We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sandy Bay short break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sandy Bay studio

Sandy Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sandy Bay
Sandy Bay View of Sandy Bay from the top of the Rock.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Sandy Bay
Sandy Bay
View of Sandy Bay from the top of the Rock.
The beach
Sandy bay
The great sand dune
Catalan Bay
Dusk
Your bed
Private terrace
Outside patio
Front entrance
Private terrace
Full moon rising
La Mamela restaurant for amazing food, just down the road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sandy Bay

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Paul H
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sandy Bay short break”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
4
people found this review helpful

A warm welcome from Carol meeting us upon our arrival and a few minutes to show us all we needed to know about the apartment. A nice welcome pack of essentials plus something tasty to enjoy on the balcony overlooking the Mediterranean.

We could sit for hours just looking out to sea and listen to the waves. Whilst the temperature was a little on the cool side the balcony is a perfect sun trap to compensate for these rare occasions when it's not hot in Gib.

Only a short wait for a bus too take us into town/Ocean Village or an inexpensive taxi - Carol's guide sheet has the taxi number. Bathroom and kitchen facilities, everything you need home from home and a comfy bed too.

We will certainly be returning.

Best regards
Paul and Eileen

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

It was a wonderful stay at Carol's studio. She is very hospitable. It was a cosy stay. We were right on the beach. Apartment had all the necessary arrangements in place. Though market is a bit far and one has to travel by bus or car to get groceries. But Carol was kind enough to give us a ride to mkt on arrival.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Sandy Bay studio and your kind comments. We are pleased you found everything to your satisfaction and look forward to welcoming you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
884Chris
Plymouth
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Completely amazing!!!!”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a week here for our wedding anniversary.....couldn't believe how lucky we were to find this place. It was perfect! Everything was perfect and Carol was SO nice and very accommodating, even though we were late arriving! Have tried to look for suitable dates for this year, but she's busy all year and we are totally gutted. Will book mega early next year as we can't wait to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ncbll
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant apartment.”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this apartment for 10 days. It was a joy. The weather was extremely hot, and we were so relieved to find the apartment had aircon, a must.
The apartment is well decorated and is a studio type premises. It has everything you could need, and Carol was there to greet us. There was tea and coffee supplied which was great.
The view from the balcony cannot be beaten, if you like a sea view.
The one piece of advice I feel I can now give having stayed in Sandy Bay twice now is; when booking add at least £10 to £15 daily, for bus fare and taxis. Sandy Bay is the other side of the rock, where all of the attractions, bars etc are. There are some in the Catalan Bay only a short walk away, but still most things are a bit further away. The buses stop running between 9 and 10 pm, hence the use of taxis. The buses are extremely regular.
However I still highly recommend this apartment as value for money and a brilliant place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Aircon and views.
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Sandy Bay Studio and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Sandy Bay is indeed a little out of the way and whilst the peace and quiet is a welcome relief from the hustle and bustle of Main Street, public transport is a must and the cost can add up if used on a daily basis. The buses run frequently and an all day hop on hop off is just £2.40. There is also a night bus service which runs half hourly from 9.15pm to 2am costing £2.00 however, this is only on Friday and Saturday nights during the summer months and Fridays only during the winter. Perhaps the bus Gibraltar bus company will consider extending their night bus service in the future ! Thanks again for your review and do hope to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
scarsheff
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Sandy Bay studio”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This was our first full holiday to Gibraltar but it won't be our last. We booked our own flights and landed at Gibraltar Airport about, 8.30 a taxi cost us 6 pounds to the both worlds complex. Carol was there to meet us and was very helpful. This particular studio chalet style flat is on the top tier by the road. For me and my wife it was ideal just a room with a bed, a few chairs and table in it with a small kitchen with all the items you need. Plus a bathroom to one side with shower. It’s very compact and comfortable. There is a nice patio with table and chairs and it was lovely to sit outside just watching the ships and listening to the waves. The scenery is stunning and watching the sunrise & sunset every day was magical. The rock itself is literally right behind you, Carol was most helpful and accommodating and we loved our little welcome pack,
The Calleta Hotel is a 5 minute walk away and has some lovely bars. Also in Catalan Bay is a restaurant called, Michael Angelo’s which served good portions and was cheap. Also it does takeaways if you fancy a meal staying in. There is a bus to the bus station out side Casemates Square and from there you can catch any bus and travel anywhere for jus t£2.40 for two adults for a hopper ticket. The bus stop is just a 5 minute walk away outside both worlds reception, the last bus back is 9pm. A couple of nights we stayed late and the Taxi's from the Square were around 6 pounds.
There isn't much room to park if you are thinking of hiring a car” Especially in the afternoons when most of the people go to the beach, we walked to Main Street for the shopping, Duty free galore” one day we took the cable car to the top of the rock to see the monkeys and admire an even greater view to Morocco. The Alameda Gardens is lovely for a quiet stroll, and visited the Wildlife Park inside the gardens: apes, reptiles, exotic birds, pot-bellied pig, another bus trips, are all quite short trips 10 mins took us to Europa Point. A lighthouse and gun battery with a lovely promenade area with a café which can be expensive, with restrooms facility. Although it is within walking distance from Both Worlds the southerly way round they discourage it as you have to pass through a tunnel which is small and the traffic is quite fast there. So I recommend taking the bus. At Casemates we had fish and chips at Roy’s, which I highly recommend and very tasty. We shopped at Morrison’s for our shopping just like home!
The cable car station is a few hundred metres walk from Main Street, going which goes through the centre of Gibraltar. The ticket office offers a variety of options allowing you one way up and a walk down, or return with the option of paying also for entrance to the museums on the rock.
The cable car gets you swiftly up to the top with fantastic views of the town and across the water to Spain.
You are met by the monkeys at the top! Be warned, hold onto bags and don't take plastic bags up unless you are prepared to loose them to monkeys!
The views are great. We could see Africa clearly. If the wind blows from the west, I think, the top is shrouded in cloud and views of Africa can be hit and miss.
After taking the views in, have a slow walk down the rock doing all the sties,
We also did the Mediterranean Steps. Going down it”, Loved doing this walk! It is quite a strenuous walk as it's very steep and narrow in places but there are hand rails to help you along the way. The path twists and winds its way around the rock and the views are fabulous. Definitely worth doing but do wear sturdy footwear.


Just like to thank Carol for a Lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nice views and private
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizzyNorr...
Norristhorpe
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Amazing location, well equipped clean accommodation. Wonderful views over the beach & sea. We went back to Gibraltar to celebrate our first wedding anniversary & had a wonderful time at both worlds, Carol & Chris even left us a card & a bottle of wine, we would love to return sometime soon. x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Noise from the road
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Thank you Liz for taking the time to review Sandy Bay studio and so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We would love to welcome you again and hopefully see you for your second anniversary. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing