We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room and good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Unter den Linden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The room was large with the typical high ceiling that you find in older European Hotels. I was disappointed with the spotty wi-fi service as the TV channels were mostly German. My German is spotty. The staff was family friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus G, Inhaber at Hotel Unter den Linden, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest!
It is difficult for me to understand, why we receive now (June 2014) a comment in relation to your stay in July 2013. Anyhow, currently we provide roughly 200 !!! TV Channels in each room. All in digital Quality and many of them even in HD digital Quality. About 20 of them are in englisch. And another 50 Channels are in other foreign languages. If your Problem was an inidividual it is a pity, that we haven't be informed to solve it immediately. Of Course we thank you for the positive remarks in relation to breakfast and roomsize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

We were passing through for a one night stay, from Vienna, heading for Melk. The hotel is well located near the highway but in the small quiet town of Krems. It offered a nice night's sleep and a complete breakfast. Our room was large, comfortable and very clean! There was no air conditioning but the evening was cool and we could open the windows. Our room was facing the street but the town was quiet at night. The staff was friendly and welcoming. There was free parking on the premises. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adeuxonpart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus G, Inhaber at Hotel Unter den Linden, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for your very positive response. It would be a pleasure to host you again in the future.
Warm greetings from Krems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a family run hotel that really cares about thier guests. Our room was spacious and always very clean. The breakfast buffet is great and you can even ask for item not on the buffet (scrambled eggs or an omlet for example). Hotel is located very close to the city center and we even walked to it from the Train Station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthTexan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus G, Inhaber at Hotel Unter den Linden, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear guest!
Thank you very much for taking time to review your stay at our hotel Unter den Linden. It is a pleasure to read your very positive comment. Yes we try to fulfil not even at breakfast, but the whole time desires of our guests.

Greetings from Krems to Texas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We traveled throught the wachau Romantik Route and looked for a hotel in Krems - with no prior knowledge about the place and found this suggested hotel . Service was great and the staff assisted in getting us a four bedded room - breakfast room is memorable and the stay at this hotel was really great - just by the City center - walking distance !!

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the main road - it tends to get noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus G, Inhaber at Hotel Unter den Linden, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for the positiv Feedback. As mentioned we have many rooms located to the garden of the hotel. So it is not noisy, but you are in the middle of the city.

Best wishes from Krems
Klaus Grech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

A very good base for visiting the Wachau area. Rooms were spacious and clean, and the hotel's location is good with easy access by car, and still very close to the town centre. So we were happy.

But what made us extremely happy was their willingness to serve even after our stay. A day after our visit we discovered that one of us had forgotten her jacket to the closet of their room. After we contacted the hotel, they were right away willing to send the jacket to Finland. They didn't even bother asking us to pay the shipping costs in advance, which we of course did afterwards.

Suberb service, I'd say!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srantako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus G, Inhaber at Hotel Unter den Linden, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for taking time to review your stay at Hotel Unter den Linden. We appreciate your very positive comment.

Greetings from sunny Krems
Klaus Grech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I spent two very pleasant nights at this hotel. My room was extremely large, and included a sitting area with a comfortable sofa. The atmosphere is country casual, and there were all the necessary conveniences to make me happy. Everything was sparkling clean. It was also extremely quiet and peaceful, which was a real plus. Staff were friendly and helpful, and parking was available, close and free with the use of the hotel's parking cards left on the dashboard. Breakfast was absolutely splendid, with a buffet full of goodies including some fresh fruit - always a plus. the hotel is well-signed off the road, and located a few minutes walk from the old city center. I found several local restaurants at which to eat, including a strange but interesting Chinese one within a short drive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gotboxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus G, Inhaber at Hotel Unter den Linden, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear guest!
Thank you so much for taking time to review your stay at our Hotel. I have nothing to add, as you outlined all the keyitems we offer. I couldn't do it better to promote our Services.
Thank you again. We are proud to be one of the leading hotels in town.

Klaus Grech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This hotel was true to its name with the Linden Trees just outside, and a gracious building. It was very comfortable and clean and fresh, and the staff were friendly and helpful. It was just a very short stroll to the very attractive old town centre where we had our dinner. We stayed for 2 nights, at the beginning and end of a holiday and enjoyed both experiences. Breakfasts were excellent and the coffee machine made a choice of first rate coffees.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eve70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus G, Inhaber at Hotel Unter den Linden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Dear Guest!
Thank you for this positive review. You mention our excellent breakfast. This is one point where we spend our focus to improve over tha last years. And to hear this from our guest makes us happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Krems an der Donau
0.6 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
1,382 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
#2 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arte Hotel Krems
Arte Hotel Krems
#4 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein
0.3 mi away
Alte Post
Alte Post
#8 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Krems
Parkhotel Krems
#7 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Unter den Linden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unter den Linden

Address: Schillerstrasse 5, Krems an der Donau 3500, Austria
Region: Austria > Lower Austria > Krems an der Donau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Krems an der Donau
Price Range: £83 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Unter den Linden 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Unter den Linden is very well located in the center of Krems. Most of the attractions are in walking distance. E.g. Boat Station, Steiner Tor (Landmark of the city), all museums and many of our outstanding restaurant. It is a top 3* Hotel which serves bed and breakfast, but on a high level. Although it is a city hotel, you do not have to expect much noise. Parking in front of the Hotel is for free, as well as WLAN in all rooms. Andrea and Klaus Grech run this Hotel in fifth generation. Old building but with a modern touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Unter den Linden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing