We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot fault this hotel - great birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Monte Carlo
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cannot fault this hotel - great birthday treat”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was apprehensive at first booking this 3 star hotel, but I am so glad I did book it. Cannot recommend this hotel enough. Being from London I would rate this hotel 4 star with the potential/borderline 5 star rating.

Slight hick-up at the beginning when we checked-in, we was given the wrong room and then was told our room we had booked was sold out. Thankfully Mukty on reception (not too sure of spelling) arranged for us the next day to be moved rooms.

View from room was lovely. Room its self was nice and clean. Little toiletries in bathroom such as cotton bus/cotton wool, nice added touch, as well as coffee machine.

From the cleaners, to waiters, to reception staff, they are very genuine, friendly and polite.

There is no concierge service, but that doesn’t really matter as reception are accommodating and very willing to help with any requests.

Breakfast – food was lovely (nice to sit outside in round the pool area in the morning).
Room service – food was delicious.

Location of hotel was great - it is on a large hill so if you are going out at night ladies, take some flat shoes with you so can walk back up the hill!

The pool was nice and clean, the pool staff very friendly. The hotel provides towels for the sun beds... and if you don’t want to sit directly around the pool, there are sun beds on a grass area which is nice.

Added little touches which were great:
Ice machine on each floor
Shoe shine machine outside lifts
Music dock in room

Cannot fault this hotel at all, and I will defiantly be back again.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for... the higher the room, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelMonteCarlo, Responsable relations clients at Novotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
I really want to thank you for your great review concerning your last stay at our hotel in Monaco. I was glad to read that you enjoyed the different services available in the hotel, the attitude of the staff toward you and also the view from the room. Also thank you for rating our hotel 4 star. I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to Monaco.

Monika Horvath
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    873
    237
    54
    41
See reviews for
561
736
104
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
188 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Really 3.5 stars. This is not like the UK hotels – much smarter.

Positives – good for the price (Monte Carlo is NOT cheap)/OK for one night for a couple (longer for families)/ wide selection at breakfast (but don’t leave it too late)/friendly and helpful staff/free soft drinks in minibar/safe in room/pool/lots of space to sunbath/free 20 min slots of wi fi in public areas with printers

Negatives – check-in has limited staff, so a long wait is possible/pool can get overrun by screaming kinds/evening food not good/this is a family hotel with some very out of control children/on a steep hill to the harbour- not good if walking is a problem for you

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelMonteCarlo, Responsable relations clients at Novotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you very much for your detailed review concerning your last stay at the Novotel Monte Carlo. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the safety of our areas and also the different services proposed. I apologize for any inconvenience caused by the children in the hotel. I really look forward to welcoming you again in Monaco.

Monika Horvath
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here at the end of July and thought it was lovely.
Clean, spacious and accessible to everything.
Hotel staff lovely and friendly and a great centre for chilling out in the lobby.
Not fussed on the food in the restaurant but that's just personal preference.
Recommend staying here for sure... A little expensive but worth it for the comfort and location.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelMonteCarlo, Responsable relations clients at Novotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Many thanks for your comment regarding your last stay at the Novotel Monte-Carlo. I was pleased to read you found the staff friendly and thank you for recommending the other travellers staying in our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you again to Monaco.

Monika Horvath
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in March 2014.
We found it to be the perfect hotel for our stay.
On our arrival the receptionist speedily dealt with us. But we were sent to a room along a lengthy corridor and I asked the reception to change this, as my wife has a problem walking.
They then gave us a room opposite the lifts and this was very good.
The room was quite large with a bath and a walk in shower. It was kept spotlessly clean during our stay.
The food, both room service and in the restaurant, was superb, the breakfast was to die for and the staff were excellent.
We will certainly use this hotel again if staying in Monte Carlo.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobD589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelMonteCarlo, Responsable relations clients at Novotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your nice review concerning your stay at the Novotel Monte Carlo. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your room and happy to know you will certainly use our hotel again if staying in Monaco another time.

Monika Horvath
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was a nice hotel on the low-end of the spectrum.
Very nice common areas, and although we didn't eat at the restaurant, it smelled delicious, looked good and we heard many positive comments about it.
The room was average size, the bed was enormous. The bathroom had a small tub and a small shower - each separate. If they had them together, they may have had room for a full-size tub/shower combo. Overall not bad. Not the best, but definitely not bad for the price in Monaco.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guiseppe21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelMonteCarlo, Responsable relations clients at Novotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Many thanks for your great review concerning your last stay at the Novotel Monte Carlo. I was glad to notice you enjoyed the room and the hotel in general. I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon in Monaco.

Monika Horvath
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great value, clean hotel in good location with friendly staff. The hotel was very quiet, despite being busy and had very comfortable rooms even with 2 adults and 2 kids. The only slight issue is that Novotel do not make it clear how to find the hotel from the station and we made the mistake of going the long way round, up lots and lots of steps. When exiting the train make sure you head up the escalators at the end of the platform (not down). Turn left at the top of the escalators and walk to the lifts about 100 meters on the left. Take the lift to the top (only one stop), go up another set of escalators and exit the building. Turn left out of the building and the hotel is about 2-300 meters on the opposite side of the road.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMB1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelMonteCarlo, Responsable relations clients at Novotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your great review concerning your last stay at the Novotel Monte Carlo. I am sorry you got lost by leaving the train station. However, I really look forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you again in Monaco with your family.

Monika Horvath
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights with our 2 daughters aged 9 and 14 for a short break for the start of the school summer holidays. What a fab hotel is it. We had a standard room, which was quite compact, especially when 4 of us were in the same room and the wardrobe space was very limited but it was very modern and clean, it had a little balcony facing out the front of the hotel, tea/coffee facilities and a little fridge with complimentary bottled water. The hotel itself was delightful, kids loved the pool area which didn't open until 10.00am which was good as there was no-one getting up at the crack of dawn to reserve sunbeds, mind you the pool was freezing but once in you got acclimatised, you could have pool bar service to your sunbed or you could go to their little "Summer Terrace" for drinks and lunch in the shade and their food was lovely. Breakfast was good, (we had ours included in our deal) plenty of choice available from hot food, cold meats, fruit salad, yoghurts, pancakes etc, although at times you had to wait for the staff to top up the "hot food", bread, juices etc and the later you went down for breakfast the worse it was but that didn't really bother us as we were in no particular hurry. The hotel is in a really good location, turn left out of the hotel and you are at the Train Station where you can get the lifts down to Port Hercule and be there in 5 minutes, turn right out of the hotel and walk for about 5 minutes and you are in Casino Square. The hotel has a lovely bar area where you can sit and have a drink whilst the children play in the children's area (table football, X-Box, Jenga, Computer etc). Good views from "The Terrace" on the top floor of the hotel. All in all a really good hotel in a great location and at a decent price. Would definitely stay here again if we go back.

Room Tip: If there are 4 of you sharing a room, I would recommend upgrading to a more spacious room as our Sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelMonteCarlo, Responsable relations clients at Novotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your last experience at the Novotel Monte Carlo with other travellers. I am glad you had a pleasant stay with your whole family for the beginning of the school summer holidays. I was delighted to read you enjoyed the pool area, the restaurant and also the children area. I really look forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you again in Monaco.

Monika Horvath
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.8 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,261 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,580 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Monte Carlo

Property: Novotel Monte Carlo
Address: 16 Blvd Princesse Charlotte, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#3 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Monte Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Monte Carlo hotel is situated in the heart of the principality, just a short walk from the train station, the Place du Casino and the Grimaldi Forum. It has 218 rooms (including 10 Junior Suites), some with stunning views over the Rock of Monaco and the sea. It also boasts a restaurant, a bar and 12 rooms for meetings and conferences. The Novotel Monte Carlo is ideal for business travel or weekends in Monaco as a couple or with family. A secure public car park is available (charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Monte Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Novotel Hotel Monte Carlo
Accor Monte Carlo
Monte-Carlo Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing