We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central hotel but strange hotel policies...!”
Review of Port Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Port Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2010

At this hotel, we stopped one day. We were given access to our room right after lunch which was good. The receptionist who checked us in was sour and not at all talkative. We did not get much information from him. The room was large and good. The bathroom was also large with jazussi.

The hotel had some bad points. Parking costs 30 euros. It is impossible and find a free parking so be careful when you choose this hotel. In the room, you did not bring your own beverage or any food. You may only eat the hotel's food and drink our drinks. If the hotel will you bring your own drinks or food, you get fined 20 euros per person. This rule is just stupid.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thejarven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2010

Abssolutely loved staying here, our stay was fab from start to finish.

Loved our room, very clean, very well equipped. Only a few issues with the hotel, but nothing that would stop me from coming back.

1. No swimming pool - in the heat its nice to be able to go for a quick dip, but theres always the beach!

2. Some of the staff were a little snotty. By that I mean they seemed to have a bit of an attitude, but not all of the staff were like this. It didnt ruin my stay.

3. We had a massage down on the basement level in the spa, but found it very basic for the amount it costs.

The location of the hotel is brilliant. You are right on the right on the front of the harbour, and have a lovely view of the yachts whilst eating breakfast on the terrace.

I would definately recommend this hotel, and would love to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsChapmanMansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

From the moment we arrived we mere made to feel welcome. Staff are friendly and efficieny. View from room is fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinMartinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Our stay here was a "splurge" for our vacation and it was well worth it. The room was very clean and comfortable with a very modern washroom. We had a room facing the harbour with great views of the yachts.

We had a nice dinner at the restaurant on the roof with a great view of the harbour as the sun was setting. Food was excellent - they have a michelin star restaurant.

The location worked out very nicely. Monte-Carlo is not very big so we were able to walk everywhere. A "bus-boat" is just a bit further down the harbour which can take you across to the Palace. It's also a short walk to the casino - one can take the elevator up to the roof (also where the restaurant is) and just walk up the street from there. Just to clarify, one can walk out from the roof to the street behind the hotel, thanks to the hills there. One other convenience was that we were renting a car from there to drive across the south of France and it turned out the Avis had just moved to a location across the street from the rooftop.

One note I would mention is that the fitness center is a bit outdated. I noticed some of the equipment was a bit squeaky and could have used some maintenance.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriso416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Port Palace for two nights prior to boarding a cruise in Monte Carlo. We live in Switzerland and drove down in a rental car (Hertz). We were greeted on arrival by the Receptionist, Celine and Baggagiste Thomas. They were utterly charming. Throughout our stay we were called by our name. When I had problems dropping the car at Hertz (it was Easter Monday and they were closed in the afternoon, although they had not told me this would be the case) Thomas even offered to walk over there and drop the keys off for me! I didn't have him do this, but I appreciated it.

Our room, a Deluxe double, was on the second floor. It was immaculate, well furnished and completely quiet. The view of the boats was lovely but in future I would ask for a room on at least the third floor to get a better view of the port. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom quite splendid with a jacuzzi bathtub.

We were going to have dinner at the hotel, but the restaurant has a limited menu - especially if you are a tired traveller! I would have liked a green salad to start but was told that was impossible. We therefore decided to eat elsewhere and found "le Botticelli" a few metres away where we were so well received and ate so well (at a very reasonable price!) that we went back the next night!! We did have a nice drink on the terrace of the hotel before dinner and were brought some lovely "nibblybits" which were complimentary. Breakfast was included in our rate and the breakfast, in the Mandarine Restaurant, was very nice indeed. The view from the 6th floor is wonderful!

Throughout our stay all the staff were just lovely, and very responsive to all oru requsets and needs. We both speak fluent French (have lived in Switzerland for 40-plus years) but I also heard the staff speak English to guests and they were just as nice and helpful in that language.

We would certainly return to the Port Palace. I would reserve a 4th floor room to get a better view, but aside from the lack of flexibility in the restaurant mentioned above I can find nothing bad to say about the hotel. If one wanted to have a room with a great view of the Grand Prix, a second floor one would be more than perfect!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hambagahle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We have just returned from a 2 night trip to Monaco. Chose this hotel for its views over the harbour and its central location.
The staff at reception were very polite and helpful, let us check in 3 hours early. Room on the first floor was perfectly acceptable, never expected 5 star luxury but it was very clean, had an amazing bed that was extremely comfortable and a great walk in shower almost big enough to be a wet room in its own right.
Room service were very polite as were the turn down staff, bringing us chocolates and fresh towels every night.
We had breakfast in Mandarine each morning and staff there were also very polite and on our last night for my husbands 30th, we ate there again, overlooking the harbour as it lit up.
The food was amazing and factored in with the view and the service, all amounted to one of the best dining experiences we have ever had. Second only to our lunch at Joel Robucheon at The Metropole the day before ( highly recommended )
I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again and unless you have unrealistic expectations of a hotel for £200 a night in Monte Carlo, you will have a wonderful time, just like us!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hicksons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We have stayed in most Monaco hotels, and have to say this is the worst experience so far. The location can't be faulted if you want to be in the heart of the action - which makes the Port Palace so much more of a wasted opportunity. Here are our gripes: 1. The room was not as clean as would be expected for a 4* graded hotel - windows dirty (which kind of spoilt the possibility of a great view). 2. Bathroom very worn, including mouldy shower, leaking taps and stained granite. 3. Various broken fittings with no attempt to remedy or replace. 4. Appalling staff attitude - arrogant, rude and generally unable to grasp the concept of service.

When we politely pointed out (in French) to reception that this was not what one could expect from a 4* hotel, we were told "What do you expect the hotel is 6 years old" when we further pushed the point the only response was "Yes some of our rooms are not good"

Conclusion & hints:
1. Never accept a room on the 1st floor (i.e. beginning with a '1') - Even the valet - (who was actually an OK fellow) admitted that these should never have been hotel rooms - but should have been offices. I suspect that the rooms further up are better but cannot confirm this.
2. Don't expect 4* - If you want this go to The Hermitage. (For similar money).
3. Expect attitude from the staff. Be prepared to argue in french of you want any reaction.
4. Car Parking - Valet parking was E30 / Night - expensive even for Monaco, there is parking opposite, and whilst probably not the right thing to do, you can get away with parking there for free (at your own risk).

Conclusion:
There are many better options, the hotel tries to be 'boutique' but fails badly on attention to detail & staff attitude.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PuzzledWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
1.1 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,763 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Paris
Hotel De Paris
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
880 reviews
0.7 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Palace Hotel

Address: 7 Avenue JF Kennedy, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range: £153 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Port Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Port Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port Palace
Port Palace Monte Carlo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing