We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant, relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SENTIDO Sandy Beach
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pyla
Certificate of Excellence
München
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A pleasant, relaxing stay”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed in September 2011 for a week as all inclusive guests.

#Hotel and environment
The Hotel is located directly on the beach about 30 minutes per bus from Larnaca Airport
which was a plus for me since I don't like long bus transfers. There are two other hotels on
each side.
The bus stop to Larnaca city is across the street, the bus leaves every 30 minutes (on
the hour and half past) on work days and the fee is 1 € per person and tour.
There are some mini-markets and bars and restaurants around the hotel. The restaurants
are expensive I've been told (no need since the Hotel food is good)

You could see the planes approaching and leaving in the distance but there was no noise to be heard since they were far away enough.

I guess the target group of this hotel is an older and laid-back audience. There was a
kids-club and there were some families with toddler-aged children but most of the guest
were pairs or group of friends.
A plus: there were no noisy or annoying guests who stood out negatively.

The whole hotel was refurbished recently and is very nice looking. The air-conditioned
lobby is held in white-coloured theme and I loved the lounge like sofas and rocking chair
like seats with the cushions.

#Check in
After we stepped into the lobby a bellman took care of our luggage.
The employees at the reception were very helpful. The safe for the room is not included
and about 12 € a week (17 € for two weeks).
A plus: the safe works with a customized pin code so you don't have to worry about
another key when at the beach etc.
As a all inclusive guest a beach towel who is changed every morning for each guest is
included (if they are not on the bed, ask the maid).
We haven't checked out the fitness club io the indoor pool but there is a ping-pong table.

After were brought to our room the bellman discovered that a lamp wasn't working, he
called a service technician who not only appeared after a few minutes to fix but also help
us setting up the safe.

#Room
Our room was located on the first floor on the non-pool side above the service area near
the front entry of the hotel. Other people have written that one's sleep would be
disturbed from the waste disposal and delivery cars but with closed windows we never
heard any trucks.

All rooms have a side-way view to the sea and beach and a direct view of one of the two
near-by hotels. On our side (facing away from the pool area) you may have trouble with
the rather noisy air-condition facility from the neighbour hotel, especially if your room
is located more to the sea-side. Since we were far away from sea side we had no problem
with this with windows closed (temperature usually never drops below 20 degrees Celsius
at night in September so you have to keep the windows closed and the air-condition on
anyway.) As I understand the rooms on the pool-side are more expensive. Here you will
hear the music played in the lounge if you go to bed early (music always
stopped at midnight, though).

#Food and Bars
There are two dining-halls. The main one is air-conditioned, the other opens to a nice
patio where you can look at the pool area and lawn. This is also were breakfast and lunch
is served. The pool bar is joined to this dining-hall. The snacks for AI guest are also
served here.

The dinner food was good. There was a selection of native dishes like Loukanika (Smoked
and spicy sausage)and Koupepkia (Stuffed vine leaves). There were different kinds of
pasta, fish, pork, lamb, beef, chicken etc. During our week we had lot of variety.
Breakfast is so-so, could use some diversification in the cheese and ham department. We
didn't go to lunch but enjoyed the snacks (fresh fruit, sandwiches, donuts and cakes
etc).
Be sure to book All Inclusive - it's worth it. Especially the beverages are very
expensive for non-AI guests. Be sure to the taste the local beer (Keo), though. Very tasty.

The staff at the bar and restaurants was very attentive. They even came to our table to
take our orders although were wore AI wristbands (never had this before, I was used to
always get my stuff myself at the bar as an AI guest). The bar(wo)men were Eastern European, yes but nice, the other staff were mainly natives.
The whole stuff is an asset for the hotel: efficient but not hectic, friendly, polite and obliging, never intrusive or with
artificial friendliness. You felt really cared for and welcome.

#Entertainment
Entertainment was every evening in the so called Meltemi Lounge which included one of the
two outside bars and had very comfortably seating areas (mostly the the rocking-chairs
like seating). There was the mandatory country-typical evening on Tuesdays with a
musician and a folklore group who showed some Greek folk dances complete with the
traditional costumes (the "dance with the glasses" was really amusing).
The musician (who on some other evenings also appeared as an solo act and hat a nice
voice) played a bouzouki live to some backing music from this computer and played various
style of music: From the mandatory sirtaki and zorbas to pop-classics and some contemporary Greek pop-music.
Another evening a piano man was playing some really nice relaxing music.

On weekends there is special kind of Entertainment: As some people already wrote, the
hotels (as the other two next-doors) are used for weddings. But don't panic it is not a
bad as it sound, On the contrary this was quite a funny experience.
For us as guest this meant the pool attendants began to remove the sun beds and
umbrellas from the lawn on late afternoon. We were not bothered or chased away, they
simply removed the unused sunbeds. Some tables and chairs were put on the lawn. The beach and pool could be used as usual.
From my observations (which may be totally wrong) Wedding Cypryotic style goes like this: all wedding guest form a long queue. The bridal pair welcomes all their guests, they shake hand with each guest while the guests move forward like a cog wheel through the hotel's pool area. The wedding guest hand over an envelope with money to the bridal pair, weddings guests get a glass of champagne and some hors d'oeuvre and a wedding favour - and then they leave. A small group of wedding guest is invited to main dining-hall where a huge buffet is set up. The whole ordeal ends around 11 p.m.

During the preparations the hotel switched on some speakers near the beach to play some
cool, unobtrusive chill-out music. (the beach becomes almost deserted after 5pm). We sat
with our cocktails on the sunbeds, watched the sun go down while great music played. A
true Café del Mar moment...
another big advantage: Dinner was serve on the restaurant with the patio. If it were up
to me they should always serve dinner in this dining-hall this was way nicer than sitting
in the air-conditioned, closed dining-hall.

#Beach and Water
The beach is small but nice. It's raked everyday. If you see some plastic or cigarette
buts they have been thrown there by your fellow hotel guests during day. There are two
showers and two faucets where you can clean your feet after leaving the beach.

There are some pebbles on the water's edge but nothing one could not step over. The shore has nice sandy underground, the water is really shallow for several meters so great for people who can't swim. There are some nice waves and you can swim a few meters until your reach the buoy that limits the bathing area from the shipping traffic.

#The Pool
The pool area is nice looking and clean. There are two outside pool and a smaller indoor
pool in the fitness club. The outside pools seem to be filled with chlorinated fresh
water. The kiddie pool could use some sun protection since it's in direct sun exposure
almost all day.

There is also a lawn with sunbeds and umbrellas in addition to the umbrellas and sunbeds
on the beach. There was a lifeguard for the pool area and two pool attendants that
cleaned the sunbeds from sand. I haven't seen any broken umbrellas and sunbeds and there were plenty of them. There are also some shadowy areas (thanks to the palms) on the lawn for people who get sunburned easily.

#Check Out
A disadvantage: You have to check out of your room at 12 o'clock. There is a luggage room
and you can use all hotel facilities and AI until your transfer but the only (as in
really only one shower) possibility to shower is in the fitness club. It would be a huge
plus if the hotel could offer a temporary shower room where guests can shower and get
dressed before the leave for the airport. I've seen this offered in other hotels before.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StummerWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    414
    100
    35
    21
See reviews for
304
486
54
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I have stayed in this hotel several times now. This year I was there in the first two weeks of September, so it was at the end of the summer season and as a result it was quiet and not crowded. However, this changed at night when they had their own music based entertainment most nights plus the noise from the Golden Bay Hotel next door on some nights. Typically the music would last until midnight. This was only an issue on the nights we really wanted to sleep or when the combined noise from the two hotels was just horrible.

The entertainment from the Sandy Beach however was pretty good if you were in the mood for it.

If you plan to stay in the hotel all day then consider the "all-inclusive" package as the price for drinks is rather high. For example, a small bottle of fizzy drink like Fanta or Coke is 3.5 euros, the local shops sell can which are larger and only 85 cents.

In our room we did not have any power points to charge up the selection of gadgets that we find essential on any trip. In order to charge anything, we had to unplug the (ancient) TV. I think this is a result of the recent refurbishment as I have not had this issue before. Wifi is available for a reasonable charge but you have to ask for it.

My final observations are that the hotel is very clean and all the staff are very friendly and try to help out whenever they can. If you want to stay away from really crowded resorts then this is a good choice.

Room Tip: See if you can get a suite consisting of two rooms. I thought I was getting this as I asked for a Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Helpful?
Thank UKBasedCypriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here with our young son at the beginning of September and this review is in no particular order!

The hotel's public areas look nice and has it's own beach with a bay that is only waist deep for a hundred yards, so great for families. I would suggest the hotel would be a mediocre 3* and not a 4* hotel.

The hotel staff are 99% eastern European, which was great for the many Russians staying there, but for us (English) there was a language issue on occasion, but other than that the bar and restaurant service was good. The lady who checked the mini bar was an Australian lady who was lovely and our Housekeeper (Joanna) was very helpful.

Although they do provide beach/pool towels, they aren't much bigger than a decent hand towel so I would suggest you take your own! The laundry service in the hotel is reasonable so you can get them cleaned and returned within two days.

The beach is small and gets busy, but you can usually find sunbeds. The sand doesn't seem to get cleaned and everywhere has lots of cigarette butts, which isn't nice so just watch out if your little one wants to play in the sand.

Now, a word to the wise... We booked a Superior Room as we have a little boy and you know how they always have to cram an extra bed in when you book '2 adults +1 child'. So the child's bed was a rollaway pushed against the patio door so we couldn't use the balcony as there was nowhere to move the bed to... We actually thought we'd been put into a Standard Room by mistake, but get this... The Standard, Superior and Executive are all exactly the same size!! The only difference is that the Executive Room has a King Size Bed instead of two singles pushed together. So save your well-earned money and don't bother paying more for a bigger room as the only bigger rooms are the Suites (which are EURO140 per night extra!).

The hotel advertised a Children's Club, which was one of the reasons for booking this hotel so we could have an hour together by the pool whilst our son played with other kids under supervision. There was no Children's Club during our stay. We were told we could take our son to the 'play room' and stay with him, so we went to take a look out of curiosity... The room was sparse apart from a few broken toys and a rather sinister looking dolly with a felt-tip 'Hitler-type' moustache!

Now then, spa. HA! There is NO SPA. There is no space for a spa. There is a running machine and a few weights etc, but nothing like the luxury I was expecting for a few well-earned massages and maybe a manicure etc. We were told we must use the hotel next door (The Golden Bay). What a joke. We told the manager they shouldn't advertise a spa on their website as this was another factor in booking the hotel.

Larnaca Bay was quiet when we were there, but there are lots of nice restaurants that although look quiet, serve great food and have friendly waiting staff. Not every restaurant has a children's menu, but the ones who don't will serve a 'scaled down' dish for your little one. A few favourite restaurants coming to mind are 'Daniel's' (across the road from Sandy Beach), 'Hot Shots' (behind Daniel's) and Mama's (a short walk off to the right as you come out of the gate of Sandy Beach).

There is a bowling alley, which is a fun way to keep out of the sun when you're a bit pink! It also serves great food (try the chicken skewers!) and is licensed.

The outdoor swimming areas are pleasant and appear well kept. There are plenty of beds around the pools and also on the grass a few feet back. You can get waiter service by the pool if you're lucky ;-) [Tip: tip well at the start of your holiday so they look for you and come to you for your drinks order ;-)]

Breakfast is nothing to shout about, but sufficient. If you like your morning coffee, I'd suggest taking your own sachets as the breakfast coffee is via a machine and dismal.

The taxis seem to have standard tariffs and Larnaca Town is only 10 minutes away (taxi rank across the road from hotel) and costs EURO10 each way.

If you manage to visit Larnaca, make time for St Lazarus church and the Castle. Also a for a fabulour steak and great service, try 'Nados' beside the castle. You pay a bit more, but the food and service was impeccable for our visit.

Oh, and if the hotel has a party during your stay, be prepared to be awake until past 3am. The parties are by the poolside in the open air and are certainly not 'private functions'. We were on the back of the hotel in a 'quiet' room, but there were two weddings during our stay and the discos are booked until 2am and play full blast without any regard for hotel guests. We suggested that although the parties were on until 2am, surely as a courtesy to hotel guests the DJ could turn the volume down from around midnight. Our suggestion fell on deaf ears unfortunately...

Room Tip: Don't pay over the odds for the same room size for the sake of a King Bed and bath robes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brommies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The hotel is clean, beautiful,fluent interior design, reasonable prices at the bar and restaurants, staff is very nice and helpful.
The king size mattress by the central pool are a genius idea!
The location is a bit isolated but that actually was a bonus for us since the place was not overcrowded...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank balbalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Good hotel, nice food and away from the crowds. There is a swimming pool, in addition to the private beach. The conference facilities are good and there is a business center with free internet access. Free wi-fi access is provided for conference participants.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the pool, away from the elavators and on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cluj-napoca
Level Contributor
157 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We are a family from Romania, with 2 kids and we stayed at this hotel from 15th to 22nd july 2011. In a scale from 1 to 10, I can hardly give this hotel a 7.5 note...
First of all, this is NOT a 4* hotel as they pretend... I travelled around Europe, in many countries, but for sure this one is far from being a 4* hotel. We went there to relax, to try something different from our country, but I felt nothing different :(. Same like at our sea, but 3 times more expensive...
We held an apartment, with 2 rooms, 2 bathrooms, 2 balconies, 2 TV's, which was more than ok, but anyway, NOT like in the pictures they put on their website...Maybe they stolen them from another site :)
The housekeeprs were trying to clean up, but ended lamely...Everyday I've found sand on the floor, and if u look under the bed, u feel like a creature will jump on u in the next second...
Meal was pretty poor. In 7 days, at breakfast there was the same things every day, no changes. Being with HB, we took the dinner as a second meal. This was ok, good food, and every day some of them were new. One day we want at lunch... Totally disaster ! Restaurant almost empty, 1 type of soup, 2-3 other meals... Lame again !
Even Cyprus is considered part greek, part turkish, they don't have same sweets :( .
"Baclava", known very well in both Greece and Turkey, was totally absent here... 3-4 types of sweets every day, and a few fruits, cut in ordinary pieces... No arrangements, or other "ikebana" like in other hotels...
Every night, before taking place to eat, a waiter came to ask what we want to drink. We told him, he writted down, and brought us the drinks.But...only in the 4th night we found out that the drinks are not included, and we have to pay for them !!! Nobody told that to us, they just took the order and poot it on the room, without us to sign it or something...
The main pool is very large, clean and ok. But one day, at 10.00 am when it was full of people, they came to clean it and everybody were took out of the pool...The cleaning last 2 hours, so we all were fried at 33 Celsius...They could have done it very well from 7 to 9, when the pool was empty of swimmers...No respect for tourists...
The beach... Ok... But the water - bleah. A lot of garbages were floating all around the water..Plastics, bags, empty cans, food, patches..Weah...
Everything is very expensive there.At restaurant, a 0.33 l beer, 4.5 eur (the cheapest !). One evening, we were out with 2 friends, we took normal food, nothing especially, and for 4 adults and 2 kids, we have paid 130 eur !!! Very expensive comparing to other countries where with this money u can eat at least 2 times, same persons !
The receptionist was ok, helped us with all we needed, even a doctor, so she was very kind.
Anyway...

If u wanna go to Cyprus, choose Ayia Napa or Paphos.And be prepared to spend loads of money ;)
Overall, it wasn't very bad, but I won't go there again ! Maybe after I'll visit other locations in Europe and around, but for sure, if it will be Cyprus, will be other location and only with recommendation from someone who already was there !

Enjoy your holiday, wherever it will be !

Room Tip: Being perpendicular on the sea, any room has sea view, so any room could be ok. The apartment is ok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank horaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Firstly this is not a 4* hotel by any international rating system. It is clean, functional and has had some recent investment in upgrading which makes it an acceptable 3* establishment.

Internally the reception area is large and uncluttered if a bit soulless and reception is efficient if a little cool. Bedroom was large, clean and comfortable but has had all the power points blanked apart from the TV and fridge. So to use laptops, other electrical equipment and recharge phones is a pain. Wireless broadband is available but expensive (€20for 10 hours.) The AC didn't work and took three days to be partially rectified.

There is no information in the hotel regards its own and the surrounding area's facilities.

The pool and garden area is very large, attractive and well maintained. The beach is small and not cleaned to a good standard with cigarette ends, paper and general detritus. However the swimming area is safe and would be good for young children.

Breakfast is a fairly standard buffet offer and no other meals were taken in the hotel.

Around the hotel there are a few low calibre restaurants, supermarkets, car hire companies etc. but the area isn't particularly attractive and Larnaca is a 10 minute taxi drive away. Larnaca is noisy and brash around the Marina but go into the older part and it is quite pleasant.

In summary the Sandy Beach is OK but falls short of most descriptions of it and the area is quiet and and rough round the edges.

Room Tip: Side sea view gets late afternoon sun on the balcony and pool side view would be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuswarpBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyla
0.0 mi away
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Lordos Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Achilleos City Hotel
Achilleos City Hotel
#4 of 39 in Larnaka City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Ciao Stelio Deluxe Hotel
The Ciao Stelio Deluxe Hotel
#3 of 39 in Larnaka City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rise Hotel
Rise Hotel
#1 of 39 in Larnaka City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Sandy Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Sandy Beach

Property: SENTIDO Sandy Beach
Address: Larnaka-Dekeleia Road | PO Box 40857, Pyla, Larnaka City 6307, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City > Pyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pyla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Sandy Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, the Sandy Beach Hotel in Larnaca, is located right on the beach of Dhekelia,situated on a beautiful stretch of sand overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Offering one of the most beautiful views the Sandy Beach has all the modern facilities of a four star hotel with professional and friendly service typical of Cyprus. SENTIDO Sandy Beach is ideal for everyone who wants to spend the days at the beach or at the pool with a lagoon-shaped pool. The hotel offers also a gym, as well as some of sporting activities. If you prefer to relax, we recommend you to visit the spa. With its three restaurants, three bars and a lounge, SENTIDO Sandy Beach caters for many culinary interests. In addition, there are several tavernas, restaurants and bars nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookcyprus.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SENTIDO Sandy Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Larnaca
Hotel Sandy Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing