We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great modern hotel in a fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Port Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Port Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great modern hotel in a fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Cool and contemporary. Great rooms. Go for a higher floor, the views are outstanding.

Room Tip: Go for a top floor room, more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    193
    40
    15
    19
See reviews for
66
351
20
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

Rooms are quite modern for French standards, the Hermes art director has given it a go and rooms
are rather big in local terms. If you wish to explore old monaco town and new monte Carlo, this is yr home base, location is great. However, lobby and rooftop bar are rather disappointing to everyone who s looking for something matching the rooms' design. It s not the place which cries out: stay or hang out... Also, if you expect reception or house keeping to pick up the phone when you call, go and find somewhere else to stay... However, if you are obsessed with super yachts, don't look any further, it all unfolds at yr window- sill...

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wereldburgerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
435 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Port Palace Hotel is a locally owned hotel overlooking Port Hercule, not far from the station, and situated between upper and lower harbour roads (both roads forming part of the F1 circuit). The rooms are designed by Leila Menchari (Hermès design director ).

A few days before arrival the concierge e-mail'd to ask if there was anything he could arrange for us - what excellent service! However, on arrival we were given the wrong room key; we only realised this after we had let ourselves into the wrong room and found someone else's processions everywhere. We also had a small problem related to housekeeping that was sorted out, but should not have happened in the first place and did cause us some inconvenience.

Our room was spacious, but only three coat hangers were provided. Housekeeping was OK (see previous comment), but the turndown service always arrived when we were starting to get ready for the evening (c.6pm), so we just opened the door, accepted the chocolates and weather forecast. The Jacuzzi bath was nice, but it takes 30 minutes to fill.
The room came with a small kitchenette including kettle and microwave. However, we were put off using such facilities by the €20 per person, per day, fine for having your own food / drink in the room. We did use the kettle for making a cup of tea (in the provided espresso cups), but after doing so the room cleaner removed the cups and we were then not even able to use the Nespresso (espresso) machine. N.B. The Nespresso capsules cost €4 each - this was a bit steep as only cost 40 cents each and one could get a handmade espresso in cafes just outside hotel for €2. It was a relief not to see a fine on the final bill for making a cup of tea (with our own tea bag and using the provided kettle); for the price of the room I think this fine business made us feel uncomfortable and took away some the enjoyment of using the room (we are English and we do like to be able to make our own cup of tea when we wish!).
Breakfast buffet was good, but the provided hot water was not hot enough to make tea and the provided coffee was not too good (it was possible, for an extra fee, to order a pot of tea or fresh coffee) - it was nice to be able to sit outside and see the views across the harbour (only negative point was some noise from nearby room). The roof top Restaurant Mandarine (see separate TA review) provided a very good meal on our first evening - we enjoyed sitting by the balcony and watching all of the activity on the yachts below.

Casino square is a short walk away and is best reached via the lift in the tunnel (from the lower harbour road) then walk back via the upper road (i.e. leave the hotel via the ground floor and return via the top floor).

As we had a late evening flight the hotel was able to look after our luggage, then allowed us to use the spa changing rooms and showers before leaving (much appreciated on a hot and humid day).

For the facilities provided, price (for Monaco) and convenience to the station and harbour the hotel cannot be beaten. Monaco and the Port Places were great places to spend my 50th birthday - I would highly recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Great location with nice large US-style luxury room and bathroom. Was a welcome reprieve from older upscale European hotels on our trip. Is a short but steep walk to the casino. Great view of harbor and mega yachts.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJZimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We had a wonderful experience with this hotel. The staff was friendly, the restaurant was very good and offered beautiful views, the breakfast was superb, our room's view of the harbor and billionaires' yachts (yes, we checked out some of the owners) was enchanting, and the proximity to the center of town was unmatched by a hotel of this caliber.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

I stayed here again during the GrandPrix and could have ask for no better position to be based from during the race as well as for all the social events after.There is no pool but the beaches are close as well as many of the best restaraunts.

Room Tip: All the room are port facing . The best are the suites at either end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrottermc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

lovely hotel,nice staff,great location,fair price,my ferrari was parked and brought back for me,would recommend

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anywhere49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.7 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Palace Hotel

Property: Port Palace Hotel
Address: 7 Avenue JF Kennedy, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Port Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Port Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port Palace
Port Palace Monte Carlo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing