We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go on, spoil yourself!!!!”
Review of Port Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Port Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Go on, spoil yourself!!!!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Affordable luxury & quality service right on the waterfront.

The only possible snag is that you may be woken from your sleep by the roar of a Lambo or Bugatti racing by during the small hours.


Try it, you will like it, and I consider it great value.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DON1957Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    195
    42
    15
    19
See reviews for
71
360
21
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level Contributor
132 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights in September. As we had booked through" the leading hotels of the world group" we got upgraded free of charge to a larger room over looking the harbour. The room was spotless as was the bathroom and the location was perfect, only 5 minute walk to casino square and very close to lots of restaurants/bars.
We spent most of our time out and about exploring Monaco, but whilst at the hotel I did find a few things annoying, firstly whilst they have a coffee machine in the room, you have to pay 4 euros to have one! The water was also very over priced at 7 euros. I don't think I have ever stayed in a hotel that charge you for having a tea/ coffee in your room. You can also buy bottled water just down the road in a vending machine for 1.50 euros.
The second annoyance was the waiters didn't clear your breakfast bowl, so we ended up putting our used plates onto an unused table. They were all very friendly and breakfast was never busy, so very odd they don't clear tables. The breakfast selection was ample for us and very nice, you are basically eating in the reception, but this didn't bother us at all.
Lastly, when we asked for a ironing board it never turned up and we also had a few problems with our safe, this was fixed promptly but the safe was very sticky on the outside and looked filthy.
The restaurant on the terrace looked very nice although we didn't eat there.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Port Palace but with a few tweaks what was an enjoyable stay could of been perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
429 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed here for 5 days last year and the hotel is beautiful with a magnificent open air Restraunt looking over the most fabulous port in the entire region. No need for a car (nowhere to park anyway) everything in Monte Carlo is pretty much walkable. But outside are bars and cafés you can just lounge and people watch :)
Sadly the service, especially in the Restraunt during breakfast and evening meal was very poor. One incident particularly where I left a €30 euro tip for the gentlemen who waited on us, only for the staff member to look at it, look at me, and then say 'excuse me, but there are 6 of us working.....this is only €5 each!' Needless to say, the British bulldog in me swiftly took the €30 back and we exchanged words not of a nice nature. Rude and disgraceful, pity as I wasn't very impressed by the service, but that nailed it for me. And everything else was lovely, just need a staff makeover for the money it had cost, I don't expect that sort of service!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hubz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

NOT my cup of coffee, even so I stayed at this place already 3x always due to my friends wish to be accomodated in the centre on the main corridor. Lobby of this hotel is :( :( :(, front desk service absolutely unsufficient, slow, confused, unfriendly, not realy willing to speak english (actully, they do not, much). The only pleasant inviting faces is always the porteer with his hand stretched :)))) /we are in MC!/ and maids. Unloading the luggages is very inconveniet and parking again unconvenient, taking in consideration it is Monaco sitting on the rocky hill... ok. Breakfast is nothing special, veeeery slow service, poor selection, well... but beautiful view for sure!
Rooms are trully nice, quiet, airy, light, spacious, modern, large flat TV, clean, very comfortable marble bathrooms, :( broken towel holders and wall mounted magnifying mirror ( was not fixed stil during my next visit!!! Even so it was reported repeatedly), so the poor maintenance is visible here and there. Perfect view at the main Marina 30m In front of the windows.
As many other upscale hotels in MC they are very strict about bringing ANY food or bewerages into the rooms And they check the garbage if you did, so they would penalize you, well after all it is MC, so it would be highly tasteless and improper to cary in the stuff from supermarket :) !!!
So enjoy, this hotel has its + And - , but the rooms and absolote central location ioverpowers The negatives.

Room Tip: Expect THE great CENTRAL MARINA location and nice room, nothing else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PragueDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

All rooms get great views of the harbor. Furnishings afford a sense of quality though lighting controls are a little obscure. Shame there's no pool. Great location though and prompt service when the television didn't want to cooperate. A good choice if you find HdP and Hermitage prices just a little silly.

Room Tip: Higher floors look out above the trees that line the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Nothing bad to say. Rooms were huge, location and view almost best you can get in Monaco. There's a restaurant in top floor, but breakfast was served in lobby, that was strange. Breakfast was good anyway.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Janneki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Great place
best location, big and great room, totally clean, friendly and helpful staff very good and comfortable. the best we hoped for. on the port 4 min walking from Monte Carlo casino. very recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,085 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
848 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
790 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Palace Hotel

Property: Port Palace Hotel
Address: 7 Avenue JF Kennedy, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Port Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Port Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port Palace
Port Palace Monte Carlo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing