We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice romantic diners”

Port Palace Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #82 of 130 Restaurants in Monte-Carlo
Cuisines: European, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice romantic diners”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Food And Service is average, it is wise to reserve a table by The window or in the first row on the terrace.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PragueDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    4
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely view, bad service!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

The Port Palace hotel is good but not the restaurant! Service very poor, initially advised we could not sit at the table we had reserved early on the day due to a birthday party booking. Party group never materialised! We were group of 4 - starters reasonable but mains arrived before starters cleared. Mine was almost cold on arrival and side dishes did not arrive, till I asked if they were on the way. Attitude of senior staff not good. A young waitress there was very pleasant. Beautiful setting, so shame the service is so poor! Hope to read a review that they have got their act together!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Freshest seafood EVER, and the view!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Walking into this summer's new restaurant atop the Port Palace hotel, you pass large tanks filled with what will likely be your dinner. Lobsters, Kamchatka crabs (biggest I've seen), etc. The candelabra and white tablecloth setting suggests getting dressed up for dinner, as most who go out in Monaco at night to. Beautiful blue and white flowers on each table. A view of the Harbor at night is exceptional. The restaurant is expensive, but the fish is incredible and offers huge portions. I've never eaten as delicious and fresh crab meat in my life. The place is filled with the "beautiful people" of Monaco! There is live music.. all in an open air restaurant, though with a cover in place of a ceiling. Truly a special place. This summer the restaurant was newly launched as "La Maree" and I heard it will not be just a summer restaurant, as has been the case before.. but plans to stay open year round. Check it out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
587 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 772 helpful votes
“Slow service”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I have visited this establishment a number of times in the last few years and this was an average experience. Service was slow, the food as normal was very good but you are paying a premium for service and it was slow!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lechiffre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food was not good, but service was even worse”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

There was a piece of shell on my crab food (it happenes sometimes), the chicken was undercooked (It happenes sometimes aswell) and duck was cold. All 3 dishes have had some mistake. And the service is really horrrable. They served only two main dishes out of three in samte time (for boys) and they let lady to wait another 10 min. When I wanted to tell something to old waiter (who looked like boss), he has no time and interest to listen to me. And than, after my criticism, he just said sorry and left us...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Milan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Port Palace Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
 
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
 

Been to Port Palace Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing