We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy carpet and warm room tarnished our experience”
Review of Port Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Port Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2011

The room (504) was large and the bathroom was larger than expected with a nice soaking tub, separate shower and bidet. The location was great; however, we won't be staying here again. The carpet in our room was beyond filthy and the room was quite warm and uncomfortable as there is no way to cool off the room as the windows only open a few centimeters.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank therealjoeyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed 2 nights and 3 days at the Port Palace and were sorry to leave. We had a deluxe harbour view room on the 3rd floor overlooking spectacular yachts (floors 3-5 have the best views). There is an exit on the 6th floor of the hotel, and from there it's an easy walk to the Casino (which is worth the visit, despite having to pay 10 euros to get in). The woman on the front desk was most accommodating when we requested a late check out - 2pm. We enjoyed breakfast on the 6th floor terrace on our final morning. The food was plentiful, with hot and cold choices.

Monte Carlo is a beautiful city, and so easy to get around - provided you're mobile. If mobility is an issue for you I recommend you take advantage of the tour bus which goes all over the city, including the palace. We walked up the hill to the palace and enjoyed the beautiful views along the way.

We booked our room through Expedia - and after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Port Palace.

Room Tip: Request a room on floors 4 or 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2005Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Our room, on the 5th floor, had a magnificent view of the yachts. There is only the between your window and the yacht basin. Some of the largest yachts in the world are right outside your window. Only one floor up - 6th floor - and you are on the upper road and can walk easily to the Casino, Opera house and where it is all happening. After watching the yachts you can then watch the Ferraris, Maclaren Mercedes, Bentley Continentals.

The car valet was extremely friendly and helpful and the car was taken away to a carpark next door where for 60 Euros we had the car valet-cleaned inside and out. The reception staff were helpful and charming and we would recommend this hotel for your stay in Monte Carlo. None of the stuffiness of the grand old dames. A hotel that is light and bright and discreet.

Our room was very spacious with a bay window overlooking the basin. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had everything you would wish for - large separate shower-stall and jacuzzi bath and separate toilet. There was a sofa as well as two chairs and a excellent desk area, over which was a giant flat-screen tv. Two large cupboards with drawers made it the ideal hotel room, especially for a longer stay.

Breakfast was in the main restaurant, overlooking the bay, and was adequate. We had booked the restaurant for dinner but it was empty so we chose to go elsewhere.

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casden8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed here for one night during our recent driving tour through Europe. We found the hotel using Trip Advisor and booked using HRS for what seemed like a good rate compared to other booking sites. We had planned on using the secure, valet parking service provided by the hotel (for 30 Euros per night) but when we arrived there was a space directly opposite the hotel on the harbour - the hotel staff informed us that it was ok to park there overnight and it was free of charge.
The hotel is simply stunning, from the minute we arrived we were given a very friendly, professional welcome and for the first time in years we were speechless when we walked into our room! The rooms are very modern and very large, same goes for the amazing bathroom which had a seperate enclosed toilet, seperate shower and a jacuzzi bath. All rooms have a view of the marina and the hotel is in a perfect location.......right on the grand prix circuit, overlooking the marina, short walk to the casino.......what more could you ask for?! We had looked through all the other Monte Carlo hotels before booking this one, we liked the fact that this hotel was a small 'boutique' hotel and also that it was so central to everything......now that we have stayed there we are 100% sure we made the right choice and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.
We ate in the Mandarine restaurant in the evening and this was also truly first class, from the service provided by the staff to the beautifully presented food...........this was without a doubt the best meal we have ever had and one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.............. a really great experience overall and we definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights on touring trip across france for hubbies 50th. Hotel location is perfect for getting around, comfortable walk in heels to casino square, especially from the 6th floor. Valet parking was a breeze (although 30 euros a night) and Chris was friendly and chatty, as was the lady on the front desk, who gave us lots of tips on where to go and how to get there, (bus stop right outside the top road accessed from the 6th floor), although we walked everywhere as it is such a small place. Hotel has a nice boutique feel, and not pretentious -we were on the lower level, and the room was modern, roomy enough, clean and quiet. Bathroom with spa tub and separate shower. Bed was large and comfortable. We didn't do breakfast, but had the works one evening in the restaurant on the top floor overlooking the harbour. The food was just amazing and whilst we had to wait a short time for a table with a view over the harbour, we found the service excellent, with helpful wine recommendations - and surprisingly not the most expensive ones!!!
We ate at Virage on the second night, and had a great meal - not up to the Mandarine standard but very enjoyable.
We visited Eze, walked and drove most of the F1 circuit (the hotel sits beside the track just after the tunnel exit) toured the Palace and the Ocean Museum, and had a fun night at the Casino with late drinks at the Cafe de Paris watching cars and people. Casino night was quieter than expected (there just after boat show), we were smartly dressed with ID - 2 guys were turned away as no ID, and there is an entrance fee of 10 euros.
We'd stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the port although the higher you go the better the view - but at a price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goneforgoodthistime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

For as much as my general comment re: Monte Carlo would be "avoid it", as nowadays, it has just as much glamour as the hordes of Spaniards they discharge off the ferry for their 20 minutes "day trip" through the city, I can only recommend staying at the Port Palace. It wasn't even the most expensive place, but much better than others I have stayed at in Monte Carlo. Supposedly a Boutique Hotel, the rooms are still bigger than most Tokyo apartments, and the view is much better than what they show on the 50” (I don’t dare to say 60”…) screen you have as a TV in front of your 3 meters wide bed: many impressive boats and even more activities of the new- and old-rich on them directly under your window. The staff is friendly and obliging despite being Monegasques, the gym is ridiculous but existing, and I am a bit sorry, I didn’t have dinner there (but my private bank account doesn’t allow that and the business dinner was in another place), as the menu looked quite attractive. Not much “green” around it, but this is sort of implicit in a very urban surrounding.
PS: Nice pseudo-Jacuzzi they have…

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julia_Z_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Large room, large bed, large bathroom with an even greater shower. The desk was very helpful. Parking is no proble - you just leave it with the doorman and it suddenly appears when needed. The hotel is very well located for trips in any direction. Will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank roru1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,379 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,684 reviews
0.7 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Palace Hotel

Address: 7 Avenue JF Kennedy, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range: £182 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Port Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port Palace
Port Palace Monte Carlo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing