We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant historical hotel for a calm trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Herzoghof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Herzoghof
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Elegant historical hotel for a calm trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed at Herzoghof hotel for 2 weeks Christmas and New year holidays. Location of this hotel is perfect: it stands opposite Kurpark and Grand Casino Baden, several paces from historical town centre, shops and 15 min walk from the railway station.

We ordered in advance suite, which consisted of 2 separated rooms. It is very convenient, because our 11 years old son had his own room, and my wife and I could relax. Suite was decorated in Art Deco style, as well as a whole building. Our bedroom had beautiful view on Kurpark and Grand Casino, and second room overlooked courtyard. The suite was also equipped with a capsule coffee-tea machine, and I have to say that it made a great espresso.

Breakfast was served in a spacious hall with 5 m height ceiling and beautiful stained-glassed window on the wall. The variety and quality of dishes was more than sufficient: even salmon, melon, fresh fruits, and prossecco were offered every day.

Staff at the reception were friendly, English-speaking and responded to all our enquiries promptly.

The ambience in the hotel was very calm and elegant. We saw a lot of Austrian couples, pensioners and families with kids who stayed in this hotel, or just got together for breakfast or dinner. Recognition from the locals was evidence, that hotel offer is of good quality.

Baden by itself is a unique city, which preserves imperial ambience, has many opportunities for walking in the fresh air and has a superb infrastructure for traveling around Lower Austria. It’s quite easy to get from Baden to such small historical towns and sights such as Modling, Wiener Neustadt, Krems, Melk Abbey, Klosterneuburg and many others.

I would highly recommended Herzoghof hotel in Baden for travelers who prefer to combine calm relaxation with short distance trips to historical places without crowds of tourists.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sergey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    15
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
37
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Hotel Herzoghof is a grand old lady with still a lot of character. Rooms were large and well appointed. Breakfast was better than average but perhaps not as extensive as one might hope from a hotel of this standard. There is a beautiful stain glass panel that brings the dining area to life and captures the mood of the hotel in its heyday. It is perfectly located opposite the casino for those who are interested in losing their money on the tables. It is an easy walk into the town or to the rose gardens. It's a little more expensive than its neighbours and while the accommodation is charming and pleasant there wasn't any 'Wow-factor' in what was on offer. However, the jewel in the crown for us was the staff in reception. I had difficulty getting a large rental car down their very narrow driveway. Sensing my anxiety (or my incompetence) the gentleman at the desk sorted it all so that parking out front was possible. It was a small gesture but it set up the mood for a relaxed couple of days. It takes more than good staff to make a place but those opening moments of greeting and sorting customers sure set the mood for everything else. Fabulous work Herzoghof. I'd gladly recommend you to other travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms out the front have Juliet balconies overlooking the casino but are still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Onward64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

I stayed for 10 days in March - part of the time solo, then my daughter joined me.
Pro: amazing view from my room, best breakfast ever (high quality local produce, great variety, champagne!), friendly staff, sauna, massage, etc. in the basement, elegant breakfast room, best location in town.
Con: difficult to find any drawbacks, perhaps - the room size could have been bigger.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the park/casino view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Svetlana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

I spent two nights here with my sister, and we thoroughly enjoyed our time! The hotel offered beautiful views of the park and Casino and was in close proximity to the town, and spa! Internet was available in the room, in the lobby and in the bar as well. Reception staff were very friendly and approachable. The room and the bathroom (with bathtube) were spacious, spotless clean, beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was just perfect, my sister enjoyed especially the best Wiener Melange we've ever had in Austria this time. We went from Baden to Vienna by tram, it was amazing!! Despite bad weather we really enjoyed the days at Herzoghof Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pavla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaprun, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We enjoyed our recent Herzoghof visit tremendously. The hotel, a charming boutique style hotel, right opposite the Casino and Convention Centre Baden, absolutely centrally located, combines personal service and a traditional Austrian atmosphere. The sumptuous breakfast buffet offers everything one would expect and can be enjoyed in a wonderfull hall which reminds us of former imperial times in Baden. This time, we had a dinner at the French style cafe, directly overlooking the Kurpark opposite. We enjoyed the personal recommmendations of the restaurant manager and selected an excellent wine from the region. As we stayed close to 5 hours for dinner, you can imagine that everything was according to our expectations. The beds in the room, typical twin beds, which move apart if you are a loving couple looking for a romantic evening, were absolutely not what we had expected. The rooms including the bathroom in general need a brush up. TV and internet services however offer everything an international business and leisure traveller expects nowadays. On request the sauna where complimentary tea and sparkling water was offered was switched on and allowed us to really relax after a stressfull day visiting Vienna and late in the evening the Casino next to the hotel. We can highly recommend the Herzoghof and hope that the owner recognizes the need to refurbish the rooms and put in new beds.

Room Tip: Try to reserve a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank GerhardP698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We have reserved weeks before our trip by e mail.
Received clear, fast and friendly email replies to all quesations.
Hotel offerred to arrange taxi pick-up from airport, it was at reasonable cost and worked very well- a break after long transatlantic flight.
-Reception, transfer to room all very friendly and worked smoothly.
-room with balcony facing the casino was perfectly clean, so was the bathroom. And was kept so all during entire 8 day stay!
-breakfast is in a beautiful big room, the stained-glass window and ceiling decor are unique and remarkable
-very good food, lots of choices, well stocked and refilled.

To sum it up: we had a great experience, hotel is well located, well maintained and clean and the staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful.

My only problem: Unfortunately, no fitness facilities on site.

Room Tip: Room facing casino has the view- good choice provided music from casino does not disturb your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

An excellent hotel in the center of Baden, overlooking the spa gardens and Casinos. With parking underneath the hotel. Room and Bath are very big and sparkling clean, classic style furniture and classic style atmosphere. The breakfast is rich and luxurious and the service all around is high above standard. Really a great place to stay a night or more in Baden. The only problem is the missing free WiFi connection in the room, but it is common in most hotels we stayed during this trip in Austria.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yairlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baden
0.1 mi away
At the Park Hotel
At the Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Baden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Schloss Weikersdorf
0.2 mi away
Villa Gutenbrunn
Villa Gutenbrunn
#2 of 10 in Baden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Admiral am Kurpark
3.2 mi away
Hotel Landhaus Moserhof
Hotel Landhaus Moserhof
#1 of 3 in Gumpoldskirchen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kuschelhotel Zeman
Kuschelhotel Zeman
#8 of 10 in Baden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Herzoghof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Herzoghof

Property: Hotel Herzoghof
Address: Kaiser Franz-Ring 10, Baden 2500, Austria
Region: Austria > Lower Austria > Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Herzoghof 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Hotel Herzoghof, from 1910, shining in renewed splendour. The generously and lovingly revitalised building offers 32 modern and elegantly furnished rooms, in the best location in the city – opposite the unique health resort and elegant Grand Casino Baden. The welcoming, historic town centre is just a few paces away from the hotel.The hotel also has 2 stylish function rooms for between 5 to 60 people. Start your day with a smile and a rich breakfast that will leave no wish unfulfilled. Our café is inviting, offering little delicacies, wines and coffee specialties daily – perfect for lingering. In the evenings, enjoy the Mediterranean cuisine at our ‘Genusswerkstatt’ restaurant.The recreation area rounds off our offer with its sauna, steam bath, infrared cabins, cosmetic treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Herzoghof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing