We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”
Review of Arte Hotel Krems

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arte Hotel Krems
rome
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“good hotel”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

good hotel located in a great location. During night the room was a bit dried out and warm. and this impacted on the quality of our sleep. Breakfast was excellent .
I had an issue with booking.com as they did not confirm the right room. However, the concierge staff was ready to help. Service at the bar is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motozak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    74
    29
    7
    1
See reviews for
23
36
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I stayed one night at the Arte Hotel Krems when I gave a presentation at Donau University. The hotel is directly across the street from the University so is perfect if you have any business with the school.

I arrived at night and was greeted by a very friendly receptionist. She got me checked in promptly as well as gave me some additional information about Krems. The non-alcohol welcome drink of locally produced grape juice was a nice touch. Additionally the receptionist saved me some money by offering a day pass for parking. I would have paid more if I simply paid using the machine in the garage.

My room was very comfortable. It had the loft/industrial feel of a Starwood Aloft. This type of design and layout may not be for everyone. As mentioned in other reviews, the rather open bathroom may put off some people.

The mattress in my bed was maybe just a touch too firm for me but I still had a very good night sleep.

The breakfast selection was excellent with a very nice selection of bread, meat, and cheeses as well as a variety of sweeter dishes.

Perhaps the only disappointment at the Arte Hotel Krems was that the internet connection in the rooms required an ethernet cable. I brought my own but the hotel can provide. Unfortunately the internet connection did not work with my Macbook Air. I was definitely connected to the internet (had IP address and status showed connection). I believe the problem was that the hotel's system does not have Mac services. I've encountered this problem on other networks. I'm going to send a note to the hotel. The hotel does have a very good free wifi connection in the reception area and restaurant which is available 24 hours.

Overall I had an extremely pleasant one-night stay at the Arte Hotel Krems. I really appreciated the friendliness of all the staff who always greeted me with a smile and were kind and helpful. I'll certainly stay at the Arte Hotel again if I go back to Krems.

Room Tip: Save money on parking by purchasing the day pass from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Yes the photos are great, but I didn't think it would be as good as it was.
Sure the shower and wash basin lacked true privacy, but it was fine for people used to showering in front of each other (couples, siblings...whatever)
Wish the toilet door had a latch, only because the sliding door also covered the closet. I can easily imagine a cabin mate straighten up and sliding the door!

Hope they add wi-fi to extend to the rooms, but that wouldn't prevent me from visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed in the Arte Hotel Krems on our cycling tour from Passau to Vienna.
We could use our bikes to get around. Walking would not have been an option.

Because the room was for my husband and me it was fine.
If I had to share this room with for example my son or a friend I would not have been very pleased.
The level of privacy was very low. The bathroom (if you could call it a bathroom) was completely open. The washhand basin was separated from the bedroom with a narrow wall (no door) and next to the washhand basin was another narrow wall what should have given the shower some privacy. Well, it didn't. Not good at all!
Luckily the toilet was separate.

Another minus in this modern hotel: no free WIFI in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights (July 6-8) with two 7yr olds. Choose this hotel as the only one that accommodated 2adts + 2chd in one room. Other hotels required us to book 2 rooms. Studio accommodation was large enough for an extra set of twin beds for our twin daughters. Room was modern and clean, bathroom with enough towels, bedding comfortable, breakfast choices larger than expected - bacon, sausages and scrambled or hard boiled eggs, salami, ham, cheese and large variety of pastries and breads, fruit salad and cereals nicely presented. More than enough for even the pickiest kid to choose from. The young ladies at the reception were very attentive and informative. Parking under the hotel cost 20Euros for our 2 night-stay. Lots of short driving opportunities around Krems through the beautiful Wachau Valley. 35kms/20mls away is Melk with its magnificent Abbey or Stift (Abbey) Gottweig is 20kms away and a must see. If you stay in a Studio, you'll see this beautiful Abbey in the distance from the 3rd floor just as you get out of the elevator. You'll see several small villages and castle ruins along the way. It is a very pretty drive. Cons: lots of flies in the caffeteria where you have breakfast and the only one restaurant in the hotel was closed w no explanation. A sign on the door said their summer vacation closure is to start on July 17. If you visit during the week-end, keep in mind that stores close at 6pm Mon-Fri, Sat at 1 or 2pm and all is closed on Sundays. No internet access in the rooms, but Wi-Fi is available in the Caffeteria area. We purchased a local SIM from Niedermeyer at Old Town Krems for 20Euro and it lasted us for the week-end with data access, eg. GPS that was very useful. I'd stay here again with my family if we revisited the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AW77429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ninove, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Nice and new hotel, build apparently only 4 years ago.
I was there for only one day. Meeting facilities in Hotel also very good: large, spacious room, professional equipment at hand, service at coffee break well organised,
staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerdi082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandinavia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I stayed at the arte Hotel Krems for four nights in May and found the hotel very nice, indeed. The best part of the stay was the excellent breakfast. It was not a huge spread, but all the right items were there, very well presented. A great start for the day. The hotel location at the Campus West and by the gorgeous vineyards was good. I walked the couple of km to the old city a few times a day and spent quite a long time working in the room. The internet cost 10 euros for a period of 24 hours which could be dividied throughout the stay, so it was plenty of online time for four nights. The room got quite warm with the sunshine and could not get the temperature go enough down at night, which was the only drawback. Well, in a twin room the bed was also quite narrow...but other than that, the room was nice and modern, with a terrace. Very peaceful at night. Would definitely stay at this hotel another time.

Room Tip: Room with a terrace is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NikkiNovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Krems an der Donau
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
1,211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Unter den Linden
Hotel Unter den Linden
#4 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
100 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
#2 of 4 in Durnstein
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Gasthof Klinglhuber
Hotel & Gasthof Klinglhuber
#5 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
104 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Richard Loewenherz
Hotel Richard Loewenherz
#1 of 4 in Durnstein
148 reviews
3.4 mi away
Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arte Hotel Krems? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arte Hotel Krems

Property: Arte Hotel Krems
Address: Dr.-Karl-Dorrek-Strasse 23, Krems an der Donau 3500, Austria
Region: Austria > Lower Austria > Krems an der Donau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Krems an der Donau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arte Hotel Krems 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Arte Hotel Krems reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing