We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfreindly and inflexible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We actually did not stay in this hotel, so this is a review of their reservation service only. But after experiencing this, we don't want to stay there anymore.

We planned to go on a trip to Austria with parents, and to stop pver for one night in Krems. Goldenen Engel got good reviews, and they had three rooms available, so we booked into this hotel (through Tiscali, if I remember well). The price was not especially discounted, or cheap, it seemed OK compared to other hotels in this standard.

Unfortunately, in the last days we had to cancel or trip, and postpone to September. We contacted all the hotels we had booking, and managed to get our reservations canceled or modified. Except for Goldenen Engel. They were really inflexible, although we proposed to pay a cancellation fee above the price if they modify the booking (it worked with an other hotel, where they even promised to count in the cancellation fee if we really go later).

The style they used in the communications was also very strange. They replied in German to our English emails, and used language like "pay the price immidiatley to our bank account". Although we asked for a card payment option, they insisted that we pay by bank tranfer.

We finally paid the price and the tranfer fee (they were not willing to cover for this) and decided to not to go close to this hotel anymore.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Service
4  Thank screenname_BK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2009

I stayed here for one night and had no problems.
The staff were helpful and the duaghter of the
owner spoke very good english. The breakfast
was ok, but the pool on the roof garden was
unexpected and a nice treat. Good clean room
and a free fast internet connection. I'll be staying
here again in 2009.

Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
4  Thank Kirkbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2006

Our room was very clean and smart. It was June and the weather was very warm. The room was not air-conditioned but being at the back we slept with the window open without any problems. The Bathroom had a hair drier by the mirror. Unfortunately there was no mirror in the bedroom.
The Buffet breakfast was vast, but there was no juice – a pity.

4  Thank Quinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Koarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pokoje asi dobré všechny, apartmány dost luxusní.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zoro1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer eher im Neubau wählen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank zinnhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank riccardo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Krems an der Donau
0.9 mi away
Hotel Unter den Linden
Hotel Unter den Linden
#3 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
108 reviews
1.3 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
1,377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alte Post
Alte Post
#8 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Gasthof Klinglhuber
Hotel & Gasthof Klinglhuber
#5 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
112 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arte Hotel Krems
Arte Hotel Krems
#4 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel

Address: Wiener Strasse 41, Krems an der Donau 3500, Austria
Region: Austria > Lower Austria > Krems an der Donau
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Krems an der Donau
Price Range: £57 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing