We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 16:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience Melk Abbey
from US$102.06
More Info
from US$533.07
More Info
from US$176.50
More Info
from US$509.91
More Info
Reviews (2,812)
Filter reviews
2,812 results
Traveller rating
1,985
683
112
23
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,985
683
112
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour day trip river cruise baroque architecture spiral staircase benedictine monks wachau valley over the top well worth the visit worth the trip library abbey gold school books rooms town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 2,812 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2019 via mobile

It takes something extra special to impress a seasoned traveller like me but Melk abbey is simply amazing. I could almost convert and apply to become a Benedictine monk!
The Baroque features are exquisite; location and gardens breathtaking; the management and displays superb; the design, artefacts and library fantastic.
Our guide Monica was brilliant. The whole experience was just so captivating that there arent enough superlatives.
Leave wherever you are and go now - only open in summer as it is also a school.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank postscript65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2019

Visited Melk Abbey a few months ago as part of a river cruise. The whole trip was great and really enjoyed the tour of the Abbey.

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank Q7450PQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2019 via mobile

We got there just in time for the English guided tour which lasted about an hour. The tour was very interesting and informative. The history and details of the buildings was very well told and we were very impressed. You are free to return to the various parts of the Abbey to take more time at your own pace when the official tour finishes. We finished in the chapel just as midday prayers were under way by the monks.
We took a return train journey from Vienna which was very handy and the train station is within nice walking distance of the Abbey.

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank martinhA2713DB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 July 2019

What a gem. Simply a wonderful place to visit. The church must be the best interior I have ever seen. We had a guided tour through the guest wing with a very informative guide. Do not miss.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank lakelover908
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 June 2019 via mobile

Very impressive building and old town. The tour inside the Stif Melk was good, nice walk along the old town and Donau

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank Balimassagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews