We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I really like this hotel for many reasons:
1. Hotel staff: courteous, friendly, helpful.
2. Location: overlooking wineries and in a quiet location.
3. Pool and spa overlooking beautiful countryside.
4. Rooms: spacious clean.
5. Breakfast: buffet, great selection.

My only caveat: no service to the train station. Although I had only one small bag, the hotel did not offer me any means of transportation. I was a little disappointed.

Room Tip: Take a room on the top with a view to the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gottfried S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    464
    160
    33
    12
See reviews for
156
613
72
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Breakfast: adequate cappuccino, wide choice buffet, good quality salmon, ok service.
Room 230: elegant decor, good view of Krems, no noise.
Reception: friendly, all smiles.
I was also given a lift from the train station to the hotel on arrival and back on departure.
Internet communication with the hotel before arrival: immediate and all my requests fulfilled.
I am completely satisfied with my 2 day stay in December.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Check in and welcome: Went smooth and fast, we had the impression, that the staff has learned the introduction by heart, because he ran through it fast and montone
Room: Unfortunately, our standard room did not look like on the pictures on their website - quite old with a little bit refurbishment; the bathroom and toilet are very small and was not cleaned properly twice (lots of hairs and dust); the shower has either cold or too hot water - it was difficult to adjust the temperature, the mattress was a bit too hard; we had ants in our bed and on the floor
Restaurant: On the first evening, we were very disappointed by the menu and quality of food, my husband sent his soup back, the meat was not juicy, the staff was unattentive; On the second evening, the food was quite good and the staff was very professional
Breakfast: Was quite ok for a four star hotel
Gym: Lack of cleanliness, lots of spiders, just one treadmill
Spa and medical treatments: Doctors are very professional and nice, one masseur was very good, the other one not
Resume: Would not book and come again!

Room Tip: Book a room in the new/modern part of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitzideluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We expected much more from the Steigenberger. The beds were not comfortable, it was very hot one of the nights we were there (they don't have air conditioning), the service was shockingly poor (inhospitable attitude), and they wouldn't give us an iron to iron our clothes for "security reasons." The parking is also extremely tight. To make things worse, when we wanted to check out after our first of the two nights we booked, they wouldn't let us check out without paying 80% of the cancelled night, making it prohibitive for us to leave, despite our dissatisfaction. I do not at all recommend the Steigenberger, and would suggest staying at the arte hotel, just a minute down the hill. I checked out the rooms there, and it is much better value; at least they have AC in the summer!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nabeel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed here for two nights at the end of July while at a nearby festival, and I really just didn't get it..

The staff were either useless, or rude. especially one older man who was exceptionally rude and unhelpful.

The only meal I had here was their buffet breakfast, which both mornings had flys hopping all over the food which was just disgusting - so I just had what they describe as being "coffee".

In their defence, they had a really nice spa area, which I didn't get to use.

The phone line in my room wasn't working, there was no wifi in any of the rooms, and the cable they provided a) didn't work, and b) doesn't fit new computers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjpkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The hotel is located up the hill, great if you want to be a bit outside the city. We stayed at a superior double room with a view to the old city of Krems. The view from the room was beautiful, wineyards and the city.The spa is very nice as well as the outdoor swimming pool, however it was quite full. When we got to the outdoor swimming pool only one sun lounger was free. The staff at the reception could be friendlier, we could see they were not very excited having children or a baby around. On the other hand, they had prepared a very nice wood cot for our baby. We are very thankful for it. The rooms were spacy, the matresses were good and everything was clean. We missed however air condition in the room, specially that weekend, it was extremely hot. We also missed a kettle in the bedroom. When I asked at the reception, the reply was that they are not allowed to do it! I've stayed at many hotels in Austria and most of them offered tea facilities in the bedroom. In our case it was specially important for preparing our babie's bottle. Breakfast was just ok for a 4 star hotel, it could be improved. The lady preparing the eggs couldn't be more demotivated, not a single smile when we asked her to prepare an omelete. Such a service it's not acceptable for a hotel of this category. In general, we liked it, the facilities, the surroundings, however we left with a weird feeling due to unfriendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the old city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EliVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munich
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed recently in this hotel for 2 nights. The hotel was very clean, the location was not bad with a view directly overlooking vineyards. Nevertheless I found it very claustraphobic with no garden the only means of enjoying the outside was a small terrace. The most disturbing factor was when checking in to be told "the room rate includes one night dinner, it would be better if you booked it for tomorrow as we are busy with a wedding tonight". hmmm!
Let me point out the dinner was worth the wait and the accompanying wines were excellent.
The room was small and boxy but super clean, all in all a very average hotel in 80s style ..with good food.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Krems an der Donau
3.1 mi away
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
#2 of 4 in Durnstein
297 reviews
6.4 mi away
Loisium Wine & Spa Resort Langenlois
3.3 mi away
Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Richard Loewenherz
Hotel Richard Loewenherz
#1 of 4 in Durnstein
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arte Hotel Krems
Arte Hotel Krems
#3 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Unter den Linden
Hotel Unter den Linden
#4 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel and Spa

Property: Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
Address: Am Goldberg 2 | 4 Sterne Superior Hotel, Krems an der Donau 3500, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Lower Austria > Krems an der Donau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Krems an der Donau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on top of a hill overlooking Krems, Steigenberger Hotal and Spa is set in one of Austria's most beautiful regions. With its sun-kissed vineyards, gentle rolling landscapes, and relaxed, laid back culture, there could be no better location to switch off, relax and generally indulge. This country house hotel is a bit of a show off really. With a breath-taking location, four dining venues, an indoor and an outdoor pool, a sauna, a steam room and a beauty centre, it really does have it all. Guests can try a tipple or two on a wine-tasting excursion, walk in the beautiful countryside or simply take in the spectacular view from the hotel's panoramic terrace. The usage of Wifi is free of charge (up to 512 KB/s). High Speed Internet access up to 5MB/s available (fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing