We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing first wedding night stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of SENTIDO Sandy Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SENTIDO Sandy Beach
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pyla
Certificate of Excellence
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“disappointing first wedding night stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed at Sandy Beach hotel this week for one night, which was the first night of our wedding (which took place elsewhere). When I called to book the room, the reservations were very polite, and they even agreed to let us stay at the room until 3pm the next day - as we would arrive around 5am in the morning. We booked one of the executive rooms for 154 euros with breakfast. Having visited the hotel several times for wedding receptions and had pleasant experiences, and having booked one of the expensive rooms our expectations were high. However, when we arrived at 5am (still in wedding dress and all) we were greeted grumpily by a very sleepy receptionist who barely looked at us, let alone wish us something for the wedding, and who simply passed the key to us and told us 'third floor'. Needless to say we had to carry our stuff on our own to the room which was quite disappointing for an 'executive room'. It seems that when the hotel was renovated a few years ago they chose the cheapest materials (for example all lightings were from IKEA) while they left the bathrooms the same. There was only shampoo, shower gel and soap provided (I really needed the hair conditioner that night) and there was absolutely nothing complimentary in the room for newlyweds - not even a card! We were woken up early in the morning by maintenance people shouting at each other in the corridor, asking each other for tools from one room to the other! Breakfast the next morning was also disappointing - despite the variety it was not 4 star quality. It is served in a white decorated restaurant downstairs, which may look nice in photos but again has a much cheaper feeling than a 4 star restaurant. We were out by 10am the next morning as we were so disappointed we didnt even want to use the pools. Though it was clean and generally OK, it was simply not worth the money we spent and they definitely didnt treat a newly-wed couple as they should have. We are not going back I'm afraid.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank elphabalondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    403
    96
    33
    21
See reviews for
296
476
49
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

I booked a double room at this hotel, but upon arrival was given a twin room which I have stayed in 2 star hotels that have 10 times better. I was absolutely shocked to be told by the duty manager that a double room comes with twin beds!! Upon quizzing him what is a twin room? He replied a room with two beds?! And the a double room aparrently you have to request a double bed! At which point I pointed the difference only to be told "we can talk about is all evening but it won't change anything"

Absolutely disgraceful behaviour from a duty manager. Motel standard rooms, at 5 star prices.

Avoid at all costs

Room Tip: Avoid all rooms unless they pay you to stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Raj L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

One of three similar hotels on the beach strip, the Sandy Beach has a classy lobby and garden which is not quite matched by the small rooms which are somewhat faded. Still a pleasant short stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

The hotel is a big resort hotel, nicely decorated with good service (appart from the pool restaurant!)
There are 2 nice swimming pools and access to the beach- the beach area is poor, small and ugly.
Rooms are nice and big.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ACandEdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

It was a very great experience to stay in Sandy Beach in June 2012. We liked especially very good services and great work of staff. Many thanks for all, who made it as a miracle for us. We stayed for two weeks from 02.06 till 16.06. and we really enjoyed it. Very unusual style, nice people, very testy food.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Svetlana U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

All i can say is EXCELLENT HOLIDAYS
Location. Hotel is located on the first line right on the sea. We came to Larnaca airport and in 15 min we were in our hotel
Hotel. Renovated. The important thing for us is cleaning! The hotel is clean, bight and in white colors.
Room. We had excellent room with perfect sea view.
Territory. Green, a lot palms. There are 2 outdoors pools for adults and 2 for children.
Sea. Its a bay. there are waterbreaks so the sea is always calm! It was good for our child
Food. Always fresh and tasty. A lot of salads and everyday soups for lunch and dinner
There is new SPA. Nice and relaxing! We enjoy our treatments.
Everyevening is live music!
So its perfect for calming and relaxing holidays and of course to enjoy each other

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

As always we had a wonderful short break. Our room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. All the staff were very friendly and helful.
There were a couple of small problems that were annoying at the time, but that has to be expected from a Hotel that size. It was not enough to spoil our Holiday. Usual problem of Guests putting Towels on Loungers and chairs, to stop other people useing them but that is all down to selfishness of guests and not fault of Sandy Beach. Very impressed with all new furnature and guess that eventually will be changeing the old blue mattresses on loungers nearer the beach.
Over all we thought the service was excellent and nothing worth making a fuss about. We certainly will be staying with you again. Thank You Sandy Beach. Sorry we missed seeing Thalia who was very helpful when we made our Booking.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyla
0.1 mi away
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Lordos Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Achilleos City Hotel
Achilleos City Hotel
#5 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Ciao Stelio Deluxe Hotel
The Ciao Stelio Deluxe Hotel
#3 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rise Hotel
Rise Hotel
#1 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Sandy Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Sandy Beach

Property: SENTIDO Sandy Beach
Address: Larnaka-Dekeleia Road | PO Box 40857, Pyla, Larnaka City 6307, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City > Pyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pyla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Sandy Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, the Sandy Beach Hotel in Larnaca, is located right on the beach of Dhekelia,situated on a beautiful stretch of sand overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Offering one of the most beautiful views the Sandy Beach has all the modern facilities of a four star hotel with professional and friendly service typical of Cyprus. SENTIDO Sandy Beach is ideal for everyone who wants to spend the days at the beach or at the pool with a lagoon-shaped pool. The hotel offers also a gym, as well as some of sporting activities. If you prefer to relax, we recommend you to visit the spa. With its three restaurants, three bars and a lounge, SENTIDO Sandy Beach caters for many culinary interests. In addition, there are several tavernas, restaurants and bars nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your SENTIDO Sandy Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Larnaca
Hotel Sandy Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing