We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel.More than met our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Monte Carlo
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel.More than met our expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

In comparison to the cost of other hotels in the area, this hotel was great value for money. We didn't expect too much but the hotel exceeded out expectations. It is a steep walk up the hill to the hotel from many of the places in Monaco, but you will find that no matter where you stay. The whole place is built on a hill. The stay gave us great advice regarding short cuts via the train station to the harbour and a stair case a little further up the road to the casino. The reception staff were very helpful. The hotel is clean and well presented. The pool it great. There is a great choice at breakfast and you have the choice of a wonderful outside patio area or to sit in a spacious in door area. Monaco itself was fantastic with lots to see. We went to the beach, palace, casino, café du paris and did lots of car and people watching. I was really concerned as a lot of people had told me it was expensive but I would consider it similar to London. There are lovely places to eat at reasonable rates, yes to can pay expensive if you choose to but there is no need and you don't have to look far to get a good deal. You can purchase a pint for 6 euros and we paid on average 30 euros per head for our evening meals. Will certainly be going back

Room Tip: Pool view not city side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelMonteCarlo, Responsable relations clients at Novotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions pour votre agréable commentaire concernant votre dernier séjour au sein de notre hôtel. J’ai été ravie de lire que vous avez apprécié le petit déjeuner mais aussi l’attitude de notre personnel de l’hôtel. J’ai fait part à mon équipe de vos encouragements, pour qu’elle soit consciente que ses efforts quotidiens contribuent à répondre à vos attentes et à votre satisfaction. Des témoignages chaleureux comme les vôtres sont nos meilleures récompenses. C’est avec plaisir que nous vous recevrons de nouveau au Novotel Monte Carlo lors de votre prochaine visite à Monaco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    858
    235
    53
    38
See reviews for
550
726
103
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is the best value hotel for Monaco, the spacious rooms and very comfortable beds are more than expected , it is also quiet and clean and the room that we were given (Room no. 800) is a beautiful room with a side living space. Novotel Monte Carlo will be our Hotel each time we visit Monaco.

Room Tip: Higher floors are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zareh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelMonteCarlo, Responsable relations clients at Novotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your last experience at the Novotel Monte-Carlo with other travellers. I was pleased to read you were satisfied by the comfort of your room. I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon to Monaco.

Monika Horvath
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
376 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for my birthday. We landed in Nice and the plan was to take the train straight to Monte Carlo and the hotel was a five minute walk. However, we discovered that the French were on strike and the only train was leaving at 15.25 a good four hours away. After visiting the tourist office we took a no 100 bus to Monte Carlo at only e 1.50. Trouble is everyone else had the same idea! Luckily the French were sensible and must have laid on extra buses. The journey took about 45 minutes and took the costal road which was lovely. We stopped outside the tourist office and discovered the hotel was only a 10 minute walk or 2 mins on the bus. Once there we were greeted by friendly staff. Our room was comfortable and clean. It has a very nice pool area and bar and restaurant. I recommend the chicken ceasar salad. You are about a 15 minute walk to the Casino and Cafe de Paris. It will take about half an hour to get to the harbour area . Take comfortable walking shoes as it's okay walking down but can be a little hilly on the way back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelMonteCarlo, Responsable relations clients at Novotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
I would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Monte-Carlo to celebrate your birthday in Monaco. I am sorry you had to change your plan due to the French strike but fortunately you found another way to come to Monaco. I am pleased to read you were well greeted by our staff and that you found your room comfortable. I hope you will be back soon to visit us in Monaco.

Monika Horvath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrexham,north wales
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We booked using Booking.com but they messed up our check in date but the reception staff sorted it out without making us very uncomfortable. As soon as you walk in you can see the pool and it feels very open and light. We used the car park which they parked for us. It's €25 a day so prepare for that. Our room was on the 8th floor overlooking the back which was ok as you get to see the mountain and nice houses. The room was a nice size with separate toilet and shower. Little tea/ coffee facilities but not generous with it. Small open wardrobe area. Think we had the most basic room as others say they had espresso machines, bath robes etc but it was ok for us. We didn't take the breakfast which unless it's included in your deal is €19.50 each per day. Monte Carlo is not cheap at all but you could enjoy it all on all budgets. The marina is about 10 min walk steeply downhill and if you walk back, about 20 mins!! But there are lifts all over which you can find on the maps. You don't need taxis as there are buses(1&2) that go past the hotel. For €2 a ride you can get to the Palace and Auquarium and then walk back. Few cafés near by if you don't eat at the hotel. The train station is about 3 min walk but you can't hear anything. Little shop by the station for water, wine and bread, nibbles at decent prices. A very nice hotel in a great location. Will definately return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kelly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelMonteCarlo, Responsable relations clients at Novotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
I would like first of all to thank you very much for posting such a nice and detailed review concerning your last stay at the Novotel Monte-Carlo. I am sorry you had confusion with your booking date but I am pleased to read the reception staff sorted it out well. Then, I am very happy you enjoyed your room and the location of the hotel. I really look forward to welcoming you again to Monaco very soon.

Monika Horvath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talybont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

No thanks to the French Radio strike, we managed to get here eventually. We were given an upgrade with sea view (just) but the room was fine. We dined here one evening as there was an evening shower. Very close to railway. Buses were frequent in both directions. Full praise to Sebastien on reception as he managed too get us a hire car for our onward journey to Lyon as strike was gripping country. Definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelMonteCarlo, Responsable relations clients at Novotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you very much for posting such a great review concerning your last stay at the Novotel Monte-Carlo. We are sorry about any problem caused by the strike. I am pleased you enjoyed your upgrade in a sea view room and that you were satisfied by the staff service. We are looking forward to welcoming you again to Monaco the next time you come.

Monika Horvath
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Just spent one night at this hotel but loved it. We arrived by train from Cannes and the hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the station (take the escalators right to the very top of the station, then walk to your left). We weren't able to check in straight away (we arrived at about 10.30am) so the hotel stored our luggage and we set off. Its about a 10 minute walk to the casino, metropole shopping centre and 15 to the harbour. Our hotel room was very clean and spacious and even contained an Xbox! From our balcony we got a great view out over the harbour. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and friendly too. I highly recommend it!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Calandrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelMonteCarlo, Responsable relations clients at Novotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
I would like to thank you very much for posting such a great review concerning your last stay at the Novotel Monte-Carlo. I am glad you enjoyed the great location of the hotel as much as the cleanliness of the room and the harbour view from your room. My team and I thank you for recommending our hotel and we really look forward to welcoming you again to Monaco .

Monika Horvath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Condamine, Monaco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have during the last 5 years stayed in this hotel 2 to 5 times per year traveling in both business and pleasure. The location is excellent and the transport from Nice airport is easy with the airport bus, nearest stop Monaco tourist office. The hotel gives good value for money even if the room rate is higher near to big events like the Monaco Grand Prix. We find that the best/nicest rooms are the executive rooms with full view of the port and the old town with the Palace. As a Le Club member we have noticed that the benefits have changed this year (2014). Even if we have paid the stay in advance the hotel locks up 50 Euro per night on the credit card, make sure to have an additional 200 Euro available on your card when staying for example 4 nights.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Yachtsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelMonteCarlo, Responsable relations clients at Novotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
First of all I would like to thank you for your loyalty as a member of The Club Accorhotels. Concerning the deposit you have to make at the checkin, it is to allowed you to add a restaurant bill or another service in your room directly without having to pay each time. Then I am very pleased to read you found the hotel a good value for money and that you appreciated particularly the executive rooms with the port view. I really look forward to welcoming you the next time you visit us to Monaco.

Monika Horvath
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.8 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Monte Carlo

Property: Novotel Monte Carlo
Address: 16 Blvd Princesse Charlotte, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#3 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Monte Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Monte Carlo hotel is situated in the heart of the principality, just a short walk from the train station, the Place du Casino and the Grimaldi Forum. It has 218 rooms (including 10 Junior Suites), some with stunning views over the Rock of Monaco and the sea. It also boasts a restaurant, a bar and 12 rooms for meetings and conferences. The Novotel Monte Carlo is ideal for business travel or weekends in Monaco as a couple or with family. A secure public car park is available (charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Monte Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Novotel Hotel Monte Carlo
Accor Monte Carlo
Monte-Carlo Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing