

Rooms were contemporary, a decent size, fairly modern and stylish. However, compared to the hotels in the main Monte Carlo strip, this was AMAZING value for money! We only paid a special internet rate of Euro 150 per night direct from their website.

Note that it's not in the glitzy part of town, but then Monaco is very small, so it is only a 5 minute drive away from the casinos and glamour central.

One drawback was the very expensive tea that we had while waiting to check-out. Two in my party ordered some refreshments in the hotel lobby bar, and the bill for 2 cups of tea, a muffin and a croissant came up to close to a staggering 30 Euros!!!

Otherwise, good value for money - in a city where supercars roar at every street corner.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetsetter741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Booked this hotel last minute so got a good deal. The hotel itself is in a good location 20 minute walk from everything. The staff are also really helpful and friendly. The Beefbar restaurant around the corner is really tasty and great for people watching.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte-Carlo
0.8 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,165 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,707 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
#10 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
1.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Monte-Carlo

Address: 23 Avenue des Papalins, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range: £98 - £498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbus Monte-Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Rosegarden dedicated to Princess Grace, close to the heliport with easy access to the Old town and the Casino square the Columbus offers 181 rooms including 53 Classic and 100 Deluxes with balcony or terrace - 14 Juniors Suites & 13 Suites Seaview - 1 Top Floor Apartment - Soundproofed and individually controlled air conditioning - Flat Screen TV- international channels Free High speed Wifi access both in rooms and public areas. Parking spaces under the hotel with valet service. Conciergerie - free shuttle bus within Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Columbus Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Monte-Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Hotel Columbus Monaco
Columbus Monaco Fontvieille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing