We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

A real beauty of a hotel. It was simply an excellent stay without any remark. Even only for business and only 3 days i really enjoyed the service, food and accomodation in this golden classics. Krems is also an must for vine interessted people.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiDu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    446
    153
    28
    12
See reviews for
148
578
72
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We were on a bicycle trip along the Danube and couldn't have dreamed of a better place to stay after a day of riding. They are set up for bikers but are first class in every way. Great spa with views of the surrounded vineyards, Krems, and the Danube. Nice rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Only one issue: no air conditioning. I also have a suggestion: have a la carte dinner options. A buffet doesn't appeal to me and at 35 Euros it doesn't make sense to take kids. Most people would likely prefer to stay at the hotel for dinner but you are driving some away with the buffet requirement.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is perfect. The rooms big ( but no air conditioned), the pools, out and indoor are wonderful, the spa spectacular with big screens to see the mountain, but if you are cycling the Donau it's not the best option, cause you must go up to the hill.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Imma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

High up in the vineyards above the town of Krems the hotel offers the usual spa facilities. The rooms in the older part have been recently refurbished and are very comfortable and modern.

There is a nice outdoor pool high up on the hill adjacent to the highest level of the hotel and near the indoor pool and spa area. The indoor pool is very contemporary looking entirely stainless steel with an infinity edge on all sides.

Service is excellent and while the kitchen isn't the best I've experienced it is above average.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I really like this hotel for many reasons:
1. Hotel staff: courteous, friendly, helpful.
2. Location: overlooking wineries and in a quiet location.
3. Pool and spa overlooking beautiful countryside.
4. Rooms: spacious clean.
5. Breakfast: buffet, great selection.

My only caveat: no service to the train station. Although I had only one small bag, the hotel did not offer me any means of transportation. I was a little disappointed.

Room Tip: Take a room on the top with a view to the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gottfried S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Breakfast: adequate cappuccino, wide choice buffet, good quality salmon, ok service.
Room 230: elegant decor, good view of Krems, no noise.
Reception: friendly, all smiles.
I was also given a lift from the train station to the hotel on arrival and back on departure.
Internet communication with the hotel before arrival: immediate and all my requests fulfilled.
I am completely satisfied with my 2 day stay in December.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Check in and welcome: Went smooth and fast, we had the impression, that the staff has learned the introduction by heart, because he ran through it fast and montone
Room: Unfortunately, our standard room did not look like on the pictures on their website - quite old with a little bit refurbishment; the bathroom and toilet are very small and was not cleaned properly twice (lots of hairs and dust); the shower has either cold or too hot water - it was difficult to adjust the temperature, the mattress was a bit too hard; we had ants in our bed and on the floor
Restaurant: On the first evening, we were very disappointed by the menu and quality of food, my husband sent his soup back, the meat was not juicy, the staff was unattentive; On the second evening, the food was quite good and the staff was very professional
Breakfast: Was quite ok for a four star hotel
Gym: Lack of cleanliness, lots of spiders, just one treadmill
Spa and medical treatments: Doctors are very professional and nice, one masseur was very good, the other one not
Resume: Would not book and come again!

Room Tip: Book a room in the new/modern part of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitzideluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Krems an der Donau
3.1 mi away
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
#2 of 4 in Durnstein
292 reviews
6.4 mi away
Loisium Wine & Spa Resort Langenlois
3.3 mi away
Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Richard Loewenherz
Hotel Richard Loewenherz
#1 of 4 in Durnstein
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arte Hotel Krems
Arte Hotel Krems
#3 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Unter den Linden
Hotel Unter den Linden
#4 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel and Spa

Property: Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
Address: Am Goldberg 2 | 4 Sterne Superior Hotel, Krems an der Donau 3500, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Lower Austria > Krems an der Donau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Krems an der Donau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on top of a hill overlooking Krems, Steigenberger Hotal and Spa is set in one of Austria's most beautiful regions. With its sun-kissed vineyards, gentle rolling landscapes, and relaxed, laid back culture, there could be no better location to switch off, relax and generally indulge. This country house hotel is a bit of a show off really. With a breath-taking location, four dining venues, an indoor and an outdoor pool, a sauna, a steam room and a beauty centre, it really does have it all. Guests can try a tipple or two on a wine-tasting excursion, walk in the beautiful countryside or simply take in the spectacular view from the hotel's panoramic terrace. The usage of Wifi is free of charge (up to 512 KB/s). High Speed Internet access up to 5MB/s available (fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing