We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Стильно и удобно”
Review of Villa Gutenbrunn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Gutenbrunn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Стильно и удобно”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Almost a week passed after I left your unforgettable Villa. Your remarkable hotel surpassed my expectations based on your website.
You managed to create something very special, very different from all Baden hotels which seem too prim for me. Villa Gutenbrunn is the most smart and stylish place I’ve ever met.
You are very hospitable and not annoying, your atmosphere is exquisite, elegant and charming without being pretentious.

All these would be impossible without your terrific Director Gerald "Gerard" Grossbauer, an outstanding personality who managed to develop “an individual hotel”. I was astonished by his knowledge of people, art, history and psychology. I suppose it’s mostly his merit that such wonderful staff meet your guests – Lilian and László, and all other ladies, warm and tolerant, polite and not intruding.

Sorry, but I cannot find proper words to express my excellent impressions related to Villa Gutenbrunn and the people I met between September 7 and 14, 2013.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald G, Inhaber at Villa Gutenbrunn, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Google Translation
Wenn man diesen Kommentar liest, könnte man vielleicht sogar glauben, dass hier jemand geschrieben hat, der eine besonders persönliche Beziehung zu unserem Hotel besitzt. Wir schwören, dass das keineswegs der Fall ist. Wir haben einfach unsere Arbeit getan, unser normales Angebot "abgeliefert" und freuen uns -wieder einmal- riesig, dass unser Stil und unsere Art, ein Hotel zu betreiben, bei manchen Menschen eine deartige Freude auslöst, wie sie hier auch geschildert wird. Dem Schreiber dieser Zeilen fällt es jetzt selbst schwer, die richtigen Worte des Danks zu finden, er findet diesen Kommentar schlicht und einfach nur berührend (die LeserInnen mögen bitte verzeiehen, auch als Geschäftsmann hat man dann die glücklichsten Momente wenn man spürt, dass Kunden zufrieden bis glücklich sind). Auch unsere MItarbeiterInnen haben diese Bewertung gelesen und sind glücklich, wenn sie solche Kommentare von Gästen lesen dürfen. Und so fällt uns eigentlich nur ein probates Wort für diese aus Russland kommende Bewertung ein: "spasibo"!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    66
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
44
85
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
russia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The room and bathroom were very large. The breakfast buffet had a wide range and the staff has always tried everything that was available. I particularly liked this historic house generally because of the enormous ceiling height in the rooms and in the hotel. The very competent and friendly (Hungarian) porter could get me to the hotel check-out help to the Internet, what did not work in the room

Room Tip: Better upper rooms have a view from the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexi7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald G, Inhaber at Villa Gutenbrunn, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you very much for your comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is a quiet and peaceful house and we were very comfortable. The rooms are large and adequately furnished and breakfast was excellent -- Anglo-Saxon visitors should always avoid continental hot food choices because they are never quite what you expected.

We were entirely satisfied; but the house is "period" meaning not everything is modern; and it is not full-service, in that there is no dinner, no bar (they will produce drinks for you at reception), no porter to help you with your luggage, and no restful sitting room. (There is a smallish room but it is rather claustrophobic. No pool either, although there is a corridor to the public spa and swimming pool. Priding itself on being a non-designer hotel, it plays its own choice of music in that room, and projects ancient silent films onto a screen in reception.) By the way Beethoven stayed here for a couple of summers while he was finishing the 9th Symphony, but I think the building has been reconstructed since then.

I repeat we were entirely satisfied, but your expectations may vary. As someone else said, Baden is not what it once was, but there is a band concert in the Kurgarten three afternoons a week. We ate most nights at the Badener Eck nearby, a quite downmarket but wonderfully genuine restaurant and bar. We loved it!

Room Tip: We paid extra for the superior room; it's huge (although the furnishing is spartan) with its own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Afterbrunel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald G, Inhaber at Villa Gutenbrunn, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review! It is great help for us. Let me just add the following comment: we are simply too small to run a "full" bar and a restaurant. Since there are so many options around the hotel, guests prefer to go outside. Reading that you enjoyed makes us happy also, since this is the most important issue in what we do! And we are glad about your analysis of our product which we would call "extremely objective". We appreciate, thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Villa Gutenbrunn is a very confortable hotel, building 1800 renovated, big and quiet room, very clean,, excellent breakfast (cereals, fresh orange juice, fruits, yoghourt, viennoiserie.....) The staff very helpful, good english, you feel welcome.... easily accessible from Vienna (train, bus from Vienna Opera direct, tram). Covered access to the spa... a dream to swimm for hours (No lmitation of time for a fee of 23 Euros) in THERMAL Water. Contrary to most spa it is not overcrowed and you can really swimm.... sauna, excellent massage, gym etc... Baden is a perfect spo t to bicycle around in the vineyard. Found the best steak ever in a trendy restaurant 'El Gaucho'.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 337coco2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald G, Inhaber at Villa Gutenbrunn, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for this nice review. I simply want to let everybody know that the admission to neigboring spa "Roemertherme" is only approx. EUR 17,-- for full day! (instead of 23,--). So it is even less! :-)
Thank you once again, it is a great honor for us to receive this nice review-we hope to see you again...whoever the customer was....!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a rather boring town! While Baden was clearly once a beautiful spa town, it is now a little run down and dull, with only the Spa to recommend it (and that's not great - although I had a great massage by a man there!). Villa Gutenbrunn is a beautiful building and although right in the town, it has the feel of a place in the country. It is quite and the rooms are large and light. We had a corner room with two very large windows and a table and chairs. It was large but the bathroom wasn't terribly functional - on two nights running the hot water had run out and we couldn't bath (warm enough for showers). Also, we asked for a kettle to make tea in our room (standard in most hotels) and were told that we would be charged 7 Euros a day for a kettle! Having said that, there is free internet in the rooms. The salon is nice and some evenings live music is available. The breakfasts were ok, but by about 9am, the 'cooked food' is old, tired and dried out... All in all, a good place to stay but not sure Baden is worth more than a day's visit. Vienna is an hour away on the tram and 30-40 mins on the train (although the station is a 15 min walk away).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CH3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald G, Inhaber at Villa Gutenbrunn, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Thank you for taking your time for a review! To start with the negative incident first: it was the only day we ever had since we exist, that there was a problem with hot water. Still we feel sorry for the inconvenience! Tea for EUR 7,-- is "as much as you want" including 2 cups and several tea bags. Considering that every coffeehouse in Vienna the cup of tea costs approx. EUR 3,50 we do honestly not feel that the quoted rate is unfair!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This is not a full service hotel. It's really more a B&B, though the breakfast is quite good. But it's set in pleasant grounds, very quiet, with big, stylish, high-ceilinged rooms, and capable, friendly staff. The tram service to Vienna is a five minute walk, the Roman spa (which includes a gym) attached by a corridor. A plessant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Opera-loverOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald G, Inhaber at Villa Gutenbrunn, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
thank you for your friendly review, we appreciate! Yes, we "only" offer breakfast and no other meals due to economic reasons (37 rooms only) and due to the fact that there are plenty of restaurants and wine-taverns in the vicinity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Very nice quite hotel. Friendly staff always helpful. Historical building with a great special soul. I really enjoyed during my short vacation. Wish to all staff the best. Thanks to all staff special thanks to a lady at reception who has checked me in in the evening on the 5th of may. Marina.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marinaaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald G, Inhaber at Villa Gutenbrunn, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Thank you for your compliments, Marina! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baden
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Weikersdorf
0.3 mi away
At the Park Hotel
At the Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Baden
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Herzoghof
Hotel Herzoghof
#3 of 10 in Baden
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Admiral am Kurpark
0.1 mi away
Badener Hof
Badener Hof
#6 of 10 in Baden
30 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Landhaus Moserhof
Hotel Landhaus Moserhof
#1 of 3 in Gumpoldskirchen
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Gutenbrunn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gutenbrunn

Property: Villa Gutenbrunn
Address: Rollettgasse 6, Baden 2500, Austria
Region: Austria > Lower Austria > Baden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Gutenbrunn 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique-Hotel at the heritage-protected mansion. Where Beethoven once composed, today contemporary meets historic ambience with individual touch. Individual, generous, laid-back and cozy. Only 37 rooms, non-smoking rooms only, but a smokers-lounge available. Free W-LAN, private corridor to the neighboring spa „Roemertherme“. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Villa Gutenbrunn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing