We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Official Site
View Deal
Stockingerhof(Durnstein)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Weingut Bauerl(Durnstein)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
180
78
38
16
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
78
38
16
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverwachau valleywonderful hotelno additional costbeautiful castlenice outdoor pooljunior suitebreakfast terracerestaurant overlookingharvest seasonlovely viewcommon areasimpeccable servicespecial hotelperfect weekendexcellent foodold world charm
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Thierry family have carefully curated their Schloss into a beautiful, private hotel for their clientele. The staff are well trained and extremely professional. And the kitchen talented such that breakfast, picnic or dinner is a gourmet experience that does not feel too stuffy.

A must do for all travelers looking for luxury lodgings in Wachau.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYFamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A wonderful re-do of an historic castle with grand and wonderful common areas and a courtyard pool that is welcoming after a hot bicycle ride from Melk.
Our room was a bit small, which is okay. The bathroom appears luxurious until you actually have to use it. Lots of marble, tile, and gold-plated fixtures. It is clear, though, that the general manager has never used the bathroom for an overnight. There is NOWHERE to put anything, no hooks on the wall, etc, etc. That is our only real complaint.
The staff at breakfast couldn't have been friendlier or more professional. We would go back but would ask for a different room.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We stayed for the 3. time in Schloss Dürnstiein and it was once more a very fine experience. Beautiful interior, fine service, lovely pool area both indoor and outdoor - and the food in the restaurant was as fantastic as the view.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianneSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schloss D, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Schloss Duernstein, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you very much for your great review!
We would love to welcome you again very soon.

Yours Family Thiery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Very well located. Authentic Austrian hotel. Restaurant has a wonderful terrace. Rooms are clean. It’s old, so be prepared for big room with super small bathrooms. Service was nice. Breakfast buffet is well laid out. Easy access to bike path.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Floridagator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schloss D, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Schloss Duernstein, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Thank you very much!
We would love to welcome you again another time in our hotel.

With best regards,

Family Thiery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our time here exploring the valley and all that the lovely hotel had to offer. Front desk Sylvia was ever so friendly and you could feel how she enjoyed her job interacting with people ! We enjoyed the outdoor eating on the terrace many nights never tiring of the menu and the lovely breakfasts. Our room was beautiful and well appointed . Borrowing the hotel bikes and riding the local trails was a highlight for us . We were lucky enough to watch the townspeople raising the May Pole which was lots of fun . The pool and patio area was a quiet place to
relax . Loved how they had tea and snacks nearby when you had a case of the munchies which happens on holidays like home .

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lazydaisy2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews