We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Arte Hotel Krems

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arte Hotel Krems
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Small but comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Compact rooms with a comfortable bed which we needed after riding. The room was air-conditioned which in the unseasonably warm weather we had was a big plus. Really reminded me of university dorm accommodation. Wifi only in reception was a downside. Staff were friendly and it was a good location from which to explore Krems. Dinner was included but it was in a restaurant in town which was poor quality.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shooshonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    65
    28
    6
    0
See reviews for
21
33
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

very modern, three story, hotel with wifi only in lobby. Large rooms with plenty of electrical outlets, very good shower, and temperature control. Very good breakfast, with many bicyclers staying overnight.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsmithSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I have now spent three nights at this hotel on trips in June, 2010, and July, 2013. It is my choice in this part of Austria, because it is so well run. Ultramodern accommodations include hard-wired Internet in the rooms, and a well-equipped exercise room and spa. The folks at Reception could not have been more accommodating, and friendly. The garage beneath the hotel is accessed by hotel elevators, so there is no need to climb stairs with one's luggage. The hotel does not have a reataurant, per se, though there is a decent one adjacent to it, and the hotel serves a complete European breakfast as part of the room rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSU-NHDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

This was the last stopover on our Danube bike tour which provided a large variety of accommodation - this was certainly the most modern. The rooms are bright and very ‘groovy’ but I would say over-engineered - focusing on style over function. It took us a while to figure out how everything worked (lights, shower etc.) As others have said, the bathrooms are really only suitable for spouses or very close friends and we couldn't get the cable internet to work in the room (no wifi in the rooms, but good in the lobby). Breakfast was excellent with a broad choice and the reception staff were delightful and all spoke good English. The hotel is actually in Stein, near the university, about 500m from the river but a couple of kilometres from the centre of Krems.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiekpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed one night. The hotel is along the street directly opposite the Danube river ship disembarkation point in Krems. However it is quite far up and not easy to find. The check in was prompt and the hotel room was nice and adequate for a family of four. The restaurant at the ground level was nice. The only thing to get used to at the hotel is that it has a shower without door!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShiouSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rome
Level Contributor
272 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

good hotel located in a great location. During night the room was a bit dried out and warm. and this impacted on the quality of our sleep. Breakfast was excellent .
I had an issue with booking.com as they did not confirm the right room. However, the concierge staff was ready to help. Service at the bar is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motozak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

I stayed one night at the Arte Hotel Krems when I gave a presentation at Donau University. The hotel is directly across the street from the University so is perfect if you have any business with the school.

I arrived at night and was greeted by a very friendly receptionist. She got me checked in promptly as well as gave me some additional information about Krems. The non-alcohol welcome drink of locally produced grape juice was a nice touch. Additionally the receptionist saved me some money by offering a day pass for parking. I would have paid more if I simply paid using the machine in the garage.

My room was very comfortable. It had the loft/industrial feel of a Starwood Aloft. This type of design and layout may not be for everyone. As mentioned in other reviews, the rather open bathroom may put off some people.

The mattress in my bed was maybe just a touch too firm for me but I still had a very good night sleep.

The breakfast selection was excellent with a very nice selection of bread, meat, and cheeses as well as a variety of sweeter dishes.

Perhaps the only disappointment at the Arte Hotel Krems was that the internet connection in the rooms required an ethernet cable. I brought my own but the hotel can provide. Unfortunately the internet connection did not work with my Macbook Air. I was definitely connected to the internet (had IP address and status showed connection). I believe the problem was that the hotel's system does not have Mac services. I've encountered this problem on other networks. I'm going to send a note to the hotel. The hotel does have a very good free wifi connection in the reception area and restaurant which is available 24 hours.

Overall I had an extremely pleasant one-night stay at the Arte Hotel Krems. I really appreciated the friendliness of all the staff who always greeted me with a smile and were kind and helpful. I'll certainly stay at the Arte Hotel again if I go back to Krems.

Room Tip: Save money on parking by purchasing the day pass from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Krems an der Donau
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
#2 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Unter den Linden
Hotel Unter den Linden
#4 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Gasthof Klinglhuber
Hotel & Gasthof Klinglhuber
#5 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
#1 of 4 in Durnstein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parkhotel Krems
Parkhotel Krems
#7 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arte Hotel Krems? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arte Hotel Krems

Property: Arte Hotel Krems
Address: Dr.-Karl-Dorrek-Strasse 23, Krems an der Donau 3500, Austria
Region: Austria > Lower Austria > Krems an der Donau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Krems an der Donau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arte Hotel Krems 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arte Hotel Krems reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing